We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Feuilles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chateau de Feuilles to your Saves list
Chateau de Feuilles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pointe Cabris, Baie Ste Anne, Praslin Island, Seychelles   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Baie Ste Anne
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

First of all, I should say that our vacations were great because we've made a right choice! Chateau de Feuilles is the best option for those who want privacy, comfort and chic. You will be treated as a very special guest, and the fact that they have only 9 rooms in the hotel doubles the effect of the serenity of the location. The staff was effective and cooperative. Unfortunately, our stay started with an unpleasant incident. I've booked a room 5 months in advance, having carefully studied the hotel's website. Our option was Junior Suite (each room has a detailed description and a virtual tour). When we arrived, we were told that the hotel has three Junior Suites, and the one we got was ok, but it has a smaller balcony, less privacy and the view was less "panoramic" than we expected. After a short discussion with the management, the next day we were upgraded to Ocean Chateau Suite. It was very nice and the view was terrific. The place we enjoyed most of all was the jacuzzi (you can take some drinks and enjoy sunset or sunrise;). It would be nice if there were a lantern from the side of the rocks, but anyway you'll definitely enjoy it! The hotel provided us with nice touches almost every day! We got a bottle of champagne on our arrival, a nice candle for St Valentine's Day (btw, delicious dinner with lobster and a glass of champagne!), a farewell present and so on. I was much surprised to find free drinking water in your room every day (during our previous stay at a 5-star-hotel at Bora Bora we had to pay USD 6$ for each bottle). I also noticed that the hotel management carefully reads all the reviews, and now you get quite a good quantity of Nespresso capsules for free. Thus I should say that the breakfast in such an exquisite hotel could be a little more "cordon bleu". After a superb dinner I supposed we could order something like egg Benedict or scrambled eggs with seafood for breakfast:) I was also a little bit disappointed with the desserts, but only if compared to salads and main dishes! Finally, I'd like to say that the hotel is worth the money you pay and do not hesitate to choose it if you want to spend a few days in paradise!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    21
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
231
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful, wonderful place. Small, intimate, peaceful. Superb views, excellent food. Great massage treatments. The private island is amazing. A superb place on a breathtaking island. We had high expectations and the chateau surpassed them in every way.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Classy hotel with excellent service and very friendly and well mannered staff. The view is spectacular (especially from the open air jacuzzi). The restaurant is top notch (expected from a C&R establishment). Absolutely recommended, particularly if you are traveling with your partner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Probably our best vacation experience so far. Excellent hotel, all aspects - the front office, nicely renovated, cozy and spacious rooms, a large and deep swimming pool, the restaurant food and staff, hotel territory (very well designed and green) and of course the SPA (astonishing view and a great massage). The staff everywhere was very friendly and helpful.

The TripAdvisor site shows this hotel to be a five star establishment, but as the comments from the hotel state they are a four star resort, however you will never see the difference. This is truly a five star hotel in the best traditions.

There are a few things I would recommend the management to do (don’t get me wrong - everything was great and the hotel will get the highest rating from me, but there is always some room for improvement):

put a second massage table in the SPA (would be a great option to have a couples massage at the same time)
a bit more meat/chicken/duck options in the lunch and dinner menus would be nice for non-fish lovers. We did get meat for our dinner, but you have to ask for it, otherwise you will get fish, deliciously cooked fish to be exact
some small chocolates at the bed in the evening would be nice (that’s a thing my wife missed)

Hmmm, I guess that’s it:).

A small tip - you can ask for special meals of your choice at the restaurant for lunch or dinner. The sandwiches are quite good. Out of all the restaurants we tried on Praslin and Mahe this one is the best.

One more thing - the hotel is very quite and you will rarely see any other guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Our daughter was taking a fall break trip with her school and so for the first time in 25 years, my wife and I could contemplate taking a special trip for just the two of us. The Seychelles are a convenient destination for us via Qatar Airways and so I started looking. Based on the tripadvisor reviews, Chateau de Feuilles seemed like the ideal spot. I have to admit though, I kept wondering if it could be as good as it looked. All I can say, is that words and pictures cannot even begin to describe this slice of heaven.

From the moment we arrived, we were treated like honored guests. All of the staff knew our names and were never too busy to talk to us. They gave us advice when we asked but never pushed anything on us. They answered our questions about the islands, suggested places to go, and told us what to watch out for.

We ended up booking a Junior Suite. I don't think it would have mattered which room we ended up with, however, because whatever direction you looked, the view was unbelievable. The jacuzzi really does have a 360 view. Even more incredible is that you will often have it completely to yourself. The pool is small, but like the jacuzzi, you will often find that you have it to yourself as well, so who cares. Definitely book a massage too--one of the best I've ever had. The only problem was that I kept wanting to look out at the view.

Then there's the food. Breakfast was always more than we could eat--make sure you try the homemade yoghurt. We ended up being around for lunch on several days--ask Harry about the sandwiches. They're not on the menu, but they're delicious. And dinner--each night when you are seated, they hand you a copy of the set menu for the evening. We love seafood, and there was not a single dish in the four nights we were there that disappointed us.

The highlight for us though was the weekend trip to Grande Soeur island. It really is a private island with one beach for swimming and sunbathing that looks straight out of a movie set and another with a pavillion where they spread the feast that they called lunch--can you imagine a grilled red snapper that was as big as the tortoises roaming the island? There's a reef near the lunch pavillion with incredible snorkeling and the fish are so tame that we were able to simply walk in the water and have them to come up to our feet waiting for us to feed them.

So, was I nervous that it couldn't be as good as people said it was? Yes. Was it as good the reviews said? It was better. Will I go back? Most definitely.

