We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel in Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia to your Saves list
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35% Off and Daily Credit
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel in Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I recently stayed 9 nights at The Danna and would happily have stayed a month.

From my warm and wonderful greeting by Justine and Concierge staff to my sad send off from Sabaria and Lobby staff, all employees at The Danna were just fantastic. Without being intrusive the staff took a personal interest in their guests and this made my stay so much more enjoyable. I was travelling alone and it was wonderful getting to know the staff and having them know me by name. All staff were delightful, professional and extremely friendly. I was very pleased to meet Zamimah from Reservations as she was very helpful providing information prior to my stay at the hotel.

All areas of the hotel are very well maintained and the rooms are spacious, luxurious and spotless. Congratulations to Kamar and all the Housekeeping staff who do a fabulous job. I did appreciate their efforts in keeping my room so immaculate all the time.

I loved all areas of the hotel and the serene atmosphere. The pool is just divine - perfect water temperature, lovely spa and very comfortable banana lounges – important for me as I spent a lot of time at the pool. Pool staff are excellent and look after the guests extremely well at all times.

I had a two hour spa treatment which was first class all the way and a great start to my holiday. I would have returned for more treatments as they had a special offer on which was very reasonably priced but I ran out of time.

Longs walks along the beach are heavenly at The Danna and although the Hotel is about a 10 minute drive from Cenang Beach I loved the more quiet location, and it was no trouble getting a taxi to any destination. The Hotel is located next door to The Marina/Perdana Quay and there are a few very good restaurants/bars there if you wish to eat out of the hotel overlooking the Marina.

After watching the beautiful sunset on the beach my first evening I decided to eat in the hotel Dining Room. I was greeted by the very charming and efficient hostess/waitresses Sabaria, Selena and Lee and surprisingly by the most stunning piano playing. Selena’s food and wine recommendations were perfect and the food was delicious. All my meals in the hotel were of a high standard.

My first evening was quite magical being in such a lovely setting and listening to the wonderful resident pianist, Emzac. He is very talented and his love of music is heard in his playing. To my surprise and absolute delight Emzac was again at his piano the following morning during breakfast. Being spoilt with such beautiful piano playing during the breakfast and evening meals is another very special touch at The Danna. Thank you Emzac.

There are many unexpected surprises to be had during your stay at The Danna, you just have to visit this beautiful hotel to experience all its special treasures. I hope to return to Langkawi one day, and if I do, I would not hesitate to stay again at The Danna. A huge thank you to all The Danna staff for making my holiday absolute bliss.

Room Tip: Any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FMSF61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Fantastic hotel, everything was first class. made several other 5 star hotels in Malaysia look very average. Surpassed my expectations for service. Close to a great selection of restaurants, and tourist attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesmck89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We decided to go for a pre-paid all inclusive deal through Travel Republic and paid a total of£1,476 for a couple.

Unfortunately Travel Republic had different criteria for what was included and what was not. When we arrived at the hotel we were given a vague letter about inclusion criteria for an all-inclusive stay. During the whole of our stay nobody was sure what was included and what was not. So we proceeded to ask at every point during our stay what would be included and would not be included in our deal, which for us defeated the whole purpose of an all-inclusive holiday and completely spoiled the experience of staying at the hotel. We also got contradicting responses from different bars and restaurants about what was included.

Despite ensuring all the items were included at every restaurant and bar we attended we still ended up with a bill to pay for extras, including mineral water, mocktails and cocktails. We did dispute this at check-out and after half an hour of dispute they decided to discount part of the bill, which we had to settle for otherwise we would have missed our flight. Overall a very disappointing experience for what was supposed to be a relaxing, trouble-free end to our holiday.

