We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Ocean Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Indian Ocean Lodge to your Saves list
Indian Ocean Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand Anse, Praslin Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Grand Anse
Bromley, Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Home from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Lovely little hotel in a great position. Small and cosy with a family run atmosphere. Comfortable rooms, bit small but cosy. They are decorated in a beach comber style, like drift wood and shells and little interesting knickknacks you would find on the beach.
The beach is great here and although the hotel has a restaurant where nothing is too much trouble, it is easy to eat out.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    60
    37
    9
    4
See reviews for
34
96
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

After a night at Praslin’s most exclusive hotel – the Constance Lémuria Resort – we moved to the Indian Ocean Lodge 10 mins car-ride away.

Expecting the move from five-star to three-star to be a disappointment, we had a pleasant surprise: we loved it.

From the moment we checked in to our delicious lunch of fresh stir-fried Calamari and grey jackfish with tomato chutney, topped off with a fresh coconut milkshake, we’re sold by the personal service, charming setup and friendly laid-back feel of this small property.

Owned by Mrs. Mason – the Seychellois owner of Mason’s Travel, who is one of the largest travel agents on the islands – it is part of a chain of three properties: one on Mahé called Carana Beach Hotel (under reconstruction) and a five-star resort on Denis Island called Denis Private Island Resort.

There are 32 villas located close to the beach with a marine decor. The double shower and the kitschy Coco de Mer-shaped lampshades amused me.

We ate dinner in the hotel one night and it was good. As there are not many restaurants around, it's handy to eat at the hotel, especially if you have been out at the beach all day or diving. We had a watercress soup for starters followed by palm heart with fresh mint.

Main course is grilled barracuda steak, roast lamb loin or a local fish called bonito darne with ginger sauce served with coconut rice which I chose, seduced by the combination of fish, ginger and coconut. In a naughty twist, for dessert, they serve up the popular European desert Black Forest gateau with a watermelon coulis. It’s an unfussy dinner, a cosy atmosphere, the sound of the waves breaks in the background and the service is personal and fast. What more can you ask for.

The Indian Ocean Lodge is good value-for-money (by Seychellois standards). Half board for two people per night will cost around EUR 220.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seychelles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed here as a family with our 2 young boys over the Easter weekend. Despite an initial mixup re our booking by the junior staff, ending in us paying quite a bit extra on the first night, the next day the lovely Lady Manager or Deputy Manager (unfortunately we've forgotten her name) who hadn't been present for the mixups, approached us professionally and apologised for the mixups & sorted us out for half board for the rest of the stay. Throughout she was uber-professional, friendly & looked after us very well. Admittedly we had been on the verge of checking out and going to another hotel after the mixup, but thanks to her, we stayed on & in the end we had so much fun that we decided to stay one extra night!

The rooms are clean, homely & has the minimum mod cons to satisfy our kids i.e. flatscreen TV, a mini fridge & it was spacious enough to accommodate all of us.

Our kids loved the pool, it is medium sized, and clean which is all that mattered.

For the grownups, once the kids went to sleep the room was right next to the pool so we could sit outside on the beach or poolside and have some "us" time and some cocktails every night.

The food was great, probably if we had been by ourselves we would have ventured out, but in the end with the Easter weekend special buffets put on by the chefs, we opted for half board & most of our lunches was had here too, as the kids just enjoyed themselves in the pool all day.

The kids had an Easter egg hunt on Sunday which they loved, and they loved the special desserts that the chef put on. Everyone got a little gift from the Management on Easter day, which was a nice touch.

On the day we left, the Lady Manager allowed us to check out late, since our boat left in the late afternoon. Fantastic, the boys had another day to splash around in the pool!

The only niggle and that is a small niggle is that I would personally say that the bathrooms need to be updated now, as they are showing signs of wear and tear. Saying that I am very fussy about bathrooms in hotels, my husband and kids didn't mind it one bit.

Another comment is that we usually stay in hotels with a spa facility and a gym, but that's when we travel as a couple, and this time we were with kids which didn't really matter.

We felt that the hotel had as close to a family feel to it as you can get with a commercially owned hotel, and that flexibility and willingness to help definitely made a difference to a family with young children.

The star was the Manager (or Deputy) lady who bent over backwards to ensure that we were happy throughout our stay. Without her care we would have had a totally negative experience with this hotel and she managed to turn our opinions around. We'd like to say a big thank you for making our stay memorable.

