We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breamish Valley Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Powburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Breamish Valley Cottages
Save
You added Breamish Valley Cottages to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   | Branton, Powburn, Alnwick NE66 4LW , England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Redcar, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Our 3rd visit to these lovely cottages. Previously stayed in Castle Close which is excellent, however, this time decided to try Comby Hills. Comby Hills is one of the newer cottages and is very spacious and decorated to a high standard. This cottage benefits from getting the sun on the morning through the large picture windows. There are patio doors onto the lawned area and thankfully the weather when we stayed was very sunny and allowed us to sit outside at times for coffee. The pool was great , though the spa bath was far too hot to enjoy, needs turning down a couple of degrees. This holiday is ideal for those wanting a quiet base to tour the local areas, or those wanting to have a healthy week walking in the local area or using the fitness suite and pool area. Highly recommend these cottages. Many thanks for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Lets start this with an admission, before Breamish Valley Cottages I didn't do holiday cottages, I spent my vacation time in big & expensive hotels, but hey a week in Breamish and I am convert.

Very well designed, beautifully furnished, extremely professionally managed and all in a perfect position to tour Northumberland, what more could a little fella ask for.

The ability to visit for example Craster, pick up an big bag of scallops, drive back to the cottage in the evening and enjoy scallops and a bottle of wine in front of a blazing log fire, now thats relaxation.

I should also add that one of the true measures of the quality of a venue is what happens when things go wrong, in our case the heating and water system failed while we were staying. No fault of the owners, technology breaks. However the speed & efficiency of the staff, owners and even the plumber were a credit to them, what could have been a disaster became merely something to smile about.
So thank you Breamish Valley Cottages for a job well done, I am converted

Room Tip: Just ask the owners, all of the cottages are excellent some are just bigger than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at Hemmel House which is a truly wonderful find. The location is second to none, very peaceful with fantastic views across the hills. Hemmel House is beautifully furnished with everything you could want for your stay. We had a truly lovely time and you really need to take your time to absorb how great this place is. The owners were very helpful and a pleasure to deal with. If you are visiting Northumberland you will be very well located to visit all its main attractions, yet remote enough for peace and quiet. We would highly recommend staying at Hemmel House, you wont be disappointed. It will certainly be on our list to return, and to recommend to family and friends. Robert and Sally Wassall Hampshire

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Recently returned to BVC for our ?th visit. For the first time staying in one of the 2012 cottages which was well fitted out and very comfortable. As well as being convenient for Alnwick and the coast the Border towns are just over 30 mins away. Kelso has some excellent independent shops and Main St bookstore at Newton St Boswells a bit further away is well worth a visit

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middleengland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here recently, myself, my Husband and our 6 year old son. We were in Comby Hills.

The cottage was absolutely beautiful, and everything had been thought of , the kitchen was marvelously well equipped and had enough of everything that you didnt need to put the dishwasher on half way through the day. The living room had wonderful floor to ceiling windows that meant the entire cottage was bright and airy throughout the entire day. Underfloor heating in both bathrooms was a lovely touch. Bedrooms were luxurious and had plenty of cupboard space.

Cottage was a true joy and the welcome wine, bread, eggs and honey was much appreciated.

The pool is a really good size and the jacuzzi was a nice touch. We used this extensively and our little boy loved it. The Lake is picturesque and the walk through the filed with the ponies was a highlight for our son. We walked round the entire lake and it took less than 30 minutes at a very leisurely rate. Fantastic bird life.

The cottages are well located for Alnwick,Bamburgh, Seahouses and Craster.

Great week, beautiful cottages, really cant rate it highly enough, if there was 6 stars I would have given them!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have just returned from spending a week in Heron Hill and we didn't want to leave. Absolutely wonderful 5 star accommodation. We couldn't fault it at all, quality furnishings, comfort and short of nothing in the kitchen. As quoted in an earlier review, we don't want to shout too loud as it feels like our little piece of heaven. The swimming pool was fantastic which we used daily and a very well equipped gym. On a rainy day we treated ourselves to a full body massage which again was fantastic. This is the best self catering accommodation we have ever stayed in, thank you to such wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stunning location - Miller House was separate from the main complex (which would matter if you wanted the pool etc) and a good walk away. We didn't need the facilities and absolutely loved the tranquillity and views to die for.

The house was absolutely perfect (apart from a blunt potato peeler!) and we loved it - warm (underfloor heating), comfortable (deep sofas), lovely art work and colours. The icing on the cake was discovering hares on the lawn, the first we have ever seen.

Superb location in every way. We had wanted to be near the coast, but were glad to be more central as it gave us a spur to discover the Cheviots.

Very helpful owners. We really cant fault this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breamish Valley Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breamish Valley Cottages

Address: | Branton, Powburn, Alnwick NE66 4LW , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Powburn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Powburn
Hotel Class:4 star — Breamish Valley Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 11

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breamish Valley Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.