We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but Sweet stay in Rustica :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian Verandaz

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madikeri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victorian Verandaz
Save
You added Victorian Verandaz to your Saves list
Modur Estate, | Kadagadal, Madikeri 571248, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 92 Madikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
“Short but Sweet stay in Rustica :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I thank all the guests who wrote fantastic reviews which made me to visit VV...We were looking for a Good Home stay for nearly 15 days.. felt very sad as we couldn't find out any Good Home stays within our budget:(Though i could find some, when i happened to read some of the guest's review (negative)), i was really in a oscillation to go ahead with those home stays...Surprisingly , when i found reviews abt VV there was not even a single negative point against it... which itself gave a first good impression about VV.. to be frank ,whatever reviews given about VV and C.C all are 100% true...No doubt about it..

We happened to stay in Rustica during May-2013 ,such an wonderful place ;) excellent hospitality.. peaceful atmosphere..awesome stay...very clean.. clear arrangements and neat instructions to keep the things in it's place..

Not only me ,my entire family felt very happy and fully satisfied during the stay... Unfortunately we missed to visit Coffee estate...Surely we will come back and visit VV soon...But definitely next time we will come to Madikeri just to stay in Rustica alone.. not to go anywhere outside..

Thanks to CC for your extended hospitality and care though we left your cottage, when we faced some difficulties on the way, you came all the way to make sure our safe journey :)

Rustica ,CC , Biju and Biju's family -I thank you all for making that short stay as a sweet one...:):):)

Sharmila ,Bangalore

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Hey Sharmila, its great to meet such down-to-earth people like your family and u!!! Was a pleasure meeting your Dad too - The HM of a School from his excellency - Abdul Kalam's town!!!
Yes, you did travel a bit too much and missed seeing the Plantation you stayed at!!!! The road accident on your way back was a dampener, but such things happen and there is always 'another time'!!!! I will definitely look forward to meet your family Another time @ VV RUSTICA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    25
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
93
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I had been there for a special occasion, Mrs.Diana and Mr. Thimaiah made that occasion more special. They helped and gave suggestions in planning our trip.The view from the room is very good, especially the sunrise and the green valley.The estate is more than 100 acres and is fully surrounded by greenery. The rooms are neat and clean. One can go there for relaxation leaving behind their hectic life.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for such nice words you had to say about VV. Glad u had a good time!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

a good place to stay and forget the outside world.C.C played a perfect host.you can have a good walking exercise in the resort. Do not forget to see the old golf course you can have a table top view from this place. Request the host for coorgi pork curry it is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
With friends like yours, staying @ Rustica is bound to be fun. Cheers!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Visited Coorg with my wife, in the 2nd week of May 2013 all the way from Mysore. It is my 2nd homestay after Mysore. All I can say its simply awesome. Thanks to the wonderful hospitality of Diana and Thimmaiah. They guided us right from the time we boarded bus from Mysore to coorg till we reach their homestay safely. 6kms away from Madikeri bus stand. Its total silence and peace one can find there. Surrounded with colorful garden. We had a nice adventurous trip with Thimmaiah into their coffee estate which is unforgettable.

As we are pure vegetarians, Diana prepared breakfast accordingly. stayed 3 days there. All the 3 days it's been raining in the nights and day time we use to go for sight seeing without any issues. Climate has been fantastic. They also arrange for a cab for sight seeing. We covered almost everything - Abbey falls, Raja's seat, Nisargadhama, Bylakuppe ( Buddhist Golden Temple), Dubare Elephant camp and had food in Hotel President recommended by the driver and the food is really good. Driver name is Sardar and he guided us well and even took us to the shops where we can buy Coorg spices and did some cloth shopping as well. Last day Sardar's father dropped us at Madikeri bustand after taking us to the Omkareshwar temple there.


Bathrooms are quite big with natural sunlight from the ceiling. Rooms are pretty clean. There is a dining room with fridge beside our room and it can be used by everyone who stay there. Its a wonderful estate one should not miss. I always plan to stay away from the city and close to the nature and it worked again for me in Coorg too.

