We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely homely hotel in pretty setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Ocean Lodge

Save Saved
You added Indian Ocean Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Indian Ocean Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand Anse, Praslin Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Grand Anse
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely homely hotel in pretty setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Such a sweet little hotel in a very peaceful setting. The rooms are extremly comfortable with lovely balconies looking out towards the sea although some of the view is obscured by trees. The only problem I had with the rooms were the rather basic bathrooms which are really in need of an upgrade but saying that they are prefectly clean and the shower is nice and powerful. Very comfortable bed and good selection of English TV channels just in case you are unlucky enough to get a rainy afternoon.

The food was excellent, lots of choice for dinner, great breakfast where they give you an extensive choice of fruit, very fresh pastries and eggs cooked to order.

The pool is quite small but perfectly sufficient and very clean. Maybe would be nice to have a few more sun loungers in case the hotel is full as there were a couple of days where there was not enough for everyone but I get the impression that the hotel is not always full so may not be a problem. The beach is lovely but not suitable for swimming so you will need to go to the other beach, Cote D'or to which the hotel provide a shuttle service and is absolutely worth the journey, probably one of the most beuatiful beaches I have ever seen. Praslin in general is a real paradise and this is a very good value place to experience it from.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    50
    27
    7
    4
See reviews for
24
77
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

What a wonderful 5 day stay we had here this december!
The hotel is at Grand Anse ideally situated with a supermarket, money exchange and take away places nearby. The beach is right there for you to laze or swim. The rooms are wonderful. For once the pictures on the website were as the place was ! Loads of storage and nice bath , comfortable beds. We shared a room with our 2 daughters and they had 2 comfortable beds to themselves. Quite spacious for the 4 of us. Lovely balcony to sip your morning tea watching the sea. We were on half board, breakfast and the dinner buffet were good. Lots of variety. If you are a vegetarian you might not have much variety but you definitely wont go hungry.
The staff is helpful ready to acomodate all your requests. Makes sense to have a self drive car unless you are booked with a tour company. Highly recommend driving around the island, beach hopping. Anse Lazio is the best beach about 35 minutes drive from here and it'll take your breath away!
Time just dances idly in the waves here. Its dreamy and the ideal island holiday.

Room Tip: Any room is good! we were at number 9 right next to the restaurant. Kids would hop in and out of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, China
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

indian ocean lodge is a solid choice when staying on praslin island, especially if you like long walks on endless white sand beaches. the hotel was clean and friendly and had everything we wished for. anyway, if you like snorcheling you better find a place at the northern end of the island (snorcheling there was just a dream!!!!)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, Kent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Lovely little hotel in a great position. Small and cosy with a family run atmosphere. Comfortable rooms, bit small but cosy. They are decorated in a beach comber style, like drift wood and shells and little interesting knickknacks you would find on the beach.
The beach is great here and although the hotel has a restaurant where nothing is too much trouble, it is easy to eat out.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

After a night at Praslin’s most exclusive hotel – the Constance Lémuria Resort – we moved to the Indian Ocean Lodge 10 mins car-ride away.

Expecting the move from five-star to three-star to be a disappointment, we had a pleasant surprise: we loved it.

From the moment we checked in to our delicious lunch of fresh stir-fried Calamari and grey jackfish with tomato chutney, topped off with a fresh coconut milkshake, we’re sold by the personal service, charming setup and friendly laid-back feel of this small property.

Owned by Mrs. Mason – the Seychellois owner of Mason’s Travel, who is one of the largest travel agents on the islands – it is part of a chain of three properties: one on Mahé called Carana Beach Hotel (under reconstruction) and a five-star resort on Denis Island called Denis Private Island Resort.

There are 32 villas located close to the beach with a marine decor. The double shower and the kitschy Coco de Mer-shaped lampshades amused me.

We ate dinner in the hotel one night and it was good. As there are not many restaurants around, it's handy to eat at the hotel, especially if you have been out at the beach all day or diving. We had a watercress soup for starters followed by palm heart with fresh mint.

Main course is grilled barracuda steak, roast lamb loin or a local fish called bonito darne with ginger sauce served with coconut rice which I chose, seduced by the combination of fish, ginger and coconut. In a naughty twist, for dessert, they serve up the popular European desert Black Forest gateau with a watermelon coulis. It’s an unfussy dinner, a cosy atmosphere, the sound of the waves breaks in the background and the service is personal and fast. What more can you ask for.

