We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Eagle Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fish Eagle Point to your Saves list
Fish Eagle Point
P O Box 723, Tanga, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Mangrove Kayak Expedition
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tanga
East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
“Refreshing destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

After cycling from Diani Beach(Kenya) to Fish Eagle Point, also the longest day of our journey, we found this incredible place called Fish Eagle Point. Not knowing what to expect, we were very surprised to find heaven on earth. Staff and personal took good care of us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were looking for quiet and luxury get away after other adventures in Tanzania and Fish Eagle Point could not have been better. Cathy and Steve were brilliant in helping with our arrangements and transfers to and from the resort, which made things so easy. We really enjoyed the realaxing enviroment, and were able to kick-back without any distractions!
Perfect for a complete getaway.

Room Tip: we loved bahari beech cottages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Fish Eagle is a place like none other I have ever been to. With plenty of spots to sit alone and take in the beauty of Tanzania (the verandas on the front of every room, the beautiful beaches that look out to the Indian Ocean, or the many places to relax in the main eating/lodge area), the staff also makes you feel so welcome, like they are your family. Some of the things I enjoyed most were sitting and talking to the amazing staff of Fish Eagle, who are eager to greet you at every opportunity, help you improve your Swahili, or just serve you to ensure you are 100% comfortable and cared for. Steve and Kathy provide amazing opportunities, like snorkeling, boat rides on the dhal, and many others. The food is outstanding, fresh, and the chefs were more than willing to accommodate to specific needs (like vegetarians, for example.) The fresh water pool is refreshing and the rooms are wonderful. I always came back in the afternoon to a freshly made bed and tied mosquito net. Even though the rooms are not fully enclosed, I felt safe at every moment and was never worried about my safety. They even have Warriors who walk around Fish Eagle at night to ensure our safety. Wifi and electricity is an added perk that I didn't expect at such a remote location. I couldn't have dreamt a more beautiful place to stay in Tanzania. I cannot wait until the day when I can return again and see Steve, Kathy, Moses, Michael, Hussein, Adumani, Moody, and all of the wonderful people at Fish Eagle. Asante sana, Fish Eagle!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bushbaby88, Public Relations Manager at Fish Eagle Point, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hello there, I am writing on behalf of everybody here at Fish Eagle Point to say thank you so much for your kind words, it means so much! We are so happy that you had such a lovely time and thank you for sharing your experiences. Asante sana and karibu tena! From the Fish Eagle Point team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Unspoiled and unpretentious Fish Eagle Point is easily the best place along the coast of Northern Tanzania for some relaxed and undisturbed 'natural birding'. It's also the perfect place to get all that Masai dust (or Tan-roads bumps) out of your system after a motorised safari jolting around Tanzania's famous northern circuit.
And thanks to the diligence of Chinese road engineers it's now very easy to get to from both Tanga and the adjacent, yet far more crowded, coastline of Southern Kenya.
The owners of Fish Eagle Point have gone to great pains to minimise the impact of their lodge. In fact, by setting-up here, they have successfully protected a small area of spray-bevelled coral rag forest, into which the few bandas (the 'delightfully rustic' accommodation) have been lovingly secreted.
So, as regards "Sustainable Biodiversity Tourism" it's a shining example.
There are even a few observable medium-sized terrestrial mammals - Blue Monkeys, Yellow Baboons, Galagos and even the diminutive secretive and retiring Sunni antelope.
In truth this small strip of forest continues to support a very pleasing variety of coastal wildlife.
The canopy community includes the nationally scarce Green Tinkerbird and on the forest floor there are such localised butterflies as the Gold-banded Forester. It appears that this elfin coastal woodland currently delineates the northern edge of the distribution of some southern bird species - such as the Kurrichane Thrush.
More conspicuous are the Black-bellied Starlings and Purple-banded Sunbirds present all day, all year, in the trees all around the lodge.
Whilst close looks at BIG choosy birds, like Woolly-necked Stork and African Fish Eagle, remind you that you are still residing in a patch of what's left of our Earthly paradise!
Over the Indian Ocean there are good numbers of terns, of at least four species, offshore at all seasons. Uniquely wonderful, Crab Plovers may number up to 250 individuals in the varied shorebird roost, especially on neap tides, and in the south-facing bay throughout the northern winter.
An hour's cruise offshore, in the lodge's motorised dhow, will get you out into the deep waters of the Pemba Channel. Here a variety of southern seabirds and northern migrants and vagrants, such as Long-tailed Jaeger, occur in season. There are adrenalin-inducing cetaceans here too! Occasionally, especially just after sunrise, on very calm mornings during the South-east Monsoon (August onward) Humpback Whales may be observed, engaged in fluke-slapping courtship, less than a kilometre from land.
Recommendation: If you can, go there asap!

Room Tip: All of the sea view room are good; but there's one of the two-storey forest rooms which is absol...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Fish Eagle Point is absolutely breath-taking. Waking up and falling asleep to the waves of the Indian Ocean right outside our bungalow was perhaps the most relaxing experience. The staff was extremely helpful and always willing to make your stay perfect. The food was always delicious and fresh! I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for my first trip to Tanzania!

Room Tip: Rooms with an ocean-side view are exquisite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Fish Eagle Point was beautiful. From the main lodge to the rooms, everything was superb. The ocean view is beautiful and I don't think I've ever seen so many stars at night. I felt very safe for the whole duration of my visit. The food was always good and we had a great variety to choose from. There was a great variety of activities to choose from and the staff was always fun and willing to talk. Fish Eagle also had many comforts of home like wifi, tv, and plenty of spots to charge electronics so I was able to keep in touch with the world if I needed to. Great trip! I truly hope I can return sometime

Room Tip: Rooms near the lodge have more powerful showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

What a wonderful place to make my first visit to Tanzania (indeed, Africa). The location is idyllic, set right beside the Indian Ocean to catch cool breezes and provide gorgeous views. The accommodations are pleasant, with thought to travelers' comfort: airy rooms to encourage natural AC, shady verandas with seating and hammocks, a lockable closet area with luggage rack. The staff is absolutely lovely, whether providing snorkels and sodas, fixing delicious meals or helping to improve my Swahili.

My stay at Fish Eagle was a bit of a busman's holiday since I was part of a study abroad program consisting of two professors and 24 students. Fish Eagle was able to accommodate both work and vacation. I had wifi and space when I needed to work but an ocean, pool and breezy veranda when I wanted to play - as well as a well-stocked bar for an afternoon libation. I was amazed that Fish Eagle was able to accommodate so many people so easily; we never felt crowded or less than well-provided-for.

Steve and Kathy are worth an excellent rating of their own. They were nothing but wonderful during our stay, despite the many demands placed on their time and resources with our group's needs. Fish Eagle would not be the same lovely place without them.

Room Tip: Some of the bandas are placed close by the shore, providing beautiful views and stiffer breezes; all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fish Eagle Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Eagle Point

Address: P O Box 723, Tanga, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Tanga Region > Tanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All prices reflected are on FULL BOARD basis. A new eco-friendly coastal resort 40km north of Tanga. Unique, truly secluded and natural. Several beaches of varying sizes, mixed with coral rock formations and mangroves. Offering fishing (inshore and offshore in Pemba channel), snorkeling, dhow trips, visits to historical and cultural sites. The cliche 'bush to beach' applies, natural coastal forest and an abundant variety of animals and birds. Buildings are spaciously built using local materials, freestanding bungalows are individualistic incorporating natural features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fish Eagle Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fish Eagle Point Hotel Tanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Eagle Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.