We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Palm Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Palm Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand Anse, Praslin Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Grand Anse
Globe Trekker
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We just loved it - much better than some of the higher ranked hotels. The currently TripAdvisor rating is way to low at number 23.

Booked directly on their website as it provided the best discount and got a free car for a day. We stayed 4 nights in Praslin at Palm beach hotel. Take the flight instead of boat - much more convenient and almost costs the same.

Room was big, nothing too special as it isn't a 5 star but clean and got a daily new design when they made the bed with lots of flowers. (See also room tips)

Restaurant was good and they were able to cook a new vegetarian dish for me every day. Try a small take away shop 100 m away or a shop for drinks which can save you a lot of money. Try the local Takamaka Coconut Rum, and the local beer - lovely. Creole food and especially fish (relished by my partner) was great. Often had breakfast with sand on your feet. Selection was limited for breakfast but always came with eggs made to order.

Car for a day was great to have and we did beach hopping on this day around Praslin. However the bus stop is right outside the hotel and worth a try if you want to do a day trip to Valley De Mai or to the Ferry to go to La Digue.

The beach is perfect for families with little kids and has an amazing sunset. At low tide, you can walk quite long, and forms a lagoon - perfect for little ones. The pool is great and we often jumped in after it was dark as then the pool was really warm.

Service was great. Its cheaper to pay in Seychelles Rupees assuming you don't get charged significantly for withdrawing rupees by your bank.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing and have a balcony. The views are better on the first floor, but the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    31
    18
    10
    4
See reviews for
18
52
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Szczecin, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stay there for one week, staff was very helpfull and very friendly. Hotel is small and very nice, room was cleaning every day, Its close to main village grand anse, 1minute from the hotel to the local shop and take way. Hope we will come back there again :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in Palm Beach for 2 nights and the room rates were better than the other hotel. Decent and clean, though some small cockroaches in the bathroom roaming around while you take a shower. Breakfast was good and early as well. Since Sunday is an off day for the nearby "food take away" we were forced to eat dinner at the hotel restaurant. I suggest, just order their 3-course meal than ordering a-la carte. you will pay the same anyway. Go for the seafood as they are most probably fresh than the meat that seems to be frozen or might be the animal used to go to the gym (muscular/tough).

There is a small beach area where you can swim and relax as well as the not so well maintained pool.

The staffs were friendly and would at some extend to an extra mile to serve you.

Btw, if they tell you a higher rate more than Euro100 for a night, try to negotiate, if the hotel is not so busy you might just get it as we had.....

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the balcony and facing the beach (might be all rooms are facing the beach, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed three nights at this hotel to finalize our honeymoon. Originally, I had only looked for a one night stay not too far from the airport and therefore didn’t check the location very thoroughly during my online research. At the end, we needed to extend our stay to three nights and I was a little bit worried if the hotel was going to live up to a honeymoon experience. All in all, however, it did.

The décor of the hotel is very cute with lots of attention to detail in a colonial architecture design. The only disappointment is the beach access – it is actually not really possible since high tide makes the beach disappear. In the European summer time, the wind from south west also brings a lot of sea wheat into the bay.

Grande Anse is not the most happening place in Praslin but the hotel was a bargain and a good stay for 3 nights.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Wonderful people, very helpful and peaceful atmosphere.
Nice & quiet colonial hotel in the front of the beach. Great sun-sets from the upper rooms, small beach in the front of the hotel, economic cars for rent and possibility to organize some trips. The breakfast needs a little more variety and bathrooms some renovation, but certainly I recommend staying in Palm Beach, because of helpful staff.
The relation: quality - price = very good.
I had a lovely time; you can count on a manager Joel and Audrey.
Thank you Audrey for making my holidays a real pleasure.
Regards to all staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Very pleasant and helpful owner and staff at reception. Spacious and ok room (after moving up from ground floor room). Beautiful view. Dinner quite ok, though not lot a lot of variation. Breakfast not impressive: not a lot of choice, and not well presented. The employees in the restaurant are hardly talking, nor smiling.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Went into this hotel for a cocktail in the bar one evening (we were non residents), and had a very poor experience. Two cocktails took over 40 minutes to arrive in a bar with absolutely no other other customers, and required me to remind them twice to serve me. Chaotic experience when I came to pay as well: took over 20 minutes as had to speak to three different people to sort it out, amazingly.

On the plus side, the beach area by the small-ish swimming pool looked quite good and reasonably child friendly, but if you go to this hotel to stay, I have a suspicion that you will leave disappointed. There are certainly better hotels on the island.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Hotel

Address: Grand Anse, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Grand Anse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Grand Anse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Palm Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Praslin Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.