We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jardin Marron

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jardin Marron to your Saves list
Jardin Marron
Anse Boudin, Praslin Island 00248, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Feels like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the Jardin Marron in January 2014. Our host Marie was very sweet and warm hearted and made us feel very at home. She helped us with out with everything we needed, gave great advice and even booked excursions for us.
The location is great - very calm, safe and just by the sea. The apartment was new, well equipped, very clean and with a great view overlooking the ocean. We got fresh fruit everyday which Marie grows in the beautiful garden surrounding the houses.
Our favorite beach on Praslin - Anse Lazio - is only a few kilometers away. We recommend renting a car to be more flexible when discovering this beautiful island.

We can't wait to visit Marie on her paradise-island again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

If you want to be in the paradise, visit the Jardon Marron Villas at Praslin. One more time we spent our vacation at Jardin Marron, with Marie. We were welcomed by Marie and the three dogs very warmly! We had the upper apartment. The view from the apartment, not only from the balcony, is very beautiful. The apartment is very lovely furnished and it was always clean. The two apartments are situated in a very beautiful garden. Cause of the big garden, it's always very quit, therefor it's a grat place to enjoy the silence and to recharge the own batteries. Marie is doing a great job!

Unfortunately my husband was sick the last three days of our stay at Jardin Marron. Marie has taken care lovingly for him. We were very happy for their help! Thanks again, Marie!
The Jardin Marron is a very nice apartment and we can recommend it at all!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have come back from Anse Lazio and saw big majestic stones nearly Anse Boudin
and decided to take some photos. Then we noticed a signboard and decided to enter and inquire about
prices on this beautiful place. There weren’t people around. We hailed a host and then 3 dogs come running up to us suddenly and start to bark at us. We were frightened by them but landlady fortunately went out of her house and drove away the dogs.
Her name is Marie and she is friendly and pleasant woman. She shows us a villa and we liked this place
very much. Unfortunately we had booked before another hotel and cancelation policy in this hotel
was 50% of total amount. We said goodbye to Marie and came back to our hotel.
But villa Jardin Marron was liked by us very much and after long discussions we decided to pay money
for our cancelation and move to Jardin Marron!
Marie offered to help us with booking taxi and carried our luggage upstairs. She told about the villa and beaches,shops in close vicinity in detail and made delicious cocktail and brought some fruits from her garden. There is Indian shop is just a 5 minutes away, where you can buy the necessaries of life
and foodstuff. A bus stop and beach are only 50 meters from the villa.
You can visit a restaurant on a top of the hill nearly or go to Anse Lazio (about 30 min walking) or
take a bus to another directions (Marie can give you a bus shedule).
The villa has a fascinating view,it is quiet place,there aren’t another hotels,disco – it is big advantage.The villa is situated on the top of a hill and it was windy at this time, strong wind howled
at nights, it is quite possible that weather won’t be windy in another seasons.
Marie has a beautiful garden,there are many big stones. You also can sunbathe in terrace and
admire the scenery. It is good choice for this money,we have stayed in 4 hotels in Seychelles, but we liked Jardin Marron the most and we likely to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the top floor studio of Jardin Marron villa and we were extremely happy with our choice. We didn't see any other accommodation during our stay on the island that seemed as a better option (especially on the same price range)!

Top advantages:
- Location: in general, the best option to explore the island is to rent a car (unless you want to try the bus for which there is a bus stop close-by) and in addition the Jardin Marron accommodation is a) very close to Anse Lazio which was my favourite beach in both Praslin and La Digue b) very close to the most expensive resort in Praslin (The Raffles) which you can also visit on foot and have a drink on the side of the lovely infinite pool or a luxurious dinner (prices are quite high but I also recommend it for its service and quality) c) PK restaurant (where we ate excellent swordfish) is also accessible on foot, in case you just want to stay around for dinner and leave the car aside, d) great views from our room to the sea and surrounding gardens and also amazing view of the starry sky during the night (especially from the terrace in front of the apartments, e) picturesque beach in front of the property
- Joyful and professional hostess: Marie was an added value for our pleasant stay in Praslin. She prepared local delicacies for us to try, such as coconut juice and breadfruit and also left some basic ingredients in the kitchen in case we needed to cook. She was also always available for offering advice on boat trips to surrounding islets. She truly loves her island and doesn't try to overprice her place. I hope she keeps it this way :-)
- Value: Seychelles is undoubtedly an expensive destination and for the price offered, it was definitely a great value. Especially after visiting the expensive resorts (Lemuria, The Raffles) and looking at the other self-catering villas, we were even more reassured about having made the best choice.

