We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but could be even better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Feuilles

Save Saved
You added Chateau de Feuilles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau de Feuilles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pointe Cabris, Baie Ste Anne, Praslin Island, Seychelles   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Baie Ste Anne
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good, but could be even better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at Chateau de feuilles (CDF) for 3 nights during our two week honeymoon on the seychelles.
Both on booking.com and Tripadvisor, CDF gets the highest ratings, excellent reviews and even some "best hotels" awards. Our expectations were therefore very high (also due to the fact