We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peponi Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Peponi Beach Resort to your Saves list
Peponi Beach Resort
Tanga, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tanga
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very relaxing place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I went to Peponi for 2 nights in July 2012 with some friends. It was a weekend and so there were a few other travellers around to chat with.

It was my first chance to have a hot shower after 2 months in a rural village, and my it was good! The hot water comes on between 5-7pm each day and the water pressure is good too.

The food is quite western, with some Tanzanian choices also.They request it to be ordered a couple hours in advance, and you can tell when you eat it that this is because it is all freshly prepared. The fish and seafood is lovely, I had Thai style fish and prawn skewers and a chilli crab pasta dish. Both were great, especially washed down with a cold beer and a chocolate brownie.
My friends and I all ate salads and sandwiches and no-one got ill or anything so I think food hygeine is good here.

The bandas are really spacious and clean, and you get your bath and beach towels provided. they have quite a polynesian, bohemian feel which I really love, but might not be to everyone's taste, but the double beds are huge and come with good quality mosquito nets.

The place has a great relaxed feel and a friendly atmosphere. The pool is small but clean. There are comfy hammocks strung from the trees where you can lie in the sea breeze reading a book. The staff were extremely friendly and willing to help although sometimes there was not always someone manning the bar.

In brief, the other facilities include - laundry service, volley ball court, dart board, safe deposit, internet room, dhow boat/snorkelling trips to the reef and sand island (paradise!!), beach side bar.

Would definately recommend this place, it's very reasonably priced and I left relaxed and refreshed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    27
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Beautiful camp - lovely shade. Nice, spacious bandas. Very clean. Inexpensive, good quality food in the restaurant. Very knowledgable host.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The food was great: lobster and seafood was amazing. But the beach was really small, with a guard to make sure locals didn't use it. This felt weird, and the bugs were out and about as well. But nice people and good location.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Having visited several coastal resorts of Eastern Tanzania, I found Peponi to be a prize winner. The whole site is under the umbrella of beautiful tropical trees filled with vervet monkeys. The resort is owned by a terrific East African couple who embrace tourism as a way of life, not a quick buck. This place is great for families as it has an enclosed ground, safe clean beach to walk on- alone, quaint swimming pool and family friendly activities (snorkeling and lunch on "Sand Island") The owners encourage and support campers and if the bungalow cabins are above your price range, go camping here. Morning and dinner meals are served as part of the coast of staying which makes this a great deal.

Room Tip: Bungalow rooms are simple, tidy and charming. Each has ample front porch with chairs and hammock loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I had the luxury of staying at the Zebra Banda in late February, 2012 for about a week. I had a fantastic time, arrived quite jet lagged from Canada and immediately fell into the laid-back, ocean side living mode.

The continental breakfasts were delicious, fresh rolls, fruit, "real" peanut butter and honey! We found the staff to be very sweet, friendly and helpful - some we were even on a first name basis with. Dinners were ample, the seafood platter was gigantic and a unique treat for us...not something I come across back home. Capricorn Beach Cottages, just a walk away, had UNREAL pizzas, and when paired with a cool beer the afternoons melted away in the most perfect way!

I travelled with a friend from Canada making us two solo female travellers, which is a bit daunting in any location but we agreed that we felt safe and well looked after for the duration of our time there. We also had a great time out on the dau on a snorkelling trip. If you choose to go, I'd recommend a long sleeve shirt...we got a few stings from invisible jellies. Amazing water clarity while we were there, the water was eerily calm!

Beach was nice, and a short walk lead to a sandy section with mangroves which were fun to swim amongst.

I had a fantastic time here and hope to return one day!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

At the conclusion of our month in Tanzania we sought an economical beach-side resort that offered meals. Peponi exceeded our criteria. The property is well maintained, the staff was the friendliest of all the places we stayed in Tanzania, the beach was walkable for miles in both directions, the pool was small but great to come back to after beach walks, the banda was clean and had a fantastic view to the east, the local wildlife that visited regularly were a treat, hot water was dependably available in the shower from 5:30 to 8:30 in the evening, and the food ranged from ok at breakfast to the freshest seafood we've had on a day-to-day basis anywhere. As another reviewer mentioned, dinner orders need to be places by 4:00 pm. I assume that is so that staff can visit the nearby fishing village to purchase the particular fish you have ordered for that evening. Breakfast and dinner were included in the $95 daily cost. Internet was not consistently available, but was always available at the resort next door. When power was interrupted, as is often the case in this country, resort generators quickly picked up the slack. We had a most comfortable and relaxing time and will visit again if the opportunity is there.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask for the rooms at the north end of the resort which have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

As someone living in Northern Tanzania, I have lots of friends who
have headed to the coast and stayed at Peponi. I had realistic
expectations - a no luxury, good time. To keep this short I will just
bullet point the positive and negative highlights of my trip.

Positives:
- Affordable: While the huts are pricey, camping is still $10 a head.

- They supply the necessaries leaving your luggage load light.

- Food and beverages are also affordable by Tanzania travel standards.

- They also allow BYOB.

Negative:
- Terrible food. The rumor is Peponi used to have great food but that
it has seriously gone down hill in the last 2 years. I should note the
place next door, Capricorn Beach Cottages, has AMAZING food and great
service.

- Upon arrival we were not given the "information sheet". This sheet
contains imperative instructions, such as tipping rules and notes that
you must order dinner before 4pm. Regardless of the fact that it was
the staffs oversight for not supplying the guide, we were chastised by
selective employees as well as the proprietor (literally, chastised
like a child by the latter).

- My friend had something stolen by a staff member (while turning away
for 30 seconds). The staff denied it, playing mind games and reminding
her "she'd been drinking." Sadly, these types of things happen while
traveling and we all brushed it off with no complaints. The proprietor
came by to apologize (no mention of compensation - maybe a round of
beers?) but also to inform us that this staff member was dodgy and
undependable. Uncomfortable much? We don't need to know to what degree
you do not trust your own staff.

- A friend was handed a tray of drinks to carry from the bar area to
the pool. Ten steps from the bar, she was asked "You're okay with
that, right?". We later found out drinks were supposed to be brought
down by the staff.

Bottom line: we were astounded by how rudely we were treated - to the
point that voices were being raised at us when we were rationally
pointing out miscommunications. Regardless of years of experience, I
believe the owner could benefit from a tutorial on how to treat people
inside and outside of the service industry.

I would never stay here again. We left a fun vacation with a bad taste
in our mouth.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peponi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peponi Beach Resort

Address: Tanga, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Tanga Region > Tanga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Peponi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peponi Beach Hotel Tanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peponi Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.