We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and bay view right from our bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colibri Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Colibri Guest House to your Saves list
Colibri Guest House
Baie Ste Anne, Praslin Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Polsbroek, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great stay and bay view right from our bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed for a week in January and it was great! We had a room from which we could see the bay right from our bed. The bay is really nice, lot's of fish and some activity to watch, fishermen, ferry's and of course fish. We spotted a manta right from our veranda!

Restaurant has great food, staff is really friendly. Our stay would have been perfect if there would have been drinks and snacks at the pool. You need to take care of that by yourself, although you can get drinks at the reception.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie and Step... H, Owner at Colibri Guest House, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer & Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review following your stay with us at Chalets Cote Mer & Colibri Hotel. It is very rewarding to hear we exceeded your expectations.

Since you stayed in one of our rooms where you could see the bay from your bed we are sure that you could hear the lovely noises from our ocean literally meters away from our rooms. We hope that you will return one day for another holiday as we would gladly await your next return.

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts in snacks and drinks by the pool. We will definitely look into it for the future for our guests.

Please feel free to contact us directly should you require any further assistance with future bookings.

Warm Regards,
Sylvie and Stephan Hattingh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    50
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
15
93
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stay with a large family (7 people) at Colibri for six days over New Year 2014.
The rooms have very high standard with a marvelous view from the hotel rooms of the
bay where the Cat Coco arrives at Prasiln. The food was excellent and 100% safe, the personnel fantastic and with all services you can get at an affordable price. The party arranged without additional cost for the new year celebration was fantastic with a large Creole style buffet! The owners make all to they can to meet your holiday expectation in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Swimming in the bay just below the Hotel is fine as there are now big waves and easy to get access to the water and also quite nice for snorkeling, but at low tide and after rain, the water quality goes down due to the dirty water coming into the bay from the rivers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie and Step... H, Owner at Colibri Guest House, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer & Guest,

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at Chalets Cote Mer & Colibri Hotel.

We are really happy that we delivered a service that met your expectations. All of the team here always try their hardest to anticipate our guest’s needs and like I always do, have passed on your kind words to them.

At our hotel guests can enjoy the best of both worlds - the tranquility and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Praslin jetty and Indian ocean view from your room. Our Chef prides himself with exceptional quality of local produce and is guided by feedback from our guests in building up a positive track record for our restaurant.

We remember all the beautiful time spend together with your family at the Hotels facilities. It still brings back memories especially the lovely bottle of Champagne (Ruinart Blanc de Blanc) you shared with us. We thank you for sharing your holiday experience on TripAdvisor and we are looking forward welcoming you back to the Seychelles in the not too distant future.

Warm regards all the way from Seychelles,
Sylvie & Stephan Hattingh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at Colibri in July and we loved it. Nature stlye bungalows set in a beautiful, colourful garden at the coastline near the jetty. Apart the nice little infinity pool with sea view, there are some beautiful "hiding spots" with sun lounges, perfect for couples or silence seekers.
Great, nourishing breakfast with fruits, eggs and local jams. Fantastic dinner (price is pretty good too compared with the island restaurants) and a lovely staff! This summer a young couple took over the guesthouse management...we got to know them as happy, greatful and helpful people in all kind of situations...and they sure can give you some extra-infos making your stay at Praslin even more unforgettable:)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie and Step... H, Owner at Colibri Guest House, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer & Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay - our goal is to always provide a "home from home" experience to all guests visiting Chalets Cote Mer & Colibri Hotel.

At our hotel guests can enjoy the best of both worlds - the tranquility and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Praslin jetty and Indian ocean view from your room. Our Chef prides himself with exceptional quality of local produce and is guided by feedback from our guests in building up a positive track record for our restaurant.

I have passed your praise to the whole team, who were equally delighted to hear that you had another enjoyable stay. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, and it motivates us to work even harder when our high level of service is acknowledged.

I am absolutely overjoyed that you loved our jams. We put a lot of effort to make our own local jams (preserves) from mostly local produce. Currently we have 11 jams made by our dedicated kitchen.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our beautiful Hotel again in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with any future bookings.