One final piece of advice--we took the catamaran from Mahe. The day we arrived, it was raining and the water was rough. The day we left, it was sunny and smooth sailing. Let's just say that we wished we had taken Dramamine for the ride out (and so did a whole lot of other people).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLV
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

How should I say it…
Unforgettable hospitality, personal treatment as we were the only guests in the hotel, marvelous view as you see only in dreams. Calm style, fine dining and so much more.
All of the above Makes it difficult to go out from this lovely hotel but don't give u on the excursion to Grande Soeur, the privet island.
It was defiantly the perfect vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Good points:
- great location with extensive views over the ocean
- the jacuzzi on top of the estate with a brilliant surround view. 
- hot tub outside our room was lovely. 
- staff were very personable and chatty. Sometimes the service was a bit slow to respond to requests but in the end you always got what you wanted. 
- while the hotel doesn't have direct access to a beach they provide a rental car which allows you to explore the island. All beaches on praslin are public access so this doesn't matter too much in any case. The nicest beach is anse lazio which doesn't have a hotel on it. 

Not so good:
- we were disappointed by the quality of the food served in the restaurant in the evening. It was definitely well below the standards that we have come to expect of a Relais and Chateau. 
- the decor in the rooms was very old fashioned and plain (dark wood with cream and earthy colours, brown bedding). I am sure that this was meant to blend in with the surrounding landscape but it felt very dated and very dark. 
- room was quite small - c 40m2 which you would expect in a city hotel. 
- value for money was not as good as expected. The hotel even charged €2 for a nespresso capsule which we didn't expect when paying €400+ per night. 

Overall, three out of five. 

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaudefeuilles, Propriétaire at Chateau de Feuilles, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guest,

My team and I just read your comment that you left on Trip Advisor and I must express my disappointment and sadness ! While in September, the weather was not so good for two weeks which I might think may have caused you to write this negative image of the Château De Feuilles?

Let me assure you that the hotel industry in the Seychelles has nothing to do with that of Europe since we have to import everything and freight costs are very important because all of our supplies comes from Europe ... 10'000KM! There are plenty of things to be taken into consideration!
Exclusivity has a cost since we have only 9 rooms in total! Managing a large property with helipad too! There is a team of 35 people who work and do their best to make everything PERFECT!

Take the case of your Nespresso coffee, I do not want to include it in the price of the room because it will penalize those who do not drink coffee. On the other hand, here are the details of the cost of a Nespresso capsule because there is no shop or order by phone service as you have in Europe! We need to fly by air from Europe, then we have to go through all the formalities once in Seychelles which include 200% taxes! for the government (not for us!) the cost of bringing to our island and managing with respect of expiry dates and the box presenting the entire collection! The amortization of the purchase price of the nespresso machine which is filled everyday with pure water ( that contains no chlorine or bacteria) not to mention the quality of the BIO sugar that we offer, milk, ... cups (made in France) Christofle silverware in the restaurant furthermore you will have to buy the special cleaning products to keep it shining and there again there is a cost!

In your comment you have not even appreciated the fact that we have offered you a free upgrade , a bottle of champagne (brand), a beach bag embroidered (made in Chateau De Feuilles!), The heart shaped decoration with fresh bougainvillea flowers on your bed.

For the restaurant, I am very sad because with all the work behind to prepare meals with fresh ingredients, most of which are organic! Taking the half-board option ,the cost would have been cheaper and you would have had a reduction of over 30%!
You cannot imagine the cost of imports and the management of a structure such as the Château! and it hurts to feel that all our efforts and as for me personally a lifetime devoted to Chateau ... Another small detail ,for breakfast, I offer you coffee BIO, BIO teas only! There are not many hotels that offer this? Its a pity you have not been sensitive to all the small details and the refinement of the Château!

As for the decoration of the room it is zen, how can you criticize real solid wooden teak furniture with African style rope! Maybe its better to put ikea furniture as in all hotels!? Taps: Jacob Delafon (made in France! Wash basin with cystalised bowl!) The simplicity of the materials, granite stone and precious wood because the wood used in the Junior Suite 7 is Sandragon and Takamaka (two precious wood from Seychelles we recovered from cutting down for renovation fifteen years ago!) and all linen fabrics! The bedding linen consists of of linen (with signature: PORTAULT (made in France) for the true king size bed of 200x200 which is made only for palaces! Cost of a bedsheet: 300. - Euro! or presidential suites) the mattress cover and pillow are made from bamboo fibre that allows you to sleep more comfortably because it helps the body’s energy . Once again I do not understand how the room is old ???

With regards to the space of the rooms we can not increase since there is a law in Seychelles for the past 10 years which prohibits the constructions of 80m above sea level ... and we are 100m!

Cédric MOREL
Maître de Maison - Propriétaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Feuilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Feuilles

Address: Pointe Cabris, Baie Ste Anne, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Baie Ste Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Baie Ste Anne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Feuilles 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Incomparable and of an oustanding beauty, Le Château de Feuilles Relais & Chateaux hotel & SPA in Praslin Seychelles invites you for a luxurious and unique stay where everything is designed to respect your privacy and your comfort.Luxurious, exclusive and considered as one of the most beautiful hotels of the Seychelles, Le Château de Feuilles is a member of the prestigious hotel chain Relais & Châteaux.The property, surounded majestically with the warm and turquoise waters of Seychelles, offers stunning and unrivalled 180° - 300° panoramas of exception to enjoy the dance of the waves and get carried away by the immensity of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Chateau de Feuilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Feuilles Hotel Praslin Island
Chateau De Feuilles Praslin Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Feuilles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.