We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice style and nice breaze from the sea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Palm Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand Anse, Grand Anse, Praslin Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Anse
Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice style and nice breaze from the sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is directly on the beach where you can enjoy sunsets. There is a nice breeze from the ocean and a nice pool to cool off in. The air conditioner constantly leaked and the lovely wood furniture is drenched. But that is the problem of the hotel. I gave up in the end. The food is great and the there is a breakfast buffet. Make sure you come on time, since what is gone is gone and will not be replaced.
The beach is not for swimming since it is very shallow, only ankle deep, seriously. It is full of sea cucumbers. But if you take a car or a bus you can reach all the nice beaches. I personally found that Praslin had the nicest beaches.
The hotel rents cars (50 Euros a day). Which is nice to get around but there is basically one road and the public transportation is sooo cheap! I'll save my money next time for something else.

Room Tip: Take a room on top to see the ocean. Otherwise just sit on the beach and watch which is ok too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    35
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
19
65
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My GF and I went to this hotel at the end of 2012. Despite the beautiful pictures they posted on Tripadvisor, the overall quality of facilities was a little disappointing. Here are some of my thoughts on this hotel;

- bed : 3 star quality with a couple of ants moving
- hot water : because of hot weather in Seychelles, they seemed to provide only medium-hot water
- beach : you can't imagine to swim on the hotel beach. Rent a car, and discover other beaches.
- wifi-internet : really fast, however, remember to pay additional $20 for your stay
- food : never tried
- service : friendly (they changed our room after our claim)
- price : in Seychelles, everything is pricy, even in this quality of hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The good: clean, spacious room, comfortable bed and pillows, warm shower, cold AC, beautiful view of the ocean/sunset from the 2nd floor, close to the airport, rental cars on-site for 35 euros a day, decently priced comparatively.

The not-so-good: poor customer service, sullen faced staff (from reception to servers to even the owners), leaking roof in room, phone didn't work, food is expensive and average on a good day, beach is covered with sea grass, location is on the other side of the island from all activities, most restaurants and beaches thus car rental is necessary.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is great- avoid room 20 which is a converted attic space
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel

Service: Good. Every staffs were kind. We had some problems and they were really helpful to get over it. Especially this hotel provides fast wifi. It was really amazing to enjoy this fast internet in Seychelles. However, you should double check whether your package includes free wifi or not. If not, they will charge 20 Euro for internet. This hotel has a rent car service. It seems really convenient.

Location: Average. This hotel is located in south west, and all the good beaches are in north. You must have a rent car to reach famous beach such as Anse Lazio. It took 30 min to get to Anse Lazio. However, it's really close to the airport just 10 min drive. So there is bad side and good side at the same time.

Facility: Average. Room is clean but the bed was problem. This hotel gave to me kind size bed but it turns out the bed were made by 2 twin beds combined. My boyfriend and I had to sleep separately.

Food: I'm really sorry to say this, but breakfast was very disappointed. I paid around 200 Euros per night but, there were just bread, omelet with only onion&cheese, 3 different fruits, cereal with hot milk and coffee. That was all!! This hotel has to improve your food quality.

Room Tip: You better make sure your bed is real queen sized, or king sized bed. You may get a combined twin si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globe Trekker
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We just loved it - much better than some of the higher ranked hotels. The currently TripAdvisor rating is way to low at number 23.

Booked directly on their website as it provided the best discount and got a free car for a day. We stayed 4 nights in Praslin at Palm beach hotel. Take the flight instead of boat - much more convenient and almost costs the same.

Room was big, nothing too special as it isn't a 5 star but clean and got a daily new design when they made the bed with lots of flowers. (See also room tips)

Restaurant was good and they were able to cook a new vegetarian dish for me every day. Try a small take away shop 100 m away or a shop for drinks which can save you a lot of money. Try the local Takamaka Coconut Rum, and the local beer - lovely. Creole food and especially fish (relished by my partner) was great. Often had breakfast with sand on your feet. Selection was limited for breakfast but always came with eggs made to order.

Car for a day was great to have and we did beach hopping on this day around Praslin. However the bus stop is right outside the hotel and worth a try if you want to do a day trip to Valley De Mai or to the Ferry to go to La Digue.

The beach is perfect for families with little kids and has an amazing sunset. At low tide, you can walk quite long, and forms a lagoon - perfect for little ones. The pool is great and we often jumped in after it was dark as then the pool was really warm.

Service was great. Its cheaper to pay in Seychelles Rupees assuming you don't get charged significantly for withdrawing rupees by your bank.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing and have a balcony. The views are better on the first floor, but the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szczecin, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stay there for one week, staff was very helpfull and very friendly. Hotel is small and very nice, room was cleaning every day, Its close to main village grand anse, 1minute from the hotel to the local shop and take way. Hope we will come back there again :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in Palm Beach for 2 nights and the room rates were better than the other hotel. Decent and clean, though some small cockroaches in the bathroom roaming around while you take a shower. Breakfast was good and early as well. Since Sunday is an off day for the nearby "food take away" we were forced to eat dinner at the hotel restaurant. I suggest, just order their 3-course meal than ordering a-la carte. you will pay the same anyway. Go for the seafood as they are most probably fresh than the meat that seems to be frozen or might be the animal used to go to the gym (muscular/tough).

There is a small beach area where you can swim and relax as well as the not so well maintained pool.

The staffs were friendly and would at some extend to an extra mile to serve you.

Btw, if they tell you a higher rate more than Euro100 for a night, try to negotiate, if the hotel is not so busy you might just get it as we had.....

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the balcony and facing the beach (might be all rooms are facing the beach, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Anse
0.0 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
0.0 mi away
Iles des Palmes
Iles des Palmes
#3 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Indian Ocean Lodge
Indian Ocean Lodge
#2 of 8 in Grand Anse
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chalets Cote Mer
Chalets Cote Mer
#2 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berjaya Praslin Resort - Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Hotel

Address: Grand Anse, Grand Anse, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Grand Anse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Anse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Palm Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Praslin Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.