Room Tip: Do not go for an all-inclusive deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bhupinder T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

From the moment you arrive at the Danna you know that you made a wonderful choice.
Welcome drink, refresher towel & shoulder massage on check in.... this is a fabulous hotel.
We booked a merchant room and paid to have an additional bed/breakfast for our son. The room was beautiful. It was serviced daily and then refreshed in the early evening. We received fresh fruit and mineral water every day.
Alot of our time was spent at the pool in the afternoons. Complimentary snacks are bought round hourly. You can also have a massage by the pool.
Breakfast was wonderful - eye openers (shot glass with mixtures of juice) to start, coffees made to order, champagne if you wish. The buffet is continental and a very good variety and then a menu for the hot breakfast which changes daily.
The location of the Danna is superb and you are right next to the marina which has a convenience & liquor store (very cheap beer), laundry, coffee/bakery and many restaurants to choose from in the Evening. Our best meal was at Privilege, this is located upstairs at the marina.
Within walking distance is also a Maybank which you can exchange your currency (around from the marina, next to the Fuel Station).
We can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedabbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have checked into the Pelangi Resort after spending 3 great nights at The Dana Hotel. The whole experience was perfect from check into check out. I think we were upgraded from a Merchant Room to a Grand Merchant Room which was excellent with everything you could want. Would highly recommend this Hotel as now staying at Pelangi we are hoping that our stay will be just as nice. Make sure you enjoy happy hour in the Verandah Bar with Barman Murthy!

Room Tip: We had Room 443 with great views or mountains and some sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe8561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed there for a night with my husband..
No reservation made earlier but they welcome us with open hand and heart..
Felt so much welcome and appreciated..
Eventhough they bit pricey but worth every penny u spend because of the good services and hospitality..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aezmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at The Danna for a week and had a great time. Mind you, we were there at low season, so the hotel was less than half full. We therefore did not encounter any issues re beds at the swimming pool as reported in previous reviews. In fact, we had every day plenty of choice where to lie down.
The hotel opened only in December 2010, so everything is modern and still in good condition.
We had a standard Merchant room, which was great! Plenty of room, colonial style furniture and a fabulous bed. The bathroom was huge with a separate bath and shower and all the ammenities you expect in a 5 star hotel. In line with the current fashion, the bathroom is in open connection with the bedroom, although there are sliding doors / blinds. Also the toilet is not in a separate space.
The airco works well, but it is freezing cold and we could not adjust the temperature; it seemed that the airco is either on or off. We found it anyway very chilly in the public areas of the hotel, as well as in the Planters restaurant. In our view, the airco could be turned some 5 degrees lower.
Breakfast is great with a huge variety next to cooked dishes on order.
The infinity swimming pool is marvellous and so is the spa (great massage) and the gym.
We had only one dinner at the Planters restaurant, where the starter was promising, but the main course (fresh seafood) disappointed us, so we decided to go out for the rest of our stay. We followed recommendations from the concierge as well as reviews at Tripadvisor.
Service was good and the concierges do their utmost to accommodate your needs. We booked several excursions through the concierge and all worked out well (mangrove trip and snorkeling).
We also booked taxis through the hotel, but that was a mixed experience: sometimes we got a very old and shabby cab from just around the corner and sometimes it was good.
The hotel is built in a colonial style with plenty of open space and quite some different areas. Nevertheless we found that the hotel lacked a soul, as we missed a social place to have a drink after dinner, a cosy bar or a terrace (although there is the Verandah, but that is inside and there were hardly any guests later in the evening).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Kok
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
4.0 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
3.5 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
The Datai Langkawi
#2 of 99 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 15 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 stars 1,877 reviews
10.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
12.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#7 of 99 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia

Address: Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated on a legendary island of Langkawi, Malaysia, The Danna Langkawi is a reflection of a timeless luxury vacation hotel that nestles against a backdrop of nature’s beauty. This 5-star luxury beachfront hotel in Langkawi offers an elite holiday experience, allowing you to find supreme comfort amidst an inviting ambience while admiring the unrivalled views of the white sandy beach, marina bay, sea and verdant green hills. Amid the solitude and serenity of the island, return to the heyday of the British empire and immerse yourself in colonial splendor, coupled with modern amenities and a dash of exotic intimacy. The distinct British colonial design of The Danna Langkawi is complimented by Malaysian influences that embrace the future while paying tribute to the past. The Danna Langkawi is the winner of TripAdvisor Traveler’s Choice, HAPA Platinum Service Excellence award,HAPA GOLD Resort of the Year award, HAPA GOLD Signature Luxury resort and Expedia Insiders' Select 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Otel, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing