We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful with your personal items!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Iles des Palmes

Save Saved
You added Iles des Palmes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Iles des Palmes
Anse Takamaka | Praslin Seychelles, Baie Ste Anne, Praslin Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Baie Ste Anne
Saint-Pierre, Reunion Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Be careful with your personal items!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We spend one week in october 2011, we were twice stolen : our daughter's shoes, then my watch!
The staff didn't care.
You can go away, there is many other lovely place like this one in Praslin.

Room Tip: rooms on the left zre too close from the road on the back, very noisy in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    30
    6
    6
    7
See reviews for
21
43
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

very boring very bad service and not clean. Very unhappy with the place and the staff. Cant believe that it is closed from 8pm to 8am and no telephone in the rooms so wha t do you do if something happens.........and it is not safe!!!

Room Tip: look somewhere else it will ruin your trip to Praslin that is a beautiful island.......dont think an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

When we arrived in iles de palmes, there was no one to help with the bags so we had to drag them along the sandy path which is v difficult. Iles de palmes doesn't have a phone in the hotel room and the reception close from 8pm to 8am...who do you call in case of emergency? There are no air con in the house. The fan was making noises. The house where we stayed was quite far from the reception, which is no good and inconvenient. We were told that there were baby sharks lingering in the shallow water. Especially when there were cases of death in the water due to sharks, we became very cautious and apprehensive.

Room Tip: no security all around the compound
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We spend 6 days in the Seychelles, 22/10/11 to 28/10/11 and split the 6 nights between Praslin Island and Mahe. In Praslin we stayed in Isles des Palmes and the 2nd night, 23/10/11, we where robbed by a person in the middle of the night. We had been sitting outside on the terrace and went in to prepare to get ready for bed and someone very quite went in to the living room and took cash, mobile phone and camera when we where in the bedroom. We heard someone and turn and see someone running out. Night guard was sleeping and no one else around. The self catering houses are in a very quite location. No staff available after 8pm but we manage to get polise over in the night that was totally relaxed and asked what they could do....robbery happen every where........We left the hotel the day after and staff was totally unhelpful. Same again when we saw the local police to get the police report....they indicated that this have happened before at this hotel and again their excuse was that ....robbery happens everywhere so why was we upset.
So clear warning from Isles des Palmes and also be prepared for a not very safe time in Seychelles specially with local police that have the attitude that it happens all the time and everywhere..........

Room Tip: not safe place to stay........and we do not think any self catering unit they have is safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sezfree4u, Owner at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
I regret to have to read about such an incident. My apologies to the guest, if you contact me through Iles Des Palmes address, I would appreciate more details on the case. However, admittedly, Seychelles as a whole has undergone a spree of petty robberies during this period. I have been the Chairman of the Public Safety Committee of the Hotel Association for years, and we tried to curtail the growing issue of petty theft against Visitors. We had one case of a 14 year boy going about robbing hotel rooms throughout Praslin in 2011. He has been caught. It is amazing how much damage one bad apple can do. In November 2011, we installed cameras on the hotel area, and we have not had a single incident since then. We also had to install fences to curb access, something which we never expected to have to do. It is done now. Additionally we do have security personnel these days. But until 2006 we all slept with our windows open in Praslin, no fence , no security. Hence , any attack on a Guest is traumatic for them , I know, it is equally traumatic for us. At times Guests do not follow instructions, and leave cameras out, wallets. The bungalows are right on the beach, and fishermen pass by. While Iles Des Palmes is a private eco reserve, the beach remains in Seychelles Public.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We where a bit nervous booking Isles de Palmes after reading some of the reviews on this site. We did anyway also based on the lack of options.

So after a 22h trip we finally arrived at Isles de Palmes and we where positively surprised by the place. The bungalows have a lot of space and are very clean, the shower was one of the best we had on the Seychelles (in terms of water pressure). The staff was always very helpful.

The bungalows are set in a nature reserve and the view from the patio is beautiful. Yes the beach is not really for swimming but then you are only about 20 car minutes away from Anse Lazio and the beautiful Valle de Mai is very close.

We saw guests who rented bikes but we would recommend a car and if you don't like animals inside and outside the house don't go there.

For us this was a perfect spot and if we get back to Praslin we shall stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

This self catering resort is good value, with simple rooms and a quite location. it is quite isolated from restaurants and shops, and has no on site facilities (shop or restaurant) so a car as a must. It has a private beach, mainly at low tide, but not for lazing on. The rooms though all have lovely patios and sun decks on the lawns in front.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

Great value for money, and very well-equipped bungalows, which were thoroughly cleaned each day to a very high standard. Lovely location, quiet, and peaceful, with almost all bungalows being only a few feet from the beach; but not a great swimming beach. Also, property has no restaurant or shop on the premises, so we found a car to be a necessity rather than a luxury. No telephone in any bungalow, and no wi-fi. Wish they would install this, which would make the bungalows almost perfect! Staff all very helpful and friendly. Overall a lovely stay. We would most definitely return!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, view, privacy
  • Disliked — Internet access, and no phone
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iles des Palmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iles des Palmes

Address: Anse Takamaka | Praslin Seychelles, Baie Ste Anne, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Baie Ste Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Baie Ste Anne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iles des Palmes bungalows is a premier Eco resort establishment with 20 cosy beach bungalows set out in a 18th century plantation. A large and peaceful garden just meters from the long and white sandy beach of anse takamaka on Praslin island.A pool and bar offer excellent vistas over the ocean. Restaurant Le Vasseur La Buse offers excellent Creole and international cuisine..Detached beach bungalows are typically designed in a Creole manner and fully equipped with all the necessary facilities and amenities for a pleasant stay.All Family units have kitchens. couple units we recommend B&b options.Iles des Palmes Bungalows are split into two different types of accommodations: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Iles des Palmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isles Des Palmes Hotel Praslin Island
Isles Des Palmes Praslin Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iles des Palmes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.