We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic rooms, amazing people and good tours” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenleaf Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pak Chong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenleaf Guesthouse
Save
You added Greenleaf Guesthouse to your Saves list
Khao Yai National Park, Pak Chong, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Pak Chong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“basic rooms, amazing people and good tours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just spend 2 nights in the greenleaf guesthouse. The rooms are basic, but still good enough! Nevertheless the owners are great and very friendly. The offer tours to Khao Yai. they have really good guides with very good english. It was amazing to spend some time here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    87
    20
    9
    10
See reviews for
21
104
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We won't find cheaper accommodation with this level of service around!
First the room. Good large bed and a basic private bathroom. You should ask for the room at the back to avoid the noise from the large road.
Food is good and cheap.
Owner is very friendly and we had the opportunity to have a great talk with her about the situation of Thailand.
Tour was really awesome, both guides were perfect with a very good level of english.
Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this guest house for 2 nights in March. On the website they wrote that they will pick you up from the bus station if you call them so I did and not even 5 minutes later a van came to pick me up! The half day tour didn't leave yet so I could join in and it was an amazing experience. I won't spoil it but it's definitely worth. The guides are enthusiastic and speak very good English.

After the trip I went to my spacious bungalow and took a (cold) shower. The bed felt rock hard but the pillow was alright so I slept well. There is no airco but the fan provides enough coolness to sleep so no worries. The room is clean and I didn't discover any uninvited guests on the floor or wall.

The day trip was amazing as well. They really do their best for you and know what they are talking about. They provide water, soda, lunch and a snack so don't bother to bring your own food or drinks.

I won't spoil anything from this day trip either. Just book a room and do both tours. You'll even get a discount if you do both.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed three nights with Greenleaf in order to take a few days tour around the park and it was well worth it. The staff are extremely friendly, most speak at least a splattering of English and there is a calm and welcoming atmosphere.

Don't be put off that it's on the main road, the bungalows are out the back and you can't hear a thing. Although do note there are some slightly older looking buildings that they also let out and we were a bit nervous about the bug situation in our one, so we asked to be moved - but that was no problem and moving into a new bungalow was no extra cost.

The guesthouse offers two main trips and we did both of them. Excellent value for money.

The first was a trip to a local bat cave which doubles up as a ( scary ) meditation place for the local monks. Not for the claustrophobic, but the guide knew his stuff and caught both a fairly large centipede and a whip scorpian in the dark and showed these proudly to the entourage. The second part of the bat trip was to watch them all fly out a hole on the other side of the hill and watching 2 million bats sychronise themselves, streaming across the sunset in a swirling ribbon was one of the most amazing natural events I have ever seen first hand, take a zoom lens if you have one.

Second trip was a guided tour around the park the next day. You can either go in a group ( 6 people fit onto their trucks ) or we hired a private guide - the enigmatic Mr Nine - and set our own pace. I would suggest its worth hiring a private guide since you get much more of a personalised tour and can ask the guide to hunt out specific animals to see. My girlfriend is into birds and I'm into insects and Mr Nine was a veritiable expert in spotting both at long distance. He has been a guide for 14 years and his enthusiasm is incredible - pointing out all kinds of interesting things to see - huge water monitors, beetles, gibbons, going "scorpian fishing" with a long leaf, finding a white-lipped pit viper ( yes ... it's true ) and we also were incredibly lucky to see a Giant Hornbill feedings its young. He brings along a high zoom birding scope and can take very detailed pictures with his iphone - a simple but effective way of doing it. He also drove us miles to the top of a hill with - for some reason - a Thai guardstation and a stern looking barrier, to find insects and, rather than be intimidating and restrictive, the guards were very tolerant to let us scoot around and take photos of bugs on their property.

The second night we were there, they suffered a power outage ( not their fault, the local lines went down and the street was in darkness ) but this didn't prevent them from carrying of with business - one of the guides came out and offered to show up the different constellations in a starry sky and they generously handed out torches, which only increased the feeling of adventure.

We were a little disappointed on the day trip to not see an elephant -- Khao Yai is home to a number of wild pacyderms, but it's basically down to luck, so we took another private car out the next day ( our driver was very nice, called Lee ) and eventually we found a large male elephant lumbering down the road and the driver was almost as thrilled as we were, whooping and banging on the roof shouting "elephant, elephant!!" - when we got back, he seemed very proud he had been the driver of the only group that had found the elephant.

If I go back to the jungle, I will definitly consider staying here again. There is a 7-11 just 5 minutes walk down the road with an ATM ( covered in Geckos at night ) and the only negative thing to say was that the apartments were a little hot - especially with the power outage - but it's doable and if you are looking for a no frills, very authentic place to stay while exploring the park, this is the perfect accommodation.

Room Tip: Check out the spider living between rooms 17 and 18 ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lom Sak, Phetchabun, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a couple in a bungalow located behind the Greenleaf, but never had any interaction with the resort owners, everything was done through Greenleaf Guesthouse, so I'm reviewing them! The Greenleaf staff was very friendly and helpful, with a few great English speakers which makes the world of a difference. Joe was our main guide/source of info, funny guy with extensive knowledge of the area and its inhabitants. We did the half day tour with the fresh spring pool, cave, and bats, it was an amazing time with Joe thoroughly explaining everything along the way, definitely worth the 500baht. The food was pretty good as well, with fairly priced drinks too. The location next to the main road was a slight pain, with no where to go unless you pay for a ride, but it's close to all the main attractions like Khao Yai National Park and horse riding at the OK Corral at Bonanza (highly recommend). My only complaint isn't even with the Greenleaf, but our bungalow behind them - it was a sauna during the morning/afternoon, I mean sweltering, with ripped nets in the windows in the bathrooms, letting all sorts of bugs and geckos inside. Overall great stay in Pak Chong due to the Greenleaf and its staff.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Others are right that the accommodation is basic. Greenleaf will reserve you a room next door if you want something a little nicer. But the big attraction is the tours. The half day tour is so worth it, to see the millions of bats pouring out from the hill at dusk. The whole day tour is also good. But for birders, it's the specialized bird tour that is really a treat. Mr. Nine is an amazing bird guide, whom I can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a review of this hotel.

The hotel is located on a busy highway, and you will experience a large amount of traffic if you are eating in their restaurant. The rooms are run down, and not exactly clean. There are many guesthouses with similar rooms at half the price nearby, and they all offer the same tours.

The tour was ruined for me as the tour guide captured animals and passed them around for photo opportunities. The animals were desperately trying to escape, and they could have easily been shown and photographed without capturing them. In one instance, as the animal tried to escape, the tour guide tore apart part of a shrine to recapture it. When I mentioned to the owner that capturing wildlife is unethical on a wildlife tour, he said "I don't care about people like you"

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenleaf Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenleaf Guesthouse

Address: Khao Yai National Park, Pak Chong, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Nakhon Ratchasima Province > Pak Chong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Pak Chong
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Greenleaf Guesthouse Hotel Pak Chong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenleaf Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.