We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to relax at Praslin” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iles des Palmes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Iles des Palmes to your Saves list
Iles des Palmes
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Anse Takamaka | Praslin Seychelles, Baie Ste Anne, Praslin Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Baie Ste Anne
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A good place to relax at Praslin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Me and my wife visited the island for two days in Feb 2014.
What I liked about the hotel:
1) Spacious rooms: The hall and the bedroom were quite spacious and clean. There is a porch in the front wherein you can have your food. this faces the beach.
2) Big garden and tortoise park: The self catering has a big garden for you to play and enjoy. It also has a volleyball net and football goal posts! There is a tortoise park which adds a different zing to this place!
3) View: The view is beach facing and a good place to sunbathe! As the location is quite remote, you will have a lot of privacy!
What I did not like about this place:
1) Remote location: If you have booked this property please ensure that you have a car/bike as this place is quite remotely placed, the nearest grocery store is about 1.5 KM away!
2) The property faces the beach, however the beach had a lot of sea weed and hence I could not enjoy the beach during that period of time.
3) No safe for your valuables in the room. Safe facility is only at the reception and not in your rooms.

Room Tip: No A/C in the rooms. It gets pretty hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sezfree4u, General Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you found our place to be a great place to relax. The property is large, and it is an an eco resort, Hence the issue of remoteness, we find a bit awkward. 1.5 kilometers from Baie St. Anne, and Cote D'or is not far, it is ideal to our guest, unless of course, one wants his/her hotel room under the Indian shops with all the problems that brings to your holiday. The issue of car renting and bike renting, is a quintessential part of a Praslin holiday for no matter where you stay on Praslin, The areas of interest are well spread out across the span of the island, unless you take the bus to visit the island. Praslin of course, is not Maldive where you are confined to a sun lounger, with no place to walk, bike or tour. Unfortunately, a 2 day visit does not justice to a trip to Praslin.
On the issue of the safe in reception and not in the room. This was a conscious decision by management to provide a safe with a Tag and Bag Service, because of the vastness of the property and span of placement of bungalows, it would be too expensive to camera the whole place, and guests may not like cameras surrounding them where they live. The Reception where the safe is located has 14 cameras, and we have never had a single incident of theft of belongings from the Reception Safe. On the issue of seaweed, it is nature, and it happens, but we have numerous beaches on the property and Praslin itself has numerous beaches accessible easily by bike or car, or bus for the thrifty minded. Iles Des Palmes remains as one Agoda regional said, the best value for money in Praslin, and no one can really complain about anything at this price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    39
    6
    6
    7
See reviews for
22
53
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Perfectly located on its own private beach. Our family visited Praslin for the first time February 2014 and stayed at iles de palmes self-catering bungalows, we were very impressed of the services that was provided to us by the owners and staff. They were very friendly, helpful during our stay. We had a great time. The rooms were very clean and spacious. I would strongly recommend this place and would not hesitate to go back again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sezfree4u, General Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
It is with great pride and gratitude that we read of such a positive comment on Iles Des Palmes Eco Resort. The staff will be advised. Most recently the occupancy permits for Le Vasseur La Buse Restaurant was granted and we are finalizing details for our Chef and expect the restaurant to be fully operational soon.
The new expansion has a great pool area over the ocean looking inwards to the beach and the surrounding sites of Praslin. Today, Seychellois owned hotels compete with international brands, and we are delivering comparable products without the comparable price.
We will continue to strive to offer guests a quality eco product, meet their expectations, and keep our word to them in the Seychelles true tradition.
On behalf of the Iles Des Palmes Team, thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Iles des Palmes on Prasline Island Seychelles on a round trip which included a week in Mauritius and a stop over in Dubai before flying to rainy London... Other than flying in a luxurious new Emirates airbus!!... the highlight of our trip was in fact the simplest part of our trip; a week at Iles Des Palmes. What made it so special and unique was the sheer tranquillity and serenity of the place. We rented a couple of push bikes and road the windy and sometimes quite precarious roads around Prasline, be sure to bring plenty of drinking water as it is HOT! The most amazing scene was the sun setting behind low lying hills whilst sat on the deck chair by the beautiful new pool. The sea is in touching distance of the bungalows that dot the edge of the beach. The best thing about the morning was the sheer amount of birds singing whilst having a healthy breakfast of fruits and coconuts (provided by our lovely maid - Jessy). They are currently building a poolside restaurant and lounge which I am sure will be 'the' spot to hang out after a lazy day sunbathing on one of Prasline's world famous beaches! This place is incomparable to any others due to its uniqueness... When my kids are bit older we are planning on a family trip as they have acres of flat, manicured grass land, tortoise, canoe's, tall palms and of course the beach and the sea. I cannot recommend this place highly enough!

