We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing but the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia

Save Saved
You added The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
fromUSD267 with breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pantai Kok
Beijing
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nothing but the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Danna is the best hotel I've ever stayed, the room is so clean and spacious, the staff is so friendly and helpful. The hotel provide room service 2 times per day and there are plenty of free bottled water & fruits. If you stay around the swimming pool or the beach, you can enjoy the free snacks every morning & afternoon as well. Although all these free things are actually not expensive, they do make you feel really happy and comfortable.

The scenery of Danna hotel is excellent, if you stand at the front door of cafeteria and look outside, it's absolutely paradise, that's just what I imagined for a tropical beach!

Thanks to everyone working in the Danna, you gave me the best memory of Malaysia!

Room Tip: Even the cheapest room will also have the best quality!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,093
    153
    42
    9
    4
See reviews for
344
694
27
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Best place ever!! Went on our honeymoon, people are so nice they'll do everything to please you.
Amenities are awesome, beach is very nice It's public but no one bothers you.
Best choice in langkawi
The rooms are great the, like new.
The place is like a paradise so quiet, very tranquil.
Best place to relax.
It's located 5 min form the sky bridge

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

The Danna in one word... Perfection!!! There is not a bad thing we could say about this hotel. We are here on the second leg of our honeymoon!! The rooms, pool area, hotel and staff are all first class!!! If we were to return to Langkawi we would not hesitate in staying here again!! the location is away from the 2 main tourist areAs but this is something that adds to it all! As its just a short taxi ride yet it's good to escape the craziness!! And right across from the resort is a great strip of restaurants set on a Marina!!! Try the seafood at the Golden Wok.. You WILL NOT be disappointed!! All in all... Amazing!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We’ve never written a review on a hotel before but The Danna provided us with such an enjoyable and pleasant two week stay we felt we must share our experience. A massive thank you to the wonderful, attentive staff who made such a great effort to ensure our time was well spent and for the personal touches like decorating our room with balloons whilst we were at breakfast when it was our son’s birthday.

The rooms, spa, pool, food etc – especially breakfast are all terrific and we really can’t find fault. I could go on and on about how great everything was!

We are so happy we chose to stay at the Danna and would go back in heart-beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Loved this place, just what we needed on our way home to Australia from Europe. We had 4 days of pure relaxation. Merchant room was large and very comfortable. Infinity pool is fantastic and when we were there it was very uncrowded in pool and on the beach. Beach is lovely for a walk, not sure i would swim in it, lots of stiners around. Went kyaking around bay which was great fun. Breakfast was good and the champagne is included. Staff are excellent and so caring will definitely come back to this awesome place. There are some excellent cheap restaurants on the marina at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We knew we had picked the perfect holiday destination as soon as we told the cab driver where we were staying and he replied "the best hotel on the whole island" and he was right. We stayed for 6 nights in November - our only week holiday for the year - and it could not have been at a better place!

I have stayed at a lot of hotels for work and pleasure and my partner used to work for a 5 star hotel chain and this is by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in. As soon as you arrive you check in by sitting on relaxing couches (not at a desk) and receive a welcome drink, cold towel and free neck massage. The service at the hotel was the best we have ever experienced. Every single staff member was friendly and gentle and willing to help in any way possible. By the end of the trip my partner wanted to wear a badge that said "thank-you" because they kept doing so much for us that every few minutes we were saying thank-you to everyone!

We had a sea view viceroy room - and I couldn’t imagine a better view - overlooking the pool and the sea just like in the website - if you can afford it I would book this room as it tops of the holiday and you can sit on the balcony even if it is raining and still enjoy the amazing view! The rooms and beds are huge, with a beautiful rain shower, double sink, separate bath and 4 poster bed. We brought our own wine duty free and the room service gave us glasses and checked we had a bottle opener and a bucket of ice so we could enjoy it on our balcony.

The pool is huge and clean- we could do laps in it to help work off the amazing breakfast. My favourite lounge chairs were the ones that actually sat in the shallow water of the pool in the Jacuzzi! So you could put your feet straight in the water. After 12pm the pool boys would bring round free bottles of water, then usually an hour later cold towels, they would ring a bell on the hour and bring around free treats such as mango sorbet, spring rolls and custard tarts! So you could have a big breakfast - complimentary snacks by the pool, skip lunch and have dinner.

