We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They knew we were there:)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia to your Saves list
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
fromUSD267 with breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“They knew we were there:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at the Danna in December 2012 with our 3 teenagers & another family ,9 of us in total . A smaller hotel which was great as could always get a spot at poolside no queues & still large enough to have every comfort .The rooms were wonderful & large ,the pool & other amenities were amazing & the people (staff) were the kindest I have come across & we have travelled alot ... Not to mention the food :) The whole experience I would definately recomend. Langkawi was relaxing when you wanted to relax & heaps to do when you were ready to get up & go ! Felt like a princess ...the only way to holiday :)

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to travel when there was a deal & were upgraded to Viceroy Marina View - B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Lisa H
Thank you very much for your favorable comments about your stay and wonderful food. One of the best features about The Danna, is the perfect balance of the Malaysian hospitality and natural surroundings combining beach/forest/marina into the beautiful setting of the Colonial style build hotel. We are very grateful that we could share a piece of nature with you during your stay and exceed your expectation.

I do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thanks again for being our guest
Warm regards
Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,274
    180
    47
    9
    4
See reviews for
415
786
34
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

It was a beautiful hotel with wonderful facilities and lovely staff that were friendly, cheerful and made me feel so very welcome.

The beach was straight out of a postcard, the rooms are grand with character and charm and the breakfast is a real treat.

I would highly recommend the place to anyone looking to visit the beautiful island of Langkawi.

Trust me, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

What a great hotel to stay in before having to go back to London. Take it from two over 60,s it is a true 5 Star experience. We are here at the moment and the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. The choices of food for breakfast are more than enough to cater for most tastes and they will go out of their way to make something if you cannot find something to eat. The hotel itself may not look much from the outside but it is truly stunning inside and the rooms are very spacious and well appointed with free wifi.

The infinity swimming pool is amazing and warm and overlooks the beach and the sea which is also warm.

You are not cut off like over reviewers have said. There are a number of restaurants outside the main entrance. You walk down the stairs outside the main entrance and turn right and walk diagonally towards the little marina. Along the marina there are a number of different restaurants that are reasonably priced and once agin cater for differing tastes.

If you want to you can get a taxi for 26Ringgits to the main town about 30 minutes away and then you have a choice of many many bars and restaurants and shops.

We did a Mangrove Swamp trip and were amazed at how interesting and good fun it was. Booked it through the hotel for 160 Ringgits per person and think it was good value. We did see the same trip being sold in the main town for 90Ringgits. It's up to you whether you want to go into town to book the trip or take the easy way and let the hotel do it for you

You can hire a car for about 135Ringgits for the day plus 25Ringgits for a tank of fuel which will should see you through the day.

All in all a great hotel to chill out in before strung to the cold of England!

Room Tip: We are in room 214 which overlooks the splendid gardens, and you can actually get a glimpse of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatar
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked there for 3 nights and it was our first time for us to visit Langkawi.

The overall quality of the stay was good, but not outstanding, there is a lack of consistency in the quality of some services, while for example there is a 24 hours house-keeping and room service, some of the concierge staff didn't have full information about some attractions in Langkawi, also we faced a problem with transportation planning where we had to wait for 1 hour in the sun for a car to pick us up.

In our final night we found a small lizard in the room, the hotel staff acted very quickly and changed the room for us.

The food isn't great but the location of the hotel was good because there were around 5 good restaurants nearby.

We liked the beach and the swimming pool and the overall attitude of the staffing was welcoming and willing.

In my view, this is a 4 stars hotel and not 5 stars, we have stayed in many 5 stars hotels around the world and also in Malaysia, this was not a 5 stars hotel.

We wouldn't stay in it again and we would opt in for a well-known hotel brands in Langkawi.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I was glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay but I was sad and sorry to read that some of our services were inconsistent. I note your comments in regards to the food quality and the car pick up however you excursion pick up was not organized by the hotel. Whilst I am never proud to know that we have disappointed a guest, I am always grateful for the feedback so that we can improve. Please do accept our sincere apologies.

Kind regards,
Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked The Danna on the strength of other reviews and were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived, we relaxed! It would be hard not too. The staff were so friendly, welcoming and could not do enough for us. The small Marina area outside the hotel has excellent bars and restaurants, and we tried most of these - all good, and very competitively priced. We were upgraded to a Viceroy Marina room which we would happily select in future. Nice views, and importantly, very quiet. If you're looking for a good sized pool with stunning views, this is it.

The only downside was the early morning rush for sunbeds - there are simply not enough, although plenty of space - which is annoying when part of the fun of being on holiday is not having to get up early! We also wouldn't bother with the seafood poolside buffet again - very overpriced and not good value. These are small glitches however.

Overall, fantastic though and we'd definitely book The Danna again.

