We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia

Save Saved
You added The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
fromUSD267 with breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pantai Kok
Muscat
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for a holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went To Danna with our two daughters (15 & 11) for 5 days, it was our first time in Malaysia and in Langkawi. It was very difficult to make a decision on the hotel, so we read all the reviews on TA, Booking.com and Hotels.com., and finally picked The Danna. The staff (Ahmed) on check-in was very helpful and friendly. The rooms are specious, bathrooms are huge. The partition between the room and the bathroom is a wooden sliding shatters (jalousie style) won’t give any privacy, so be careful when using the toilet . We had the sea view, it was wonderful to watch boats, and the sky line changing with the weather. I liked the marina view, but they didn’t have the interconnecting rooms for our family on that wing. The breakfast was little unorganised, but I general service staff are trying their best. It’s better to go earlier – before 9am – it won’t be that busy, and you’ll get everything in time. The nearest small town with a lot of small shops and restaurants is just a few minutes’ drive. If you don’t want to take a taxi, there are around 6-7 restaurant on the marina side. We had dinner two times in “Tapas” (very good food!) and one time in Italian (was O.K.). The cable car is very close to the hotel, and also Seven wells waterfall, which I would recommend to visit. The location of the hotel is perfect, I would definitely recommend to stay there. Out of curiosity we went to check recommended Casa del Mar and Berjaya, and we were happy that we chose The Danna – it’s much-much better than those two!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Emiliya,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Danna langkawi
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and have communicated your comments to all our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in future,

Warm regards,
Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,137
    160
    44
    9
    4
See reviews for
367
710
30
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Perfect hotel. Great location. Having a great time at the pool eating pizza and playing in the pool when they start shutting down! Our son was so disappointed. What a shame. Not worth the money when we can't enjoy an evening in the pool by the beach

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear mommoves,

Thank you very much for your review. Your constructive comments are taken on board and being worked on. Thank you for choosing The Danna Langkawi as your retreat destination and waiting for you on your next visit.
Kind regards
Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a great honeymoon staying at The Danna in Langkawi over the Easter weekend. The hotel is only 20 minutes drive away from the airport, so you can jump into their gorgeous swimming pool within an hour after you have landed at the airport!

The hotel is very clean, staff is friendly and the food is good. The breakfast buffet is plentiful and various choices to choose from.

There were a few minor requests which we had to call housekeeping to sort out, but they didn't pull our spirit down. The lock of the sliding door in the bathroom onto the balcony was broken and left on the floor and the other sliding door couldn't be locked also. The hairdryer wire was loose and I've also noticed the bath tub tap had a gap with the bath tub itself, so these minor errors do make you think they could have had it all checked through first. We also arranged for a morning call for our early flight in the morning, but unfortunately this wasn't made on the day of our departure. But this is OK for us as we are usually pretty good in setting our own alarm and had only arranged the morning call as a back up.

We had a very relaxing two hour spa treatment as part of the Spa Indulgence programme. This is very good and the staff is experienced. I've also arranged to have manicure and pedicure straight after, which surprisingly is below average in my experience. The nail polish were chipped and deterioriated the next day after swimming in the sea. This is rather disappointing and I really didn't want to spend another hour to get it fixed in the spa when I wanted to capture more sunshine before we leave the next morning. This must be quite a popular spa treatment and they should perhaps provide the option of shellac nail polish in order to avoid this. As the spa staff had put an eye mask on me, I couldn't tell if they had put the base coat, 2 x nail polish and the top coat in order to seal the nail polish properly. I hope that they will look into this for the future customers' sake.

We were hoping to have more pool side and beach staff to ensure guests have easy access to order food and drinks, as it took a while to get their attention and on a few occassion we just got up to order the drinks ourselves instead.

We spoke to a new staff called Faizal who was wonderful and very attentive. He had arranged a bottle of champagne for our arrival and a chocolate cake, which were very much appreciated. He has a good vibe and has some good ideas about improving the service level even higher, which will only do great for The Danna.