The team at Chalets Cote Mer & Colibri Hotel looks forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Sylvie & Stephan Hattingh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We spent the second week of October at Colibri. We found this place perfect for us as we were doing scuba diving and needed plenty of room for drying our equipment. This unit is at the end of the road and provided complete privacy. Other units in the development were much closer together. One wall of the unit is all sliding windows which provided a wonderful view of the bay. The windows were the only source of air conditioning but the island breezes kept us comfortable. Other units appeared to have AC units.
Breakfast was included in our plan, dinner was by reservation at 20€.
The hospitality of everyone was exceptional.
We learned that very few Americans visit the Seychelles and first language seemed to French. Communicating in English was never a problem.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie and Step... H, Owner at Colibri Guest House, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer & Guest,

We are really happy that we delivered a service that met your expectations. All of the team here always try their hardest to anticipate our guest’s needs and like I always do, have passed on your kind words to them.

At our hotel guests can enjoy the best of both worlds - the tranquility and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Praslin jetty and Indian ocean view from your room. Our Chef prides himself with exceptional quality of local produce and is guided by feedback from our guests in building up a positive track record for our restaurant.

The team at Colibri Guest House is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other property Chalets Cote Mer which you may already know are literally meters away from each other.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Sylvie & Stephan Hattingh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Arrival
We stayed here as part of our honeymoon. Upon arrival at the reception, you are welcomed with a welcoming drink and greeted with a whole bunch of rules and regulations. It was clear that this is more a business than a small-scale guesthouse. We were taken to our room in a golf cart by Deepak. He was very friendly and helpfull.

Room
Our first impression of the room was amazement:
- There were two floors, each with their own balcony!
- The king sized bed was on the upper floor and had a mosquito net above it.
The lower floor had a bunk bed, a fridge, two chairs and an en-suite bathroom.
- The views were simply astonishing
- During our stay our room was cleaned every day, towels were changed every two days.

However, after having spent a few hours in the room, we got to know its drawbacks:
- The roof is completely thatched with palm leaves. Very rustic, but not very bug-proof. One morning we found a gecko trapped in the bathroom sink and a huge cockroach on the floor, lying on its back, unable to turn itself around.
Also, we had the impression that the dried leaves of the roof had a distinctive smell about them.
- The windows and doors to the balcony could only be closed with a blind, which leaves it open to the elements and the geckos (and other bugs). The advantage of this being that you don't need airconditioning as you can feel the ocean breeze.
- The mosquito net smelled so bad we had to spray it with deodorant. Also, there were small holes in it, so we were very lucky there weren't a lot of mosquitos during this time of year.
- There were a lot of cobwebs in the nave of the roof.
- The whole room was very damp. Maybe this has to do with the time of year, but our clothes, bedding and towels were damp all the time.
- The shower in the bathroom did not look clean at all. It had stains all over the floor.
- There was no curtain in front of the bathroom window. We had to seal it off using a towel.

Food
The people serving breakfast and dinner in the restaurant were very friendly. It only took them a day to know who you are (and in which room you are staying).
Breakfast was good with a variety of three types of bread, although some more fruit would have been nice. Coffee, tea, water, hot and cold milk, jams were available in a buffet.
The dinner is optional, but great value for money. For 18 euros you get an appetizer, main course and desert. Portions were large and you had two choices for the maincourse (which you had to make in the morning at breakfast).

Facilities:
- Nice and clean infinity pool
- Great service: renting a car for a day was no problem. We could even use it to drive to the airport on our last morning, accompanied by a member of the staff, who took the car back afterwards.
- The cockroach and gecko were gone after housekeeping had come by.
- There is a complementary transfer to the jetty for those who travel by boat.

All in all, we were a bit disappointed about the room. We normally go camping, so we are used to bugs and dampness. But at a campsite you get what you pay for. Here, we expected more for the price we paid. But, in fairness, we had room number 1 and it appeared to us that other rooms didn't suffer from these disadvantages. But almost every room does have the same amazing views!!

Room Tip: Chalets Côté Mer are on the same premises and make use of the same facilities and service (pool, res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie and Step... H, Owner at Colibri Guest House, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer & Guest,

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at Colibri Guest House.