Room Tip: Viceroy Marina - lovely views and quieter, more private balconies than the sea views/pool view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just returned from Langkawi staying at The Danna. We were very impressed with the hotel and staff, the staff were particularly attentive and very polite in every way. On our arrival, we were given a cold drink and a cold towel. We mentioned that it was my wife's birthday and found a lovely chocolate cake in our room, later on in the week we found a bottle of wine thanking us for staying at the hotel and then to our surprise, we were given a small tin of chocolates when we left.The breakfast was inclusive of the cost and made the holiday, with a veriety of foods from around the world. each day including a menu of different egg and waffle dishes.
Added to the above, was the wonderful Colonial Style built hotel, the fantastic infinity pool and the white sandy beach beyond. The cleanliness of the holel was exceptional.
We would suggest however that the hotel restaurant prices could be more competitive with the local restaurants, as it was often empty in the evening. Also we would like to have had more variety of entertainment in the evening, the same couple played each evening. Notwithstanding this, it would not put us off returning again.

Room Tip: Rooms on Marina side are very tranquil with a lovely view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Like a few reviews on here we left the hotel after our 10 night stay overall very happy i suppose for what we paid it was a reasonable 5 star experience after all if you wanted a 5 star deluxe experience which this hotel is not it would cost you considerably more .

The rooms a viceroy marina are very well appointed clean,modern & housekeeping was very quick & efficient however after 2 days we did have to move rooms due to a wi fi problem after numerous visits by their tech guys & a little inconveinience to ourselves the problem was eventually solved but we were also kindly offered to change to a sea view room which we accepted for the rest of our stay this room also had a few niggles, problems with a sink plug a front door which you had to make sure you pulled or pushed closed whenever you entered or left the room we did not report these faults as they were very minor & we just wanted to get on with our holiday.

The pool area potentially could be a little better a few more sunbeds more outside shower areas a lot of the guests simply jumped in the pool covered in sweat & sun tan lotion this made the pool water slightly murky & not always so inviting. The pool service was very low key & they were not at all pushy regarding drinks every now & again someone would come round with a bottle of warm water or a little snack this in our opinion was a little half hearted ie you would get offered a warm bowl of fruit salad & a small spring roll every day it was a little repetitive & not quite worth doing in our opinion i have had better offerings at other hotels in the past a cold towel & some cold ice sorbets instead maybe & would be good if the water could have been served cold !

Restaurant choices were very limited just the coffee shop really again the pool area did not have its own restauarant proper all the food came from the one kitchen breakfast was good on almost too much choice however service at breakfast was erratic some days good & some days we were totally ignored we had dinner one night in coffee shop & it lacked atmosphere possibly due to the high prices being charged £22.00 for beef rendang 3 ways although delicious was excessive on price & £25 for an average bottle of sauvignon blanc which was served tepid was also a little overpriced luckily there was a couple of good restaurants on the marina which were better value & most evenings they were filled with guests from the hotel a word of advise to the F & B management be more competitive with the marina outlets & facilities & you would make more revenue in the hotel, people are not stupid.

The spa tucked away on the 5th floor is not too impressive honestly there are so many impressive spas in Asia & this is not one of them i was told you had to book in advance to use the very small steam room in other words they had to have prior notice so they could turn it on also no sauna or whirlpools so ended up never visiting it. The gym which is next door is adequate if a little small.

We did book an excursion with hotel on one occasion & it is a lot heftier on price than if you book the exact same tour indepenently on our second excursion we booked it direct & it worked out a lot cheaper however we feel the hotel does not like you booking excursions yourself as we found it difficult for them on the second occasion to offer us towels & call us a taxi it felt very much a case of if your booking a tour yourself they dont want to know !

To summarize the hotel staff are overall very good we checked in early & checked out late on both occasions this was never a problem so fair play to them on that score it was much appreciated after & before our long flights. Where this hotel does lack is on a little atmosphere & is a little cold also information/ communication to guests could be better for instance it took us 3 days to find out that there was a second happy hour in the main bar 7 till 9 & their theme buffet nights by the pool again a little overpriced should have been promoted better sureley information like this should be placed in the rooms along with a daily hotel news letter etc all in all a great holiday & a nice hotel would we return possibly although we would say it is not the best 5 star hotel but by no where near the worst we have stayed in Asia !

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are better than marina view worth that bit extra if you like a view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia

Address: Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated on a legendary island of Langkawi, Malaysia, The Danna Langkawi is a reflection of a timeless luxury vacation hotel that nestles against a backdrop of nature’s beauty. This 5-star luxury beachfront hotel in Langkawi offers an elite holiday experience, allowing you to find supreme comfort amidst an inviting ambience while admiring the unrivalled views of the white sandy beach, marina bay, sea and verdant green hills. Amid the solitude and serenity of the island, return to the heyday of the British empire and immerse yourself in colonial splendor, coupled with modern amenities and a dash of exotic intimacy. The distinct British colonial design of The Danna Langkawi is complimented by Malaysian influences that embrace the future while paying tribute to the past. The Danna Langkawi is the winner of TripAdvisor Traveler’s Choice, HAPA Platinum Service Excellence award,HAPA GOLD Resort of the Year award, HAPA GOLD Signature Luxury resort and Expedia Insiders' Select 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Hotel.de, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.