We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short Khao Yai adventure!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khao Yai Garden Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Khao Yai Garden Lodge to your Saves list
Khao Yai Garden Lodge
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Hong Ahan Ying Yong, | 135 Thanon Thannarat (Street 2090), Km 7, Pak Chong 30130 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Good for a short Khao Yai adventure!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

Stayed at the Khao Yai Garden Lodge for 2 nights. Overall, I was happy with my stay. The lodge is perfect for those wanting to see Khao Yai while going on one of the lodge's tours. Khao Yai is a big place and unless you have your own transportation, it is likely you will have join a tour. Overall, the tour was pretty good - they take you around for the entire day.

The best thing about the Garden lodge is the service. The staff went out of their way a number of times helping us book rooms and buy bus tickets for the days ahead. They made phone calls, sent faxes and went to town late at night to buy are bus tickets (This was above and beyond).

On the other hand, the lodge is a little rustic and the room prices seem to be a bit over priced. That also rings true for the food. It was extremely over priced. However, given the great tour and service, I would certainly recommend the place to friends.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    38
    27
    6
    9
See reviews for
14
45
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

We stayed two nights in Khao Yai in March 2009. Overall the lodge was very reasonable, relatively clean (although noisy aircon), decent food and friendly staff. It is not 'luxury' accommodation and not all that cheap by Thai standards, but it was functional and I would recommend it. The only gripe I would have with the room (apart from the aircon) was one sink in the bathroom which didn't work and a terrible smell.. but these are minor things. Pickup from the train in Pak Chong was also good.

The best thing about Khao Yai lodge is the tours. The evening tour to the bat cave was amazing. We didn't see any elephants on the national park tour (the second day), but it was still worth doing and we saw plenty of other wildlife. The guides (on both tours) were very friendly, easy to understand and knowledgeable.

It also has a good location - being next door to a 7-eleven for provisions;)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

We stayed at this hotel as it was one of the few who had rooms available at short notice. This is quite a large hotel with a wide variety of rooms. We had a cheap fan room with private bathroom for B600 which was fine although when we called to book we were originally told that the room was only B200 or "included if you take the tour".

The swimming pool is beautiful and the free internet wasa bonus. The restaurant is pretty poor so we were glad we were not staying too long.

The tour into the park was great and we had a fantastic guide. It was a very long day (8am - 8pm) and the afternoon part of the trip did drag a litttle with very little wildlife viewing.

All in all, I would stay here again as its a pretty good deal for the money.

  • Liked — The Swimming Pool
  • Disliked — No-one serving at pool bar so long walk to get a drink...
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2008

The Garden Lodge arranged for a car to collect us from downtown Bangkok. This was expensive at 6400baht return but we were short on time,
On arrival our driver took us to proudly show us the swimming pool - it was empty! Woops!
The deluxe room we requested was large and clean but basic. A single duvet on a double bed nearly touched the edges but it was fine for the one night we were staying.
Although we had only booked the room for one night and we were heading back to Bangkok after a full days treck through the park(organised by the Garden Lodge) we were told we could use the room to freshen up after our treck at 7pm before leaving.
The bathroom had shampoo and soap but small towels. Very feeble shower in bath with inline water heater which we couldn't get to work (but only discovered this minutes before leaving on a treck and checking out)
The food was good, plentiful and tasty but please, please don't ask for wine. With our evening meal we asked for a bottle of ? and when it eventually came it was only three quarters full. Apparently that was all they had (despite being given a wine list to look at) and it tasted as if it had been open for weeks (probably since the last mug asked for a glass of wine!)
The Garden Lodge offers 2 tours - a half day and a full day. We did both on our overnight stay. The guides both spoke good English and we were exceptionally lucky with our wildlife spotting. Alas no tigers, but plenty elephant, wild dogs and birds.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2006

Khao Yai National park is about 2+ hours from Bangkok. It is a jungle region conveniently close to Bangkok for a one or two night excursion. Elephants, monkeys and even tigers roam the area.
The hotel is one of the smaller ones in the area, run by a German and his family.
It is spread out over a large area of garden. Very peaceful, very beautiful.
The front of the hotel has a reception area and dining area where you find most people sit and chat in the evenings. There are water features, and in the garden to the rear of the property is a lovely medium sized pool with waterfall feature.
Rooms vary from backpacker style up to luxurious with Thai style features and beautiful furniture. The latter are around 1,200 Baht per night.
The hotel can arrange hiking tours and even night safaris.
If you contact the hotel they will pick you up from your hotel in Bangkok.
(-)

  • Liked — It is spacious and peaceful
  • Disliked — Water supply is slow - from a jungle water tank!
  • Tips/Secrets — Take good mosquito repellant
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Khao Yai Garden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Yai Garden Lodge

Address: Hong Ahan Ying Yong, | 135 Thanon Thannarat (Street 2090), Km 7, Pak Chong 30130 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Nakhon Ratchasima Province > Pak Chong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Pak Chong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Khao Yai Garden Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Khao Yai Garden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Yai Garden Hotel Pak Chong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khao Yai Garden Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.