We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, beautiful views...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia

Save Saved
You added The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
fromUSD267 with breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pantai Kok
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, beautiful views...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few days in 2012 and were very impressed with the hotel that we decided to go back there again - wise decision! The staff were fantastic, from reception, concierge, breakfast service, housekeeping, till evening drinks and meals. The excellent service from the staff cannot be overstated. Infinity pool is the best we've seen, lovely just to sunbathe and swim all day. The room is spacious and clean. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Mekbrag,

Thank you for your review and your continued support of The Danna Langkawi. We are thrilled that you come back after time. It is of course our great pleasure to take care of you. We certainly don’t want you to stay anywhere else in Langkawi and will continue to work hard to make sure that remains the case. I have passed your kind words to everyone in the team and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards.
Pascal Masse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,103
    154
    44
    9
    4
See reviews for
350
699
27
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Danna is truly a unique experience. The hotel is Grand and the decor is colonial but more than anything else it is the staff that truly makes this hotel special. We stayed in the countess suite and the room was perfect with my twin boys. Every request and need was catered to with enthusiasm. The food, though a bit limited, was executed really well and the pool side barbeque was exceptional.
Even though the Hotel was full, The Danna never feels crowded and you never have to wait to be served. The poolside is luxurious and the private beach gives you enough space to enjoy yourself. The only thing I thought was bit out of range was the price and after staying there I can understand why they have such a tag. Looking forward to going there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Aamir V,

I was really pleased to read your recent comments following your visit to The Danna. I hope your lovely twin boys love the twin bed set up in your Suite. It was a pleasure to hear that you were impressed with the barbecue, it is a must try weekly event under the stars. As you mentioned we take great pride in our wonderful hotel and the service we provide to our guests. My team put a lot of very hard work in to ensure our guests expectations are met on a consistent basis and I have, like I do with all the comments we receive, passed these on to them. Please do come and see us again soon.

With warm regards.
Pascal Masse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed at The Danna for a week in early August and I must say its the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Just a 15 min journey from Langkawi airport, the hotel is located in one of the more tranquil and picturesque parts of the island.
On arrival, we were greeted by warm and friendly staff who offered us a beautifully presented complimentary cold beverage and shoulder massage. Once checked in, we were shown around the hotel by a member of the reception staff which was a lovely touch and from that moment on, the service just got better and better.
The room was fantastic, we stayed in a Grand Merchant Room which was beautifully decorated, very spacious, well equipped and had stunning views. The room was kept impeccably clean by the housekeeping staff and it was never without fresh fruit. During our stay, we were also treated with delicious sweet Malaysian cookies and a bottle of wine in our room.
The food at the hotel was absolutely delicious - you could choose from the menu or from the buffet for both breakfast and dinner. The range of food on offer in the buffet was incredible. The waiting staff were so attentive and provided a great service.
The infinity pool was stunning with lots of loungers and comfy lounge pods surrounding the pool to ensure we were all catered for. The great service was also seen with the pool staff who were just as attentive and made sure we had exactly what we wanted.
The concierge staff were very knowledgable about the island and were always available to give you advice about what to do and where to go. They were also happy to make any bookings for you.
The hotel has some very nice facilities - the small but well equipped gym overlooked the beautiful hills of Langkawi. The spa offers great treatments - I had a body scrub and massage which were fantastic. There's a library with a small selection of books in different languages and chess/draughts boards, a games room and a bar which offered happy hour from 7pm-9pm (cocktails were half price and worked out to be about £2.50 each).
The hotel is not located amongst the hustle and bustle of the Cenang Beach area or Kuah Town area, but this was not a problem. You can easily get to these areas for about £6 by taxi and it takes about 20mins to get there.
This hotel has set a benchmark for me and was truly memorable. A perfect stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear RyseyB,

Thank you for a glowing review of your experience at The Danna. I am delighted that you were able to benefit from the hotel’s brilliant location, comfortable accommodation and the Malaysia Hospitality from our team. All room guests will be enjoying fresh fruits on daily basis; if you are on any celebration, there will be some extras from us. The SPA is on the 5th floor and being rated very high by all customer. Our Food and Beverage Manager and the Chef will be happy to hear that you enjoyed the food during breakfast and dinner. Thank you for your compliments about the outstanding service offered by all our team, I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all the staff. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Danna.

With warm regards.
Pascal Masse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a marvelous time at The Danna Langkawi. We booked a room for 3 persons. We arranged a hotel transfer for us upon arrival, which was waiting for us at the airport when we arrived. Initially, the staff wasn't able to coordinate that there were 3 of us arriving so the welcome towels in the car were just for 2. But it was perfectly fine with us. Upon arrival, the staff were so attentive and assisted us with checking in. Welcome drinks, towels and massage were provided while waiting to be checked in. And the staff, Ahmed toured us around the property that morning. We also got an early check in which was really great. The room was beautiful, as we expected it to be. Wifi was very fast - which is because the hotel made sure to have a router in each room. The amenities abound! The gym was well equipped overlooking the mountains! The hotel has its own spa and business center. It has a cafe, restaurants, and a gift shop. It is right beside a quay full of bays and restaurants (and a convenience store). The pool was beautiful! And the hotel has its own private beach! We had a wonderful time just relaxing by the pool and beach, and lazing in the room. The hotel is also close to the Langkawi Cable Car and Oriental Village. The staff helped us get a taxi for RM8 to such place. It's also accessible by taxi to the Cenang Beach area for around RM24-26. The friendly female manager also made sure to ask us how our day went during breakfast, and suggested some places to see. The other members of the staff were also quick to make us feel special and pampered us with little details, like closing doors to minimize the breeze, and the like. The breakfast menu at the hotel was also superb! Their food and drinks are really good, and they have a good variety of food as well, both Malaysian and international. I am actually planning not only on recommending the hotel to friends and family, but also on returning to the hotel for another vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Patrick_Sl,

