We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS is a piece of the garden of Eden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jardin Marron

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jardin Marron to your Saves list
Jardin Marron
Anse Boudin, Praslin Island 00248, Seychelles   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salzburg, Austria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“THIS is a piece of the garden of Eden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Marie and Mario own one of the most beautiful pieces of land that you can possibly find on this island. Only 2 appartments and 1 guesthouse plus their own house are surrounded by a huge and extremely well-tended garden, no neighboring buildings around and a superb beach just in front of the door. Marie takes so much care of her guests which made us feel almost like members of the family. She helps with all issues, such as arranging a rental car or a taxi boat to St. Pierre (which actually picks you up just at the beach next to the house) or the compulsory registration to go to Anse Georgette, negotiates taxi rates and is an outstanding conversation partner for all relevant and interesting topics from botany over local food to traditional seychellois medicine. Take the chance and ask her to show and explain the garden!
Rooms are absolutely clean and spotless, the interior is typical for the Seychelles: everything you need, simple and no hosh-posh design. Marie even provided us with breakfast basics so that we did not have to shop on the very first day.
A rental car is recommended - not only because of the location of Jardin Marron, but to explore the island the easiest way. We definitely want to come back!
PS: Mario runs another business: Edelweiss tours, however we do not have further information about it.

Room Tip: both apartments are equally nice, though we would recommend the upper one for the nicer view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

a wonderful place, peacful, good for relaxing, ideal base for excursions, very near to the best beaches on the praslin,

the owners helpful and nice, the villa modern, very good standart, in european style, big windows and light and super clean

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

We spent our best three days in the Seychelles at the Jardin Marron. The apartment is huge and spotless. At first, we weren't sure about the location as we like to walk to stores and restaurants. However, you are right on a gorgeous beach and can snorkel right in front. We saw many varieties of fish and sea turtle. We used the bus which was a very positive experience. It's cheap and you get to travel like a local. It's hard to leave the apartment as the view is stunning and we relaxed on the huge balcony for much of our stay.

However, the best part is always the people. Mario's service is outstanding. He anticipates your needs and is a superb host. One of the best times on our trip was a drink on the balcony with Mario and his wife. Thanks, Mario and Maria, for making such great memories for us.

We also stayed on Sihlouette Island in the Seychelles. It was multiple times the cost but we preferred Jardin Marron.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Send, Surrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed in "Mario's house" for 6 nights and enjoyed every minute from our lovely welcome to our goodbyes. The apartment is spacious and well furnished with amazing views. The location means a car is useful but Mario can arrange if needed. The house is on the way to Anse Lazio - a perfect beach! Mario was very helpful in advance of our stay and gave us a good welcome briefing on arrival. Very much recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We much enjoyed our couple of days at Jardin Marron. The apartment is quite spacious and has a terrace and large windows facing the sea. Lovely views and in the distance the sounds of the surf. It's a bit remote, on the road towards Anse Lazio, so you will need a car (just $40 a day or so ) if you want to eat out in the evenings. Public bus can serve you during daytime. Famous Anse Lazio is just a couple of minutes away, and in the other direction a scenic 10 minute drive brings you to Anse Volbert, where simple shops and restaurants are found. Hotels in Seychelles are a bit overpriced IMHO, and if spend your days discovering the islands and evenings savouring some creole cuisine, a roomy apartment like this seems way better value for money. Would love to return to Seychelles one day, and if so am likely to stay there again. Their website and youtube entries are useful as well.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Big, comfortable and modernly furnished, very clean.
Perfect view on the sea and the beach is only 50 meters ... there we met two turtels and wonderful fish ...
Very nice hosts with a very good sensitivity for our need for information and also our wish to have privacy.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna,
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

we had been all over the world, self catering appartements in hawai, in asia, on ilands, in italy...

jardin marron is the best self catering appartement/house we had been
because ist best located, new,super clean, modern standart, owners are very helpfull, if you need, and there are never to many people!
Dont hesitate, ask Mario all questions you have before your holiday and you will have a great time - klaus, manuela and heinke from vienna - austria

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jardin Marron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin Marron

Address: Anse Boudin, Praslin Island 00248, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Boudin
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Anse Boudin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jardin Marron, Self-Catering Villa is situated at the north-eastern coast of Praslin. The Villa has two spacious Apartments, offering a fantastic sea view from all rooms. Set in a quiet and private location, surrounded by a large topical garden which is scattered with gigantic granite boulders. It’s an ideal place to relax and to enjoy your paradise.The property is bordered in between two beaches, Anse Boudin and Anse Takamaka which join up with the Curieuse Marine National Park. Each apartment has a specious kitchen, living room, balcony and a bedroom with a suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jardin Marron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jardin Marron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.