We organised a private dinner on the beach where they served us champagne, char grilled lobster, prawns and seafood and cooked it in front of you while you watched the sunset - spectacular! Sasi was our chef and pool boy and cooked all our food and was amazing, he wanted to take pictures of us enjoying our dinner and acted as our personal photographer - he was so pleasant and really looked after us. Parti (like a Party - as he explained) was our concierge and was fantastic organising our dinner for us and suggestions of restaurants. A few times I thought I was going to the concierge to book dinner etc and later found out I was actually talking to the accounts people - but they never said anything and happily booked dinner - even though they were a little unsure and two days later realised I was asking the wrong person - but the never said a thing and just found out the information for you.

Only small downfall was it was slightly secluded, so if you like a bit of shopping and different restaurants its about a 30minute taxi ride in (which we ended up doing a few nights as we like exploring new restaurants) it was still extremely cheap (around $8AUD each way) but we were always happy to get back to our hotel which looked so much nicer and cleaner than the ones in town. That way you get the best of both worlds.

Champagne was complimentary at breakfast and its amazing how quickly you get used to having it with your eggs! Half of the menu (hot food) was a la carte with healthy options like egg white omelettes so you knew it was fresh and you had a huge selection of pastries, western breakfast and Asian brekky. The waiters happily topped up our champagne glasses - as soon as you go up to pour it yourself they get you to sit down and offer to bring it to your table.

Note about coffee - they will offer you coffee and tea at breakfast, and if you ask for coffee they will bring you drip style coffee, but if you ask for a latte etc they will bring you a proper coffee like at home at no extra charge when ordered at breakfast.

We at out of the restaurant every night - just because we like trying the local food and there was a great row of restaurants at the marina next door - a mere 30metre walk - so convenient if you want a light snack or a cheaper dinner. We had dinner at privilege restaurant at the marina which is rated one of the top restaurants on the islands and was amazing, it included palate cleansers between each meal, and amazing traditional Malay food. We especially loved the tapas restaurant at the marina with yummy tuna steaks freshly cooked with dips, warm bread and cold beer - all really reasonably priced!

There is also a convenience shop and a place that will wash dry and fold your clothes for about $7 AUD for a couple of kg of washing - we did it on the second last day so everything was clean when we got home and no washing required.

Finally happy hour was from 5pm-7pm around the pool and it was still hot and light enough to swim in the pool and drink delicious cocktails! Even if you went up to the bar to get a menu, they insisted that you go back to your pool lounge look at the menu and they will bring the drinks over.

When it was time to leave we were extremely sad and wish we had stayed longer. Our flight back home wasn't until 830pm - they offered us a late checkout of 3pm which was fantastic and said we could keep enjoying the facilities until it was time to go and have a shower in the spa that is set up for when guests leave late. This was just such a great touch as we didn't have to worry about being all packed up at 11am with nowhere to go.

Finally, when checking out we received a "goodbye drink and gift" to say thank-you for the stay. It was truly the best experience. I had read so many reviews before our holiday I felt it was necessary to express how great the hotel was and we would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the seaview room - the garden views look nice, but it if you are staying at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Wow! from the minute we arrived to when we left it was excellent. The rooms look just like the pictures with a comfortable bed. The infinity pool is fantastic with the only worry being that the water gets a little warm in the late afternoon, too perfect for lazing with a cocktail!

The view off the beach is excellent for sunset and couples can arrange a private dinner on the beach.

Dinner and breakfasts had great selection and the food was good quality. We found the prices really reasonable at the hotel.

Staff are exceptional and the service stayed at outstanding level for the entire week. We were so impressed as I find this level of service rare.

If you want a great property that is away from the town then this is perfect. People who are in langkawi to party or meet other singles may find it isolated.

We will be going back to the Danna and highly recommend the property.

Enjoy your travels!
Louise

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia

Address: Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pantai Kok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated on a legendary island of Langkawi, Malaysia, The Danna Langkawi is a reflection of a timeless luxury vacation hotel that nestles against a backdrop of nature’s beauty. This 5-star luxury beachfront hotel in Langkawi offers an elite holiday experience, allowing you to find supreme comfort amidst an inviting ambience while admiring the unrivalled views of the white sandy beach, marina bay, sea and verdant green hills. Amid the solitude and serenity of the island, return to the heyday of the British empire and immerse yourself in colonial splendor, coupled with modern amenities and a dash of exotic intimacy. The distinct British colonial design of The Danna Langkawi is complimented by Malaysian influences that embrace the future while paying tribute to the past. The Danna Langkawi is the winner of TripAdvisor Traveler’s Choice, HAPA Platinum Service Excellence award,HAPA GOLD Resort of the Year award, HAPA GOLD Signature Luxury resort and Expedia Insiders' Select 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, Tingo, AsiaRooms, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.