Room Tip: Diving is amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sezfree4u, General Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you so much for such a positive review for Iles Des Palmes Eco Resort. Our staff have been in overdrive during the holidays to deliver to our guests. Jessy is a fantastic housekeeper, and she has a very special touch. I will convey your appreciation to her. Indeed the pool area is just a real real treat for our guests. The restaurant works had been completed in late September. But we are waiting for government to issue our occupancy permits. They are slow in Seychelles. We do expect to be up and running very soon. 2013 was a year of vast improvements at Iles Des Palmes. We hope our guests in 2014 will appreciate the effort similarly, and we assure all our guests of retaining our value for money ethos and deliver on all our promises to our Guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Our family visited Iles des Palmes for 12 days in December 2013 in one of the 3 bedroom bungalows. As this is one of the cheapest accommodation available we prepared ourselves not to expect too much. We were however very impressed by the lodge and it's staff. The rooms are spacious and always clean. The property is also kept very tidy and there is a sense space that few other resorts on Praslin have (we visited most other lodges on the island for dining out or having some drinks). Their conscience effort to preserve the environment (solar powered lights across the property and no air cons) is also a breathe of fresh air. Other lodges place unnecessary strain (through aircons) on the environment in order to attract a few extra guests. The staff is very friendly in particular the lady that manages everything, Marie Rose. Whenever we required anything, such as extra chairs or mosquito coils she responded very sharply. I would highly recommend staying at Iles des Palmes for anyone who appreciates good service, clean rooms, and the beautiful Seychelle's environment.

Thanks Iles des Palmes and Marie Rose

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sezfree4u, General Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you so much for such valued comment. Indeed, our initial ethos at Iles Des Palmes was to deliver a superior eco nature product for fair value. Our grounds are the second largest on Praslin after Lemuria a golf course, so our guests in the 20 odd bungalows, do indeed have space and nature to interact with. For natural setting and location we are second to none. New Technology has allowed us to replace 250 electric lights with solar lights, saving us money, which in turn steady prices on offer. In the new year we expect to add solar air conditioners, which are now cost effective technology, Thank you for your thumbs up for Iles Des Palmes, it is heart warming to read/hear, our staff efforts have been appreciated. We remain committed to our ethos of delivering an environmental experience for value for money,and keeping our word to our guests, which is a novelty at times .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom self-catering chalets. Lots of space and sufficient kitchen utensils. Clean bathroom towels provided every day. Quiet "beach" close to the chalet - although not suitable for swimming. Sufficient little shops around the island to purchase groceries. Marie-Rose always very helpful and quick to assist with any query / problem; e.g. our car had a puncture and she quickly phoned the car hire for assistance.
Disappointments were: mattress of the double bed was rather 'lumpy" and needs to be replaced; restaurant as advertised not up and running yet; location of Isles des Palmes is opposite the bay from the habour - so some noise is audible rigth through the day and night.
Overall we had a very relaxing trip, being able to do whatever we wanted to, without being tied to the schedule of a hotel.
Take a drive to the beach in front of Raffles - good for snorkeling and swimming and very quiet.

