We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good homestay especially when you are with kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sai Sadan Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madikeri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sai Sadan Homestay
Subramanya Nagara, Kartik Road, Madikeri, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 84 Madikeri B&B and Inns
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good homestay especially when you are with kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were planning for a home stay many times but didnt get it done . When we planned for Coorg many friends told it is best place for home stay . With lot of feedback we zeroed in for Sai Sadan . As soon as we entered and met Sri, he gave full feeling of our own home . We stayed there with two kids for 2 days last week (23 Dec and 24th Dec) and it was very pleasant stay . Sri helped to plan all the travel and he arranged cab and made sure it is avaiable on time . He made sure good food are available for kids and us separately . He managed to get milk for kids . About the property, it gives lot of privacy with two bedroom and a kitchen space . There were toys available for kids and carrom board . We all enjoyed the trip very much just because of a good home to stay . Special thanks to Mr. Sri and Mrs . Latha

Room Tip: you get the full house so nothing to be specifically worry here like other hotels and homstays
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    57
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
93
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our first experience with homestay. We chose this Home Stay based on the reviews in tripadvisor.
We stayed during Christmas last weekend. The owner’s (Mr.Srihari & Mrs Latha) friendliness & excellent service made our stay a memorable one.
Mr. Srihari arranged a cab for our sight-seeing and even helped us plan our sight-seeing. He even arranged for pick-up and drop from the bus stand.
We stayed in the single room adjacent to their house on the first floor. The room was clean with attached bathroom and with 24hrs hot water. The food served by Mrs. Latha was amazing. Breakfast was just awesome and dinner was provided hot and tasty. Very kind of the couple to serve us coffee and snacks during evening time after the sight-seeing.
Even after reaching Bangalore, we got a call from Mr.Srihari to check if we reached safely and our journey was comfortable.

Also they give out the entire ground floor to visitor's. It has 2 bedrooms, kitchen, hall and bathrooms. We recommend this home stay for those who are looking for home away from home !! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at Sai Sadan Homestay on 27 December. Overall stay was nice, Mr. Shrihari is really a good host.
The biggest advantage of this homestay is that you get privacy..
This one as expected, it turned out good to my expectation.
It is a good place, nice rooms, nice host and good vegetarian breakfast.

Room: They have a bunglow and they give out their entire ground floor to the visitors. They live on the first floor. Ground floor has 2 bedrooms, hall, kitchen, dining area, 2 bathrooms. It's fantastic. It gives you a homely feeling. The rooms are clean and the kitchen and dining has enough utensils to serve your purpose. They have lot of toys and books for kids. So small kids won't find it difficult to adjust. Hot water is available 24hrs. Electricity is a bit problem but they have few lights placed in the floor running on inverter. So that is helpful. Bed and Beddings are good. They have a small LCD TV with DishTV connection. They have put a water purifier in the kitchen. So, in short, everything is fine and it really makes you comfortable as soon as you enter the room.

Location: Location of the homestay is bit away from the central place. But not that far. and if you have your own vehicle, it is not a problem. The location of the homestay is very nice though. Road leading to homestay is bit narrow. But, that's fine.

Once you decide that its a homestay that you want to be in, the Sai Sadan really tops

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Hi,
We stayed at Sai Sadan Homestay in November 2012. Overall stay was nice, Mr. Shrihari and his wife are really good host.
The biggest advantage of this homestay is that you get privacy.. They have two bed rooms, but it's not given to two different couples.
I am similar to all those other's who did a lot of survey on hotels and homestays and finally settled on going for a homestay. This one as expected, it turned out good to my expectation. This was my first experience with homestay. I liked it, my wife did not.

If you are confused about having homestay v/s hotels, here are few tips:
1. Good hotels in Coorg are in the range of 7000 plus per night... Surely they are too costly..
2. A homestay is a homely, but it will not replace a hotel feeling of relaxed etc.

So there are plus and minus on both sides. But once you decide that its a homestay that you want to be in, the Sai Sadan really tops.. good place, nice rooms, nice host and good vegetarian food.

-Prithvi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

It was only for a day we booked saisadan.

After looking at various options, we zeroed in on Saisadan based on 2 factors :
(i) They serve Pure Veg Food
(ii) Good Reviews in Tripadvisor.

Although it was a very short stay, the owner’s (Mr.Srihari & Mrs Latha) friendliness & excellent service made our stay a memorable one.

They’d given us the ground floor portion, which has 2 bedrooms, hall, Kitchen and a dining.
This could easily accommodate a family of 5-6. As we were only 3, we found it very spacious.

Rooms, toilets, bed & bedding were maintained spic and span.

The vegetarian food they served us for the dinner and for the breakfast was amazing.