We will definitely come back to stay, but the hotel management should perhaps ensure that housekeeping staff go through all the minor details with care in order to keep up with their rival (Four Seasons).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Brownbirdlondon,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us but I am sorry to read the disappointment that you have encountered during your manicure/pedicure treatment. We are committed to continuously enhance our guest experience and I have passed on these comments to our Spa Manager for correction.
Thank you for your kind feedback in regards to the employees and the food. I do hope that my team and I will have the pleasure to welcome you again at The Danna.

Warm regards
Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Spent 5 days there. From 24th march to the 29th march 2013. Was a business holiday. Service was excellent with friendly faces all the way. Staff made the stay really hassle free and ALL needs were full filled. I had VIP guests that was pampered and their wants again was full filled by the staff. A board room was used for meetings and again friendly staff and professional amenities were available for my VIPs. Though the hotel at that time was 99% full the rush and bustle of a normal hotel was not experienced. The colonial setting gave a gave a majestic ambiance to a a casual seaside and poolside and dining area. The hotel is in a shape of a square/rectangle and the center courtyard is filled with trees and greenery, with pools filled with carp and other fishes. Even at the highest level (5th floor) the gold/orange carps stand out and give a truly Malaysian feeling. A hotel is a hotel the difference is the people and The Danna staff stand out miles above the rest. Well done and thanks for a wonderful holiday!!

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the sea front... a view to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Theo MKN,

Thank you for your lovely review post your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful experience at our hotel. I have communicated your words of praise to my team and we are certain that this will assist us in achieving higher standards of excellence in future.

Once again thank you for your wonderful feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Danna for another memorable holiday.
Warm regards
Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

What a lovely hotel. The staff were spot on, very courteous and always willing to help. The rooms were spotless and we could not recommend this hotel highly enough. We stayed for 7 nights on our honeymoon and everything about the place was perfect. The staff could not do enough for us.

Room Tip: We had a viceroy ocean view room, lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed for 10 nights and have nothing but praise for the hotel and the staff. We were made to feel like royalty and hardly had to open a door for the whole time we were there! It was my birthday during the visit and my partner arranged breakfast in bed, the hotel made it special by giving us complimentary bubbly and a birthday cake.

The view from the pool is stunning and the long white beach is just a stroll away. Complimentary water and fruit entice you to laze around the pool on very comfortable sun beds. One minor complaint is the lack of showers around the pool area - consequently the pool can sometimes get an oily sheen from the sun creams and oils that guests do not wash off.

Food in the hotel is expensive compared to local prices but not compared to European prices. Restaurants nearby offer a very good alternative.

Visit Mupthy in the Bar and try one of his cocktails. A genuinely nice guy with a passion for his work!

Would we go back again - yes without a doubt :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have many compliments for the hotel. Staff is very good, facilities very well maintain and room is very nicely layer out.

Restaurant menu is very limited with prices way too high. Quality of food is average. However I cannot recommend the hotel as there is no specific character or any local flavor. It is just another 5 star hotel. Food across the marina is much better however for beaches next to Marina usually has its limitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia

Address: Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pantai Kok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated on a legendary island of Langkawi, Malaysia, The Danna Langkawi is a reflection of a timeless luxury vacation hotel that nestles against a backdrop of nature’s beauty. This 5-star luxury beachfront hotel in Langkawi offers an elite holiday experience, allowing you to find supreme comfort amidst an inviting ambience while admiring the unrivalled views of the white sandy beach, marina bay, sea and verdant green hills. Amid the solitude and serenity of the island, return to the heyday of the British empire and immerse yourself in colonial splendor, coupled with modern amenities and a dash of exotic intimacy. The distinct British colonial design of The Danna Langkawi is complimented by Malaysian influences that embrace the future while paying tribute to the past. The Danna Langkawi is the winner of TripAdvisor Traveler’s Choice, HAPA Platinum Service Excellence award,HAPA GOLD Resort of the Year award, HAPA GOLD Signature Luxury resort and Expedia Insiders' Select 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, AsiaRooms, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.