We're booking our next school holiday break here! Thank you Indian Ocean Lodge!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

6 nights at Indian ocean lodge in Feb 2012. We chose 6 nights in praslin so we could do some other island excursions. Our stay at Indian Ocean was excellent. This is a good quality, homey-feeling hotel. Room had comfy bed, fridge, excellent deck (we were on upper floor), great seaside view, and double shower. Nothing fancy about this hotel - which is exactly what we were looking for. We had entertainment at dinner 2 nights. One was a local musician playing guitar and singing, and the other was a cultural show with drums and dancers. It would have been nice to have something the other nights. We actually only chose dinner for 3 nights at the hotel when we booked our package, but we found the food so good we ate at the hotel every evening. Really good chef - always choice of meat or fish (grey jack amazing!), appetizers and dessert. The nights that we had to pay for dinner we found the price very good value. Breakfast buffet had everything- fruit, choice of breads, cold cuts and always a made-to-order egg station. We read a lot about the beach and seaweed issues that can be here at certain times of year and although this was the 'good' time of year the beach was rather disappointing for swimming... great for walking ...beautiful soft sand for as far as the eye could see, but the grassy water was not welcoming. Only saw a couple people in the water the entire week. We took the hotel shuttle over to cote dor beach one day but found that although the beach was beautiful the water was really not great for swimming either. Actually the entire time in Seychelles both Praslin and Mahe we rarely went into the sea - and we were really looking forward to great snorkelling, but sadly took our equipment back home having only used it once. If you want a quiet, relaxing time you will not be disappointed at the Indian Ocean Lodge.
ps.. also walking distance to a supermarket for cheap snacks and drinks
pss..didn't rent a car on Praslin - the local bus system is excellent and cheap

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We Island hopped during our stay and on final stop decided to upgrade from budget hotels. Found it very acceptable although the buffet food (apart from the Creole Buffet) can get tiring and suggest you mix with a trip to local places. Good fun and experience that way. Hotel right on marvelous beach but watch the sand flies and protect. Was disappointed that they could not do anything special for a big birthday dinner but accept that if they do it for one thaen they have to do it for all.

Room Tip: Liked the upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Indian Ocean Lodge is a lovely place to stay. it is like paradise. We stayed there for our 25th Wedding Anniversary Holiday and loved it. You have to do your research before you go anywhere and read up on where you are going to avoid any shocks. If the thought of going to the seaside and horror of horrors you bump into some seaweed on the beach then beware lol.
To be serious for a minute from the top;
very quiet clean tidy well maintained hotel
very quiet island
not a lot happens
it is peaceful
it is expensive - but local indian 'corner shops' make it more affordable.
a week would have been long enough for us but we booked for two.
try a week on Mahe and a week on Praslin.
You can visit the wildlife paradises of Aride, cousin and Cousine Islands.
You can day trip to La Digue Island - great fun.
Everything at Indian Ocean was perfect except the cost and the humidity in the restaurant - over bearing and no fans - ridiculous.
We ate out most nights in local restaurants and other Hotels especially the Britannia with its superb fish and chips (yes I know but I NEVER eat fish and chips!)
Would we go again - fore sure but not with any one who was scared of a bit of seaweed!

Room Tip: In blocks of four we had a 1st floor room - lovely sea view with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Our first visit to the Seychelles.This hotel was very good, the staff friendly and the food generally good especially if you like fish and rice ! For the Easter weekend they put on food specials including a suckling pig which was superb. The staff wore traditional costumes and looked very good. We found it much cheaper to get drinks from the local shop only 3 or 4 min. walk away. The only issue was the seaweed which affects all the islands on the windward side. Indian Ocean Lodge provide a free bus service to get you to the other side of the island where the beach and facilities are just about as good as it gets.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indian Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Ocean Lodge

Address: Grand Anse, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Grand Anse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Grand Anse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Indian Ocean Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are spacious, each boasting a king-size bed, air-conditioning, ceiling fan, tea & coffee making facilities, mini fridge, IDD telephone, WiFi, safe, hairdryer and satellite TV and private terrace.The restaurant offers both local and international cuisine in an informal and friendly atmosphere. Live music five times a week. Our bar on the seaward side services both the lounge and the pool deck. Shuttle service to and from Cote D’or beach are available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Indian Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Ocean Hotel Praslin Island
Indian Ocean Praslin Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Ocean Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.