Room Tip: We stayed in Nr 3 - but ALL chalets are situated along the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sezfree4u, General Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for a positive review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Iles Des Palmes Eco Resort. We noted your critique of the bed in No 3 and we will address it .During November and part of December, we have a yearly low tide, this inhibits swimming in front of the bungalows, during low tide. However, during the high tide, it is fine. Additionally, since Iles Des Palmes has over 7 beaches on the property, numerous are accessible by kayak, Anse La Blague is accessible by a short walk and offers fantastic snorkeling options. Depending on weather, and level of fitness, guests should inquire about excellent snorkeling options with the Reception assistants. The restaurant is done. We are waiting for final papers from government to start operations. This seems to be delayed, but we expect it all settled any day now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed in one of the Pirate Cove Bungalows of Iles des Palmes. A beautiful place we really can recommend!
A clean and spacious bungalow right in front of the beach. Just 3 steps from your veranda to the sea.
The bungalows are not right next to each other so you don't immediately look at your neighbors. In front you look at the beautiful Anse Takamaka bay with clear shallow water where you can see fishes and rays from your veranda or enjoy the birds on the lawn. At the back there's a big garden with a lot of coconuts, flowers and a small turtle pasture. The swimming pool area with a beautiful pool right in front of the sea is a very nice place to spend your afternoon and watch the sunset. Unfortunately, because the pool area is new and still a little bit under construction, the bar wasn't open jet. But we stayed there at low season so after all there were no other guest to sell drinks to.

To the main road and the bus stop it's about 15 minutes walk and the nearest shop is a bit further. If you're lucky a nice local will offer you a ride. The bus does not go al the way around the island and you have to pay every time you get in. If you take your time and enjoy being among the locals it's doable, but a rental car would be easier. You can arrange everything with the friendly receptionist.

A wonderfull place for a good price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sezfree4u, General Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you so much for a fair and accurate assessment of our establishment. Iles Des Palmes is first a Seychellois run business, we take great pride our service and product. Secondly, we are an eco resort, which is ideal for nature enthusiasts.Hikers, kayakers, bird watchers, nature lovers, appreciate Iles Des Palmes for its unique placement in the market. Only one other establishment on Praslin has larger grounds, that is a golf course. The added amenity of pool, sun deck, loungers, are all on line. The restaurant and bar is complete. We are only waiting for official documents to commence operations of the best restaurant in Praslin coming soon. Rest assured, we will continue to use our value for money formula in all our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I want to thank Marie-Rose and the whole staff. They made our stay so pleasant, and nothing was too much effort. We felt very taken care of! Our bungalow was lovely, and we really appreciated the beautiful flowers laid out each day. The location is stunning, and we really enjoyed taking a kayak out and going around the bend one afternoon. Lots of fun! The accommodation is more off the beaten track than the big hotels on the island which is wonderful. If you need a rental car or a lift to a restaurant in the evening - the team efficiently organise it all for you. They have recently built a lovely pool on the water - and we enjoyed a cooling off swim each afternoon after our adventures! They plan to open up a restaurant too soon - and this will make the place unbeatable :) We also loved the giant crab which lived in front of our bungalow and was sometimes enticed out with hibiscus flowers... Book at Isles des Palmes! I don't usualy review places but was really wowed by the service, the views and the wonderful self-catering accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sezfree4u, General Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
The staff and management of Iles Des Palmes Eco Resort is completely elated over such a fine and accurate comment on our services and product offer.
Our staff, work tirelessly as a team to meet guests expectations, keep our word, and deliver the service they expect.
Iles Des Palmes screens professionals with empathy being a key characteristic we look for in applicants. Marie Rose is excellent and her smile, makes your day, even if it is raining.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will make Seychelles your regular destination and Iles Des Palmes a second home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iles des Palmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iles des Palmes

Address: Anse Takamaka | Praslin Seychelles, Baie Ste Anne, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Baie Ste Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Baie Ste Anne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iles des Palmes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iles des Palmes bungalows is a premier Eco resort establishment with 20 cosy beach bungalows set out in a 18th century plantation. A large and peaceful garden just meters from the long and white sandy beach of anse takamaka on Praslin island.A pool and bar offer excellent vistas over the ocean. Restaurant Le Vasseur La Buse offers excellent Creole and international cuisine..Detached beach bungalows are typically designed in a Creole manner and fully equipped with all the necessary facilities and amenities for a pleasant stay.All Family units have kitchens. couple units we recommend B&b options.Iles des Palmes Bungalows are split into two different types of accommodations: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Iles des Palmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isles Des Palmes Hotel Praslin Island
Isles Des Palmes Praslin Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iles des Palmes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.