We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palio Khao Yai

Palio Khao Yai
146/1 Moo.4, Thanarath Road (km.17), Pak Chong, Thailand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 25 things to do in Pak Chong
Attraction details
Krabi
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice but not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We visited during weekday, so there were not so many tourists. Which was nice for me and my family. The buildings were nice to take pictures but the shops were not great as there were not many thing to buy.
However, it's good for an afternoon coffee there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    24
    17
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hua Hin, Thailand
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
96 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Like being back in Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Palio is located on the road to Khao yai National Park and well worth a couple of hours of your time before heading in to the park itself. Basically it is a shopping area built in traditional Italian style, with lots of small cobbled streets and little boutique type shops and restaurants.
We thought it had been done quite tastefully with nice building and colours as as well as some traditional Italian landscaping.
Some of the products we thought were a bit expensive but if you just want a small souvenir a large range of items were available at reasonable prices.
Lots of nice spots to snap a few pictures and we enjoyed the Jim Thompson shop the most, selling lots of silk products. and of course a traditional Italian ice cream.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Toy Italy, or one more occasion to go to Khao yai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Well known in the world, that Asia including Thailand, is a place where it is possible to get and see many "fakes". Many copied thing you can find in Asia: bags of eminent brands, an elite and serial Swiss watches, clothes and footwear, mobile phones and computer game consoles, All forge, and..... even, it appears, the cities....In pak chong, near entrance to Khao Yai you can see Palio inn: formally, it only a tourist stop, or small quarter – a promenade for tourists, with a large number of boutiques, cafe and small restaurants. There is even a small hotel - Palio Inn. But feature of this "tourist stop" which does it by sight, it is designed in Italian style. In the territory of several hectares Thai masters of design and construction managed to reproduce in details the copy of the small, provincial Italian small town. Who was in Italy – has to learn here lines as Venice, and other small towns.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Italy in Thailand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

It's very strange to go to Palio, but fun at the same time. I think it's more useful for Thai tourists to go there then the foreign ones. When I walked in Palio, I had the feeling I was in a Disney kind of Firenze. But we did find Belgian beer (Stella Artois and Hoegaerden --> Best beer in the world)!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Captures Italian atmosphere nicely. A lot of great spots to take photos, and a variety of shops ranging from inexpensive little souvenirs to vintage antiques. It was worth the 2.5 hours trip from Bangkok, great in combination with a tour to the Khao Yai wineries.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palio Khao Yai also viewed

Pak Chong, Nakhon Ratchasima Province
Pak Chong, Nakhon Ratchasima Province
 
Pak Chong, Nakhon Ratchasima Province
Pak Chong, Nakhon Ratchasima Province
 

Been to Palio Khao Yai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palio Khao Yai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.