We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal peaceful holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lumbylaw Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edlingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lumbylaw Cottages
Save
You added Lumbylaw Cottages to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Lumbylaw Farm, Edlingham, Alnwick, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An ideal peaceful holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed at Garden cottage at Lumbylaw Farm. It is a 1 bedroom cottage, ideal for a romantic holiday, surrounded by a working farm, beautiful views, wonderful walks, and lots of places to visit. Sally & Robert were extremely helpful and the cottage was beautifully furnished. Northumberland really is an ideal mix of peaceful walks and varied & interesting places of interest. Marvellous scenery and castles, interspersed with lovely villages & small towns with delicious restaurants and pubs! Lumbylaw is the perfect place to come back to after a day out, or an ideal place to while away an afternoon watching the birds in the garden and meandering around the lanes near the farm.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

A cottage that has everything just right (comfort, homeliness, snugness, as well as two stunning panoramas); a situation that is perfect on foot or for short journeys (the unspoilt coast is about 10 miles away, you can't move for castles, lovely and quirky destinations in Cragside, Rothbury, etc); remote without being isolated, rugged vistas without being overly bleak. Sally is lovely, and we're very grateful for the chance to stay somewhere so special.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We stayed one week at this lovely place near Alnwick. The cottage itself is in the middle of a beutifull countryside on a working pedigree farm. It has 3 spacious bedrooms and is well catered for. There is also a private garden where you can enjoy views of Edlingham Castle or the Northumbrian countryside.

Mrs. Lee, the host is very friendly and welcomed us with flowers in the cottage. She was also very flexible in leeting us in early so we could out our little girl in bed for her afternoon sleep.

The location is perfect to make visits to Northumbria NP, the Northumbrian coast, Newcastle and you can even reach Edinburgh or the Borders region within one day.

All together a very nice base to enjoy the most northern part of England.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Everybody, I believe, has a special place. For us, Lumbylaw is that place. We have visited many times over the years and originally stayed in the larger self catering cottage. In recent years, we have travelled alone and have stayed in the one bedroom Garden Cottage. Both experiences have been fantastic.
The location is brilliant. I can still remember the first time I saw the farm. After driving through driving rain, we entered a sun bathed wooded valley. The sun picked out three white stone constructions, a medieval church and castle and a disused viaduct, all clustered together around the village of Edlingham. What a joy to then discover that the farm was situated only a few hundred yards from the farm.
Sally and Robert are perfect hosts. Helpful and minds of information, but never intrusive.
There are fantastic attractions nearby in Alnwick and Rothbury. Great walks around Simonside and a short scenic drive away, Wallington House and Belsay House, both worth a visit.
The coast is remarkbly close as well, BamburghCastle, Warkworth Castle, Holy Island and the Farne Islands, all worth a visit.
So, if you want plenty to do, and then to be able to 'come home' to peace and tranquility and the best night skies ever, look no further.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

It doesn’t matter how many times we go back there’s always something to do at Lumbylaw Farm. For the children it’s Alnwick Castle, just down the road, where they filmed Harry Potter (remember the Quidditch match!!) as well as the fantastic Victorian railway arches and trackbed within walking distance of the cottages where you can wander through some of the loveliest scenery in the whole of England. And for all the family you’re within walking-boot distance of the fabulous ruins of 12th Century Edlingham Castle and the beautifully kept church of St John the Baptist which pre-dates the Normans. It’s easy to see why this particular bit of England’s green and pleasant was fought over time and time again; the history lives in the land to this day.

Suddenly you’re in the middle of nowhere, on a working farm with some the most contented cows Jane and I have ever seen: acres of rolling green as far as the eye can see and a hypnotic peace that coats you like chocolate. Cragside (National Trust) is v close with its amazing Upstairs Downstairs-type house, gardens and working industrial machinery circuit and up the coast towards Berwick we drove the car across the sea-soaked causeway into Lindisfarne aka Holy Island for the story of early Christianity and one of the most beautiful domestic castles we’ve ever seen. The tide will cut you off if you’re not careful, but the pubs offer a warm welcome, in case you’re really unlucky and HAVE to stay.

There’s Woodhorn Colliery about half an hour away (FREE entry!!!), jam-packed with the history of coal mining and what it was like to work down the pits and in Alnwick itself there’s Barter Books, the BEST and what feels like the biggest second-hand bookshop in the world, some brilliant (and inexpensive) eateries and a terrific pint of Black Sheep bitter.

No wonder guests book for next year as soon as they arrive: Sally and Robert make you feel really at home. The cottages are spotless and the welcome’s as warm as anywhere we’ve ever been. I loved that there were plenty of books and suggestions on where to go and what to see. How long would it take to see everything that this extraordinary and ancient borderland has to offer? Well, someone had written in the Visitors Book: “Eighth time!!!” That’s how long, I guess. We’ll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lumbylaw Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumbylaw Cottages

Address: Lumbylaw Farm, Edlingham, Alnwick, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Edlingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Edlingham
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumbylaw Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst picturesque Cheviot and Simonside Hills our two self-catering holiday cottages are situated on our organic beef and sheep farm. Walk in grounds which feature medieval Castle and five-arch Victorian viaduct over the valley. The cottages are adjacent to hamlet of Edlingham and are a perfect location to explore delights of Northumberland both coastal and inland. Lumbylaw Cottage - 6 people (3 bedrooms,2 bathrooms); Garden Cottage - 2 people (one double bedroom). ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lumbylaw Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.