We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Archipel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel L'Archipel to your Saves list
Hotel L'Archipel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anse Gouvernement, Au Cap, Praslin Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Au Cap
Westbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“brilliant boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The staff were friendly and attentive. the location is great, views across the bay from the veranda of our beachside villa made early morning tea and early evening drinks so much better. A minute stroll to the beach to relax, swim or snorkel made it a great location. If you speak French then even better but we found that all the staff spoke English more than adequately for conversations. It is a bit off the path but a stroll along the beach will get you to cote d'or with ease, if you get too hot just pop in the sea too cool off before continuing on your way, you will be dry before you know it. If you want to go further afield we hired a car which took us to vallee de mar ( incredible ) and the south of the island, this is recommended at least just to see a bit more of a beautiful island. However, either on the beach or by the pool it is a wonderful location to just sit back, relax and enjoy being there. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, go with an open mind and a friendly attitude and you will leave with a smile and a desire to return. We did, and hope to return again.

Room Tip: We were by the beach, higher up may have been a better view but no complaints whatsoever. Oh, and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    101
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
24
257
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gavle, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Excellent senior honeymoon suite. Personal service. On the downside, you tend to stay put at the hotel, missing other places to see, to eat at, etc. 25 min walk to village and other restaurants, shops etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

L'Archipel is situation on a beautiful quiet bay on Praslin island. The sea is crystal clear and the sand like fine sugar. The hotel is small and therefore it's quiet compared to other resorts. The upside is that the staff get to know you, and most are very friendly. Finding a bed by the beach is not hard, but you will likely be lying right underneath a coconut tree! The sunbeds have seen better days, but are not awful. The restaurants are pleasant - we preferred the a la carte on the beach as it's much nicer to sit there rather than in a rather blandly decorated restaurant. As the menu didn't change, we got a bit bored after the third night. The service is slow; on one evening there was just one person waiting on about seven tables. The breakfast is adequate but lacks the sophistication of a larger hotel, so choice is somewhat limited. The rooms are dated but clean and pleasant with the views spectacular. Sitting on the balcony in the late afternoon, reading a book was always something to look forward to. The biggest drawback to anyone needing to stay in contact with the outside world is that the internet only works in the pool area and you have to pay for it, so you waste time trying to get shade whilst reading emails that would better be done at a more convenient time from your room. Overall this is a charming hotel with friendly staff and the most beautiful beach but suffers from lack of sophistication with regard to food and bedrooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The pace of life at L'archipel is what you'd expect from a relaxing Seychellios holiday. We stayed for our honeymoon and life rotated between the room, the beach, the restaurant and the pool. When we did stray further, a 30 minute beach walk to Cote Azor or a short taxi ride to Vallee De Mai was easily organised and when you get bored of the hotel food (not likely as they rotate the service options most nights between BBQ's, buffets or themed nights), there are many fantastic local restaurants with free transfers. The room we had right on the private beach was huge and fantastically clean and well equipped. We'd certainly recommend L'archipel for a perfect relaxing stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 8 days and had honeymoon room ( Cache) The view from the room is amazing right at the ocean. They also provided with romantic dinner on the check-in day and fruit basket, Also they brought a cake for my birthday ) The swimming pool is very nice , cote d'or is very close to the hotel, though hotel beach is quite shallow. Breakfasts are very good, good pastry and juices. Dinners are the best comparing to all restaurant of the island.Service is good. Very satisfied, amazing hotel and not expensive.No fitness, didnt use the SPA. Be careful with local guys at cote d'or beach , who offer excursions - sometimes they just take the deposit and dont show up after, or the quality of excursions is really low. Better ask the staff of the hotel for advice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The staff are super friendly and always smiling & helpful, the location is great for a romantic & quiet honeymoon. I tried over 10different meals have never tried before while i was here. But the Internet is only availble at the pool area and the time given is unflexible, once u logoff the internet and leave to your room you cant use it again. I suggest the hotel should provide more router to extend the WIFI to every part of the hotel. I would love to thank the management of Archipel, the made me and my girlfriend grow closer than before we came for vacation. L'Archipel gets a 4star from me.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Loved everything: staff, food, room and mostly its location. A haven on earth. Going back on 2014. We stayed on june, 2012. The hotel beach is amazing - we were even lucky to see a small ray swimming beside us. We feel very calm there and its an ideal place to hide from the rest of the world. I trully recommend this place if you like sun and sea.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Archipel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Archipel

Address: Anse Gouvernement, Au Cap, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Au Cap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Au Cap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Archipel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on praslin at the end of the famous cote d'or Bay, overlooking the secluded beach of Anse Gouvernement. The rooms are nestle in the hillside, on the beach and in the garden. All 32 rooms have an international standard of a 4 star hotel. 5 Superior rooms 60sqm, 18 deluxe rooms 60sqm, 7 senior suites 65sqm and 2 executive suites 120sqm. The hotel boasts two restaurants; La Feuille d'or offers Gourmet cuisine & fine dining as for La Gigolette, it offers a Creole A La Carte and Seafood Menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel L'Archipel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Archipel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Archipel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.