Thimmaiah and Diana took great care of us and without a second thought I highly recommend this home stay in Coorg.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Glad you had a fantastic experience staying with us, Surya. The Homestay concept is catching up fast in Coorg mainly because a guest can experience living with a Kodava family in Coorg, see an Estate which you will not experience staying in a City Hotel and most of all, you can learn a bit of our culture and tradition and our food. We loved your Company too!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We took a chance by staying at a home stay for the first time during our holidays and weren't disappointed at all. Stayed there between 7th and 10th may. Mr and Mrs Thimaiah played perfect hosts and we were like an extended family and pampered by the warm hospitality. Very thoughtful of Mrs Diana to give some herbal remedy for my son who wasn't keeping great health. The location is superb and not very far away from the town. A few memorable things in the stay were waking to the sounds of birds, the morning coffee with Mr Thimaiah in front of the room, the view of the valley from the front (simply breathtaking) and the trip inside the estate. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. The food was also sumptuous. Enjoyed the fruits from the estate as well. We will be going to coorg again and will not look beyond VV to be pampered. Thanks Mr Thimaiah and Mrs Diana!! Well done and keep the great work going. Looking forward to being there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Doc, what Diana and myself loved about you was that you straight away felt at home coming to VV. What touched me most was when you were leaving, you mention that you would be going with a Heavy Heart!!! Thankyou Doc. Your family is amazing!!!! Until we meet again..... And Yeah, Diana and Me had a Super holiday in Goa after you left!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have been to Victorian Verandaz from 29th April 2013 to 2nd- May-2013 , under the hospitality of Mr Thimmaiah and Mrs Diana . The is was my first homestay and it could not have been better . thanks to the wonderfull host .
Its alomst 6 kms away from coorg main city .. so if you are looking for total peace and tranquality away from city madness this is the place amidst Coffee estate and lovely view of vally from the estate and classy home food.

my 2 year old daughter enjoyed the stay , the homefood , support extended by Mrs diana , thankful to her .

We also visited the Raintree restaurent suggested by Mr thimmaiah and its worth going there , Try Appam and Veg stew , it was simply superb.

Victorian Verandaz is is amidst Coffee estate and if you like to trek there they have plenty of places for you .
they have all facilities like continous power back up(with T.V) , hot and cold water neat and clean room , nice verandah.

Only thing is if you would like to go dinner or lunch outside you may need to go to city which is 6 km .

Rest all superb..

Room Tip: they have two cottages and are of same category
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Good that your Baby took all the traveling you did in Coorg nicely. We will definitely look forward to your coming to VV when you decide to take a break from the Hyderabad Traffic. Enjoy your holiday at Jim Corbett coming up !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

It was an amazing experience of three days @ Rusticaa Cottage in Victorian Verandaz. We reached the cottage late in night and I am very thankful to Mr Thimmiah for guiding us as along the way.The highlight of our stay was the hospitality offered by Thimmiah and Diana. They made sure that every moment of our stay was a pleasant experience. My special thanks also to the caretaker couple, Baiju and Sreeja for accommodating all our requests. The drive through the more than 110 acres coffee estate was an wonderful experience. The cottage (Rusticaa) where we stayed in, has an old world charm to it while at the same time has all the modern amenities with a full fledged Kitchen. Last but not the least, the bonfire party in the evening with Mr Thimmiah himself joining us....To sum it up an excellent experience. I look forward to visiting this place again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Deepak, both Vineet and yourself were good fun. Sure you loved driving your SWANK car in Coorg too!!!! I sure did enjoy your company and am sure you guys are gonna be back. So until then......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victorian Verandaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Verandaz

Address: Modur Estate, | Kadagadal, Madikeri 571248, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Madikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Madikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A verandah is typical of British colonial architecture. It allows us to enjoy the outdoors in a protected manner. We get to relax and enjoy the scenery, without being troubled by sunlight or rain.Victorian Verandaz is a pretty little cottage with a lovely verandah in front. It is designed for guests to rest and play in safety and comfort. This cottage is tucked in next to a planter’s bungalow. A bungalow that has played host to Coorg’s bold and beautiful for over a 100 years. Coorg aristocracy, British officials, army officers and planters have gathered here many a time. To discuss state affairs, hunt and feast.Victorian Verandaz is built on top of a slope and offers a view of thickly wooded slopes. Surrounding it, is a typical coffee plantation with lakes, a nursery, drying yards and the sounds of Birds.Let Coorg slow your heartbeat and make your mind sit back and rest in relief. Unwind in the pleasant climate at 4,200 feet. We extend you a warm welcome to Victorian Verandaz. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victorian Verandaz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.