We are really happy that we delivered a service that met your expectations. All of the team here always try their hardest to anticipate our guest’s needs and like I always do, have passed on your kind words to them.

At our hotel guests can enjoy the best of both worlds - the tranquility and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Praslin jetty and Indian ocean view from your room. Our Chef prides himself with exceptional quality of local produce and is guided by feedback from our guests in building up a positive track record for our restaurant.

However we are equally disappointed that you were not very happy with our room. We do remember that you have mentioned it to us whilst your stay with us. Please rest assured that since then we have really taken your mentioned points into consideration and action was taken upon those.

We really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to Colibri Guest House in the not so distant future.

Please feel free to contact us directly for any future bookings.

Regards,
Sylvie & Stephan Hattingh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very nicely located upon a hill. It offers fantastic views for sunset. Does not have a beach nearby but it is not an issue as 3mjin with a rented car. The buffet is not so good... A bit expensive for what we get. We got a bad experience with a tour they suggested us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie and Step... H, Owner at Colibri Guest House, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer & guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay in July 2013 at Colibri Guest House.

I am most disappointed to read that you had such a bad experience with one of the tours we have suggested to you. I can still remember that you have mentioned the company we suggested to you and we have indeed pursued investigation on it regarding good services to be provided to our guests upon. We thank you for sharing with us your experience with the tours you've received and and helps us a lot to make things better.

We are equally disappointed that you did not have great experience with our cuisine. We Have indeed looked into the matter and resolved the area of our shortcomings.

However, we are really happy that we delivered a service that met your expectations. All of the team here always try their hardest to anticipate our guest’s needs and like I always do, have passed on your kind words to them.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards,
Sylvie and Stephan Hattingh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We've stayed in this hotel during our trip on Seychelles, and it was amazing time!!! The rooms are very nice, with amazing view! The territory is very green.
Hotel is situated next to the ferry, about 5 min walk up the hill. You don't even need a taxi when you arrive.
They also make a very nive jams, that you can buy, 4$ for a can.

Room Tip: All bungalows have ocean view, so choose any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie and Step... H, Owner at Colibri Guest House, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Milena,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at Colibri Guest House with us and other travelers. Our staff takes great pride in seeing that our guests’ needs are met, and are therefore delighted that you had such an enjoyable time.

I am absolutely overjoyed that you loved our jams. We put a lot of effort to make our own local jams (preserves) from mostly local produce. Currently we have 11 jams made by our dedicated kitchen.

Thank you again for staying with us and review, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Sylvie & Stephan Hattingh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colibri Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colibri Guest House

Address: Baie Ste Anne, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Baie Ste Anne
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Baie Ste Anne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mentioned as a reference in all major tourist guides, The COLIBRI Guesthouse possesses an undisputable typical charm. All its chalets, combination of noble wood and stone, have a breathtaking ocean view. Pleasantly located on the hillside, nesting amongst the abundant tropical shrubs, the hotel offers 5 superior rooms and 6 standard rooms all with terrace or balcony. The restaurant is situated on the water’s edge. Rene, a French Master Chef, is there to offer you outstanding Creole and International dishes, Guest booking a stay at COLIBRI Guesthouse can look forward to a home away-from-home ambiance, as well as feeling very much part of the owning family, whose generous warmth and friendliness assures a true experience of the Seychelles' way of life. For your comfort, we offer you:• 6 STANDARD ROOMS : 5 Double rooms (Max 2 Pers) one of them can be turned into a triple room - 1 Duplex (Max 4 pers). No air-condition in standard rooms. All our rooms have King size Bed, Coffee-tea making facility, private shower room, safety box, hairdryer, television, fridge and fan. The triple room consists of 1 king size bed and 1 single bed. The duplex has a king size bed on the mezzanine and 2 bunk beds on the ground floor. For more than 4 occupants, the duplex has a connecting double room. The daily cleaning of the room is provided with the bath towels changed every 2 days and the bed sheets every 3 days. A wireless Internet Access is available at the reception at extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Colibri Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colibri Guest House Hotel Praslin Island
Colibri Hotel Praslin Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colibri Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.