Despite our early checkout (7.30 am), Mrs Latha had, kindly, arranged our breakfast on time. The Hot & tasty ‘paniyaram’ was absolutely delicious and truly unforgettable.

In short, we can say that, in Saisadan you will definitely get
(i) clean & tidy rooms, bed & beddings,
(ii) Clean toilets and 24Hrs hot water,
(iii) Tasty, hygienic & homely food (only breakfast & dinner)
(iv) Most importantly “the home feel” , (no extravaganza at all)

Highly recommended for family prefers to stay in a homely atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was our first experience at a homestay. I choose this one based on the reviews and being the only homestay serving pure veg. food. And believe me, it was a wonderful experience.
I asked a lot of questions to Mr. Srihari (the owner) before finalizing and even after finalizing and arriving to Coorg as we were coming from Pune with a 3yr old kid. But he answered all our queries. We came via Konkan Railway and as soon as we reached M'lore, to our surprise, we got a call from Mr. Srihari to see whether we reached there safely or not. He even came to pick-us-up at the Madikeri bus stand. He came to know that we did not have enough food in our journey so he immediately brought us coffee and some food to eat. It was very nice.
We stayed there for 3 nights and those were really memorable.

Room: They have a bunglow and they give out their entire ground floor to the visitors. They live on the first floor. Ground floor has 2 bedrooms, hall, kitchen, dining area, 2 bathrooms. It's fantastic. It gives you a homely feeling. The rooms are clean and the kitchen and dining has enough utensils to serve your purpose. They have lot of toys and books for kids. So small kids won't find it difficult to adjust. Hot water is available 24hrs. Electricity is a bit problem but they have few lights placed in the floor running on inverter. So that is helpful. Bed and Beddings are good. They have a small LCD TV with DishTV connection. They have put a water purifier in the kitchen. So, in short, everything is fine and it really makes you comfortable as soon as you enter the room.

Food: After the rooms, the next obviously important thing is the food. Mrs. Latha (Mr. Srihari's wife) served very nice food. They are vegeterians and serve only veg. food which is what we were anyway looking for. Every morning they provided us with hot coffee and hot milk for our son. Beakfast was awesome everyday. (The appams were the best I have ate till date) Since they are a working couple, they don't provide lunch. But, they guided us on where can we have our lunch. The dinner was provided hot and was tasty.

Location: Location of the homestay is bit away from the central place. But not that far. and if you have your own vehicle, or you have booked a cab for yourself, it is not a problem. The location of the homestay is very nice though. Road leading to homestay is bit narrow. But, that's fine.

Sightseeing: Mr. Srihari arranged a cab for our sight-seeing and even planned our sight-seeing. The cab-driver was also good. You just need to inform Mr. Srihari few days in advance if you need a cab. He takes care of everything :-) The cab-driver took us to all the important places in Coorg and it was wonderful.

Only thing is, since it is a homestay, you will need to do some work, like cleaning the utensils, washing the utensils/clothes yourself.

At the end, I must mention about the owners. They are wonderful people. For a working couple, it's really difficult to manage all this. But they do it with a smiling face. They are talkative and like to talk about various things. We had planned to go to Kannur after Madikeri. So Mr. Srihari found the most convinient way to go there. He helped us to get to the bus stand quickly in time so that we don't miss the bus. He even called us to make sure that we reached Kannur safely. They took care of all our needs. What more can you expect?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have read the reviews of the Home Stay from Trip Advisor's site and I followed the reviews given to the SAI SADAN HOMESTAY. I choose to stay there for 2 days and my Stay was excellent.

Shri Hari and his wife are very gentle and human loving people. they treat you like a relatives and you will never feel that you are away from home, you will feel like you are staying at your relative's home.

He also advise me the whole 2 days plan. He provide good veg. food with tea for our driver also.

I suggest to stay here for the safe and comfort.

Room Tip: Take the room with attached bathroom. if possible then ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sai Sadan Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sai Sadan Homestay

Address: Subramanya Nagara, Kartik Road, Madikeri, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu District > Madikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Madikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two bedroom vacation rental home situated in the calm area not too far not too near to the heart of the town of Madikeri, around two km far from the hustle and bustle of the township. Home consists of two bedrooms, one with attached bathroom and a western type commode and a general bathroom with Indian type commode. A big hall with rosewood sofa sets, a separate dining hall with rosewood dining table, 24 hour hot water supply, free parking,LCD TV with Dish connection ,power back-up are the facilities available. Breakfast(veg)will be complementary.Elecric kettle and bread roaster is provided at the kitchen . Chess and carrom boards, some toys for kids are also provided. We give preference to cleanliness, reliability and security to the guests. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sai Sadan Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sai Sadan Homestay to your Saves list