We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in lambertsbay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Funky Tastebuds

Funky Tastebuds
68 Voortrekker St, Lamberts Bay 8130, South Africa
027 432 1796
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A gem in lambertsbay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

At first glance Funky Tastebuds appears to be merely a bustling coffee shop but it is so much more than that. This becomes apparent when you see their collection of gourmet grocery items and take a peak in the kitchen, where chef France rustles up items from scratch, even the basting sauces aren't pre-made.
We ordered the homemade burger with cheddar and caramelised onion. It came on a lovely soft brioche bun and the patty was juicy and flavoursome. The side chips were 'real' chips which tasted of potatoes as opposed to the more common cardboard tasting frozen chips which most restaurants now serve.
We also ordered the English style fish and chip which was cooked to perfection, moist fish encrusted in a perfectly crispy batter. Once again served with 'real' chips.
The service is friendly and welcoming and they serve a mean cup of coffee. Quality you don't expect in Lambertsbay but most definitely appreciated and enjoyed. Highly recommend!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The breakfast here was great. Portions big and well cooked. Nice rustic atmosphere and friendly staff.
A good breakfast or lunch stop in Lamberts Bay.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Food and atmosphere to fit a weskus royal family. A place highly recommended. You will find yourself wanting to come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
1 review
“Best of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have visited Lamberts Bay several times and this time we decided to have breakfast outdoors instead of in the hotel. We spotted a small attractive place called Funky Tastebuds. When we entered we were warmly welcomed by the staff and had the best breakfast ever. How to describe.... funkylicious? And very important: the cappuccino also was delicious! So, if you ever visit Lamberts Bay, let Funky Tastebuds be your first stop!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertsbaai, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“home away from home feeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Homemade rustic food served with a funky twist … freshly squiced fruit juice served in a CONSOL jar… the best coffees in town. Everything served with loving touch and perfection! The staff is so friendly and helpful makes you feel right at home the minute u walk in. Definitely one of my favourite places ever!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funky Tastebuds also viewed

Lamberts Bay, Western Cape
Lamberts Bay, Western Cape
 
Lamberts Bay, Western Cape
Cederberg, Western Cape
 

Been to Funky Tastebuds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funky Tastebuds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.