We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruined The 1st Night of Our Honeymoon” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Samed Villa Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Samet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Samed Villa Resort
89 Moo 4, Ao Phai | Ban Phe, Muang, Rayong, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Room + Free Spa Vouchers
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Ko Samet
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ruined The 1st Night of Our Honeymoon”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

My wife and I tried to find the nicest place we could on Koh Samet for our honeymoon, and the website for Samed Villa Resort made it look such a beautiful place, we had no qualms about booking with them. My wife rung up, and was told that they would be able to offer us a 400baht discount if we just turned up without pre-booking. Even better, or so we thought.

On arrival the next day, they actually tried to charge us MORE than their own list price as they claimed not only was it high season (Wednesday 4th May) it was actually a 'busy' period. After pointing out that their price list on the reception desk did not class it as a busy period, they relented and 'only' charged us the high season rate for a Superior Sea View Room (2,500baht). Incidentally, we later discovered occupancy rate was less than 50% that night, so not a busy period by any stretch of the imagination

We then went to see our room, which did not offer any view of the sea, due to the large hedges and trees in front of the room, We were then shown to another room which did at least have a partial view of the sea, though we were told the room had 'just been cleaned' so the floor was still a little wet. "Okay" we thought, so we sat outside for 20mins waiting for the floor to dry. We then ventured inside, and quickly realised we had been lied to again.

The floor wasn't wet from cleaning, it was wet from excessive condensation. And not just the floor, but the mirror, the walls, the TV, the underside of the mattress were all wet. Not moist, but wet. Running a hand down any wall resulted in dirty water all over our hands. Determined to try to make the best of it, my wife went to reception to complain, whilst I started to attempt to dry the room, using towels and tissues. My wife returned, and we spent the next 20 mins trying to clean/dry our 'superior' room. Still no staff had arrived to help us. My wife returned to reception, and managed to persuade a cleaner to come with her to help us.

When the cleaner turned up, she scolded me for using the (complimentary) tissues to dry the TV and mirror, and the three of us continued to attempt to dry the room for a further 10 minutes before they agreed to move us to yet another room.

After an hour or so in the new room, and finally starting to relax, the air conditioning unit suddenly gushed water down the walls and onto the floor. We turned the A/C unit off, went to complain again, and the staff sent some guys in to clean the A/C, wasting another half hour of our stay.

By this point we were fed up, and checked out the next day. I will also add that the free breakfast the following morning was terrible, and the WI-FI promised by the website costs an additional 100 baht per day or 2 baht per minute. The only positive i could say, was that the garden was indeed very nice.

The biggest problem for us wasn't the water logged rooms (problems can happen), but the attitude of the staff who were unfriendly and unhelpful to the point of being rude. They clearly couldn't care less, despite knowing from the start that it was our honeymoon. We have lived in Thailand for over 5 years and have never felt the need to write a hotel review until we stayed at Samed Villa Resort.

Disgusted.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    119
    36
    9
    5
See reviews for
81
99
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Great beach villas they look much better than on there web site clean large villas the staff here are great to the breakfast was good.the resort right on the beach.
Highly recommend this place to familys with young kids samet was one of the highlights of our trip around thailand.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

While Samed Villa has expanded quite a bit over the last two years, the rooms remain well-apportioned, clean and quiet. They are some of the nicer rooms in the area that are right on the beach. The breakfast here is one of the best ones on the island & keeps us coming back

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

This resort was booked at short notice and was of a high standard. The rooms were clean and had cable TV, fridge, coffee/tea plus very nice comfy bed. The room was worth the price and the location was next to the beach.

The food was fine, however the service in the resturant was not good after 2 attempts of dinner there we stopped going as both times they completely messed up our oders.

Overall a nice resort and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask to have a look at the rooms first
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Liked the rooms, the garden and the beach area. The food from the restaurant was nice. However, the coffee served during breakfast was disgusting and from time to time it took a while for the service staff to attend their guests.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

We stayed at Samed Villa Resort for 4nights.

Our accomadation was very good for the bhat we paid. We chose the sea-view bungalow, very spacious and worth an extra bhat or two. |!

Staff were so helpful and as we had a problem with the speed boat pick-up they were on the phone on our behalf.

Breakfast was ok and lots to choose from but the evening grill was FANTASTIC excellent value for money and cooked on the beach........
The beach....mmmm well have been to much much better but also worse.
A good description of KO SAMED is a movie scene all gleaming on the front but behind the scenes.........dirty..scruffy.....seedy.............
Keep to walking along the beach and you wont see any of it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

normally we stay at Saikaew Beach resort - now become very overpriced,
We found Samed Villa in Ao Phai, its a great place, we had the beachfront bungalow half the price of saikaew beach and better location / facilities, i wish i had found it years ago!!
the owners are very nice & always go out of their way to help, breakfast is very good buffet
style overlooking the nice beach.
i will definately return in june

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Samed Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samed Villa Resort

Address: 89 Moo 4, Ao Phai | Ban Phe, Muang, Rayong, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samed Villa Resort is a nice, comfortable located directly on a white sandy beach Ao Phai on Koh Samet island and set itself in a lush tropical garden facing the turquoise blue sea and belongs to the very best accommodation on Samed island in Province Rayong. Koh Samed is a small beautiful island in the south-east vinicity of Bangkok, in the area of Rayong district. The island is famous for its magnificent beaches and for the well-known Thai poetry. Parts of Koh Samet island belongs to the National Park Kaow Laem Ya. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Samed Villa Hotel Koh Samet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samed Villa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Samed Villa Resort to your Saves list