To consider:
- Room cleaning and amenities: as stated on the website, the room cleaning is not daily and this may be a problem with some guests. Also, you have to bring your own shampoo (there is a hair dryer though) and beach towels.
- Air-conditioning: There is an extra charge to use the A/C. However, we didn't really mind and needed it as the roof fans were sufficient for us.

Room Tip: The Jardin Marron studio at the top floor offers great views of 360 degrees, as it has windows in al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a nice apartment, in a fantastic location, with a wonderfully kind and helpful owner (Marie). You are close to Anse Lazio, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world and within 10 mins drive from several other nice beaches (Anse Volbert, Anse Possession). It takes only 20 minutes to reach the Valle de Mai reserve.

It is best to hire a car, although you do have a mini-market, restaurant and Raffles hotel all within walking distance. It is very close to Curieuse island - Marie arranged an inexpensive trip for us to spend the day there to see the giant Aldabra tortoises.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We lived in the apartment on the ground floor. There was bedroom, bathroom, living room with kitchen and facilities. There was air conditioner in bedroom and fan in the living room. The place is very safe, household has nice dogs. Surroundings are very pleasant with a nice garden and a lot of flowers. Beautiful views from balcony. Marie is very nice and kind woman. She can help you with a lot of questions: with meeting at ferry or airport, renting a car or arranging excursions.

Small grocery store - 3 minute walk
Best Praslin beach Anse Lazio - 7 minute drive

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We loved everything about Jardin Marron. From the greeting we received from the beautiful Marie, who is a great hostess and full of character, to her personal and heartfelt goodbye. I also loved her dogs, who can bark a bit, but they won’t hurt anyone and they never disturbed us. Marie had put some essentials in the fridge and greeted us with some wonderful refreshing juice, using her own recipe. It was delicious. On another occasion, she provided us with a papaya fresh from the garden.
The apartment itself is huge. We were on the top floor of the two apartments and there is a beautiful big balcony, big lounge and kitchen and a lovely big airy bedroom with the shower and bathroom attached. There is a hair dryer provided for the ladies. But bring your own shampoo, conditioner etc, and some mosquito repellent. They do not have malaria in the Seychelles, but on the Islands, as in most tropical places, you will find some insects. However, with the repellent and the use of the fan, we did not have much trouble at all. There is the option to use the aircon for a few more euros per night, but we found we did not need it. However, although we are from England, we have lived in Dubai for the past couple of years and the Seychelles felt lovely and cool by comparison so it may just be us!
There is also an amazing viewing platform at this property where we lay at night and watched the shooting stars. I have never seen a sky quite like that. The kitchen is well equipped and, while we mostly ate out, we cooked breakfast every day with no problems. There is a supermarket about 5 a minute walk along the road which provides beer, wine and spirits, cigarettes, bread, canned foods and eggs and a number of frozen options. It can be difficult to come by easily accessible fresh foods in the Seychelles, but I would recommend picking some supplies up from Mahe, or finding out where and when the markets are if you are planning to eat in. Also, don’t assume you will be able to find things easily, if there are herbs, sauces you need, they bring them along.
I really liked the location of this place. It is right on a beautiful paradise type beach and very often there was nobody else in sight. We did some amazing snorkelling just over the road. Also it’s very close to Anse Lazio which is one of the most amazing beaches in the world and certainly one of the most jaw dropping I have ever seen. I would recommend hiring a car, which you can do for 35 Euros per day (a taxi from the jetty is 30 Euros and the same back, so it’s worth it). Also the amazing location makes it a little remote from some of the other places. However, if you want to be able to walk back from dinner you have PK’s gastro pub right next door and I would recommend a visit, especially on Steak night where they do a good deal on two meals and a bottle of wine for 500 rupees. – Raffles is another close option, though it is VERY expensive and I would not recommend it as the quality certainly didn’t match the price. – Actually it was a visit to Raffles that made me doubly glad that I had opted for Jardin Marron.
There is a whole lot more I could say and please feel free to ask questions if necessary.
Overall, I can’t recommend Jardin Marron, or the lovely Marie, highly enough and I would visit here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jardin Marron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin Marron

Address: Anse Boudin, Praslin Island 00248, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Boudin
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Anse Boudin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jardin Marron, Self-Catering Villa is situated at the north-eastern coast of Praslin. The Villa has two spacious Apartments, offering a fantastic sea view from all rooms. Set in a quiet and private location, surrounded by a large topical garden which is scattered with gigantic granite boulders. It’s an ideal place to relax and to enjoy your paradise.The property is bordered in between two beaches, Anse Boudin and Anse Takamaka which join up with the Curieuse Marine National Park. Each apartment has a specious kitchen, living room, balcony and a bedroom with a suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jardin Marron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jardin Marron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.