The Indian Ocean Lodge is good value-for-money (by Seychellois standards). Half board for two people per night will cost around EUR 220.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seychelles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed here as a family with our 2 young boys over the Easter weekend. Despite an initial mixup re our booking by the junior staff, ending in us paying quite a bit extra on the first night, the next day the lovely Lady Manager or Deputy Manager (unfortunately we've forgotten her name) who hadn't been present for the mixups, approached us professionally and apologised for the mixups & sorted us out for half board for the rest of the stay. Throughout she was uber-professional, friendly & looked after us very well. Admittedly we had been on the verge of checking out and going to another hotel after the mixup, but thanks to her, we stayed on & in the end we had so much fun that we decided to stay one extra night!

The rooms are clean, homely & has the minimum mod cons to satisfy our kids i.e. flatscreen TV, a mini fridge & it was spacious enough to accommodate all of us.

Our kids loved the pool, it is medium sized, and clean which is all that mattered.

For the grownups, once the kids went to sleep the room was right next to the pool so we could sit outside on the beach or poolside and have some "us" time and some cocktails every night.

The food was great, probably if we had been by ourselves we would have ventured out, but in the end with the Easter weekend special buffets put on by the chefs, we opted for half board & most of our lunches was had here too, as the kids just enjoyed themselves in the pool all day.

The kids had an Easter egg hunt on Sunday which they loved, and they loved the special desserts that the chef put on. Everyone got a little gift from the Management on Easter day, which was a nice touch.

On the day we left, the Lady Manager allowed us to check out late, since our boat left in the late afternoon. Fantastic, the boys had another day to splash around in the pool!

The only niggle and that is a small niggle is that I would personally say that the bathrooms need to be updated now, as they are showing signs of wear and tear. Saying that I am very fussy about bathrooms in hotels, my husband and kids didn't mind it one bit.

Another comment is that we usually stay in hotels with a spa facility and a gym, but that's when we travel as a couple, and this time we were with kids which didn't really matter.

We felt that the hotel had as close to a family feel to it as you can get with a commercially owned hotel, and that flexibility and willingness to help definitely made a difference to a family with young children.

The star was the Manager (or Deputy) lady who bent over backwards to ensure that we were happy throughout our stay. Without her care we would have had a totally negative experience with this hotel and she managed to turn our opinions around. We'd like to say a big thank you for making our stay memorable.

We're booking our next school holiday break here! Thank you Indian Ocean Lodge!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

6 nights at Indian ocean lodge in Feb 2012. We chose 6 nights in praslin so we could do some other island excursions. Our stay at Indian Ocean was excellent. This is a good quality, homey-feeling hotel. Room had comfy bed, fridge, excellent deck (we were on upper floor), great seaside view, and double shower. Nothing fancy about this hotel - which is exactly what we were looking for. We had entertainment at dinner 2 nights. One was a local musician playing guitar and singing, and the other was a cultural show with drums and dancers. It would have been nice to have something the other nights. We actually only chose dinner for 3 nights at the hotel when we booked our package, but we found the food so good we ate at the hotel every evening. Really good chef - always choice of meat or fish (grey jack amazing!), appetizers and dessert. The nights that we had to pay for dinner we found the price very good value. Breakfast buffet had everything- fruit, choice of breads, cold cuts and always a made-to-order egg station. We read a lot about the beach and seaweed issues that can be here at certain times of year and although this was the 'good' time of year the beach was rather disappointing for swimming... great for walking ...beautiful soft sand for as far as the eye could see, but the grassy water was not welcoming. Only saw a couple people in the water the entire week. We took the hotel shuttle over to cote dor beach one day but found that although the beach was beautiful the water was really not great for swimming either. Actually the entire time in Seychelles both Praslin and Mahe we rarely went into the sea - and we were really looking forward to great snorkelling, but sadly took our equipment back home having only used it once. If you want a quiet, relaxing time you will not be disappointed at the Indian Ocean Lodge.
ps.. also walking distance to a supermarket for cheap snacks and drinks
pss..didn't rent a car on Praslin - the local bus system is excellent and cheap

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Indian Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Ocean Lodge

Also Known As:
Indian Ocean Hotel Praslin Island
Indian Ocean Hotel
Indian Ocean
Indian Ocean Praslin Island
Address: Grand Anse, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Grand Anse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Grand Anse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Indian Ocean Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are spacious, each boasting a king-size bed, air-conditioning, ceiling fan, tea & coffee making facilities, mini fridge, IDD telephone, WiFi, safe, hairdryer and satellite TV and private terrace.The restaurant offers both local and international cuisine in an informal and friendly atmosphere. Live music five times a week. Our bar on the seaward side services both the lounge and the pool deck. Shuttle service to and from Cote D’or beach are available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Indian Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Ocean Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.