We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to relax away from crowd” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silent Valley Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Silent Valley Cottages to your Saves list
Silent Valley Cottages
2.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Almanda Estate | Mysore Road, Madikeri 571 201 , India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Madikeri
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good to relax away from crowd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Simple place in an excellent location in the middle of a coffee estate. Food is okay. We were 02 families and booked a full cottage with 02 rooms and a living room. The rooms are simple but spacious with attached bath fitted with geyser. So no problem of hot water. Very good view from the balcony/sitout. No noise of vehicles and we were free to roam around.

Just about 7 km from Madikeri town and about 1.5 km from Mysore road. I have seen the rooms in their new block which are much better than the individual cottages.

Room Tip: If you take 02 rooms take the full cottage which comes with additional living room in between the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

The most beautiful cottages I have seen. The location is excellent, We felt like we were in the new world. Once I came out of my cottage, all I could see was the Deep green valley, nothing else. Early mornings and the walking through the coffee plantations are unforgettable. Food is Ok. Ensure that you have your own vehicle, as it is 7KM from Madikeri town and you wont find any public transport to the cottage. In short, the best place if you want to enjoy your holiday lonely with beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Last Week we (Two families with Two children) went to Coorg - Madikeri. It is a nice place on the lap of Western Ghat. In the planning phase, I was finding the proper place to stay in Madikeri through Internet. Silent Valley Cottages(of Hotel Crystal Court) caught my eyes because of its serenity and simplicity, as projected by their website.
Booking: Manager of Hotel Crystal Court, Mr Sudarshan Das is very friendly and nice person. I talked to him over phone and carried out the booking procedure over internet, which was too simple. In every step he replied via confirmation mails promptly.
Location: As advised by manager we reached Hotel Crystal Court first. Which is well locatable and easy to reach place in Madikeri Town. From there 7 seater maxi auto (Vikram) of the hotel guided us to the cottages which is around 5 km away from Madikeri Town, and located within the huge area (50 acre) of coffee plantation. The way to reach the cottages was like a virgin ambushed under the ancient trees of the western ghat rainforest. After reaching the cottages manager and service staffs gave a worm welcome. View from the cottages were great. 360 degree was covered by forest and coffee plantation. additionally front 180 degree was the panoramic view of western ghat.
Amenities: Were Silence, Solitude, Twittering of unknown birds, noise of cricket and frog, Ghat facing spacious balcony with hanging chairs, ghat facing wooden bench in the lawn.
Rooms: One cottage consists of two bedrooms, one living room with fridge, 6 seater wooden dining table, sofa & TV (Though all the channels were not coming but who cares them in that kind of location). Rooms were consisting of double bed, dressing table, sofa, wardrobe, spacious attached bathroom (but without bathtub) with geysers. Power backup facility was there, because sometimes for a short while power goes. All the rooms with wooden roof and bathrooms are provided with skylights which adds beauty.
Service: Staffs were very active, friendly and prompt. They helped us happily in cooking food for our children(below 2 yrs). Food, Snaks, tea, coffee, beer delivered within 5 minutes. If it was raining heavily outside, then also their service was same way prompt, even with the help of umbrella.
Food: Homely, nice taste. But you have to order well in advance, because their main kitchen in Hotel Crystal Court which is 5 km away from cottage. But they are happy to serve easy cooked snacks with their small kitchen. Quantity of food they serve you are also money worth (under MAP, breakfast, evening tea, Dinner). We could not finish them every time...:).

Finally this place is for the nature and serenity lovers. Not for them who expects Star rated amenities and services, like spa, swimming pool, disco, etc etc.
We enjoyed this place.....I hope people with our same mental frequency will also like it.
We planned to come back here again on winter for enjoying the bonfire, which we missed this time due to monsoon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

Stayed at silent valley cottage of king's court hotel for 2 nights on an MAP basis. It was a beautiful 2 bedroom cottage in midst of a coffee and pepper estate. The view was breathtaking and the food was tasty and homely one. One downside is the stray cats there which were a bit of nuisance. The housekeeping could have been better. Overall the place was good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Great place with great valley view and great food! Spacious rooms with balcony and swings. Kids enjoyed a lot. Food tasted excellent and was hygienic. Mr. Vasant (caretaker) takes is readily available to meet all your requirements. Had a gala time!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

Surrounded by hills, this cottage-style accommodation in a coffee estate is seven kms from the Madikeri town area and maintains eight rooms to choose from. Adventurers at heart can indulge in a trekking expedition and the others can explore the country-side by taking a plantation walk, or simply walk to the lake nearby. There is also free parking space available within the premises of the estate

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silent Valley Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silent Valley Cottages

Address: Almanda Estate | Mysore Road, Madikeri 571 201 , India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu District > Madikeri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Madikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silent Valley Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Silent Valley Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silent Valley Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.