We were very pleased to read that your stay at The Danna exceeded your expectations and you felt well looked after by our team. You have made the right choice by taking our transfer; we will pamper you from the airport. As long we have the room vacant and cleaned, sure we will accommodate any early arrival; I am glad you appreciate it. It seems that you have taken the time to experience all facilities such as the large pool, the beautiful room, the wi-fi, the amenities, the gym, the beach and more others; and I would say is we have what you need. Thank you very much for your visit and for recommending The Danna to family and friends of yours. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With warm regards.
Pascal Masse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for six nights. We enjoyed all of our stay. The hotel is well located between the harpor and the beautiful beach overlooking mountain and small islands on the horizon with good design and amazing view from the balcony, staff treatment is good and you can that they are trying to be nice and it shows that hotel management cares about the level of service their guests get.

Thank you Danna, and please keep up the excellent work.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear OZZX,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay with us at The Danna. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the service we provide. Our location is very ideal for a quiet and relax holiday. Harbour provides stunning view for an evening wine and dine. We really appreciate you rate us as the best hotel you have ever stayed. Please do tell your family & friends about us and we look forward to welcoming them and yourself in the near future.

With warm regards.
Pascal Masse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel scores highly as the location is great for those wanting to get away from it all. Situated next to the Harbour where you can find a supermarket, laundrette and a number of restaurants The Danna is simply beautiful. The bedrooms are stunning and the beds are very comfortable. The infinity pool is superb. Hotel breakfast is good lots of choice. Evening meals are expensive and tend to be buffet style but you can always get room service - Tiffin highly recommended, or you can eat out locally. The hotel staff are excellent and the kids club is good with plenty of activities for those aged up to 10. If you are looking for a true 5 Star hotel then this is it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Hagghill,

Thank you for your recent excellent review of your holiday experience at The Danna Langkawi. Our location is the place to be away from hustle and bustle; the Marina next to us always the best place for evening drinks. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, I will be sure to share your review and pass on your thanks to all the team here. Our Executive Chef will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed the quality of breakfast and Tiffin set. It gives me great pleasure to read that your holiday experience at The Danna has left such an impression on you, and I look forward to you joining us again.

With warm regards.
Pascal Masse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We recently stayed at the Danna for 7 nights to round off our honeymoon in Malaysia. We found the Danna to be of the upmost quality with an excellent room, an amazing pool and courteous and attentive staff. We were offered a choice of treats for our honeymoon including afternoon tea or a beach picnic. We were also given champagne and delicious chocolates in our room. We had a free room upgrade for staying 7 nights and as we booked early, we also received a 300 Ringgit credit on our account. We also visited the spa and were very happy with the massages and service we received there. Our only reservation was related to the cost of the food and evening buffets (although drinks prices reasonable and happy hour round pool from 5pm-7pm) which seems to encourage guests to go to the other nearby restaurants. However, overall we would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone, particularly people looking for a luxury break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear shakey_jake19,

Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay at The Danna Langkawi. With 7 nights honeymoon stay with us, you have managed to encapsulate many of the advantages that makes the hotel so special. The hotel is ideally situated for the leisure traveller within walking distance of many of Langkawi’s must-see sights, and easy access to a Langkawi night life-Pantai Chenang. All of our bedrooms are larger than average for Langkawi hotels. Some Travel Agent offering inventive to their customer such as long stay upgrade, special amenities in the room and some cash to your account for spending at The Danna, for all this I believe the credit should goes to your Travel Agent. We will pass on your compliments to the team, who will appreciate your feedback. We are really pleased you left us as happy customers and very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With warm regards.
Pascal Masse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia

Address: Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pantai Kok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated on a legendary island of Langkawi, Malaysia, The Danna Langkawi is a reflection of a timeless luxury vacation hotel that nestles against a backdrop of nature’s beauty. This 5-star luxury beachfront hotel in Langkawi offers an elite holiday experience, allowing you to find supreme comfort amidst an inviting ambience while admiring the unrivalled views of the white sandy beach, marina bay, sea and verdant green hills. Amid the solitude and serenity of the island, return to the heyday of the British empire and immerse yourself in colonial splendor, coupled with modern amenities and a dash of exotic intimacy. The distinct British colonial design of The Danna Langkawi is complimented by Malaysian influences that embrace the future while paying tribute to the past. The Danna Langkawi is the winner of TripAdvisor Traveler’s Choice, HAPA Platinum Service Excellence award,HAPA GOLD Resort of the Year award, HAPA GOLD Signature Luxury resort and Expedia Insiders' Select 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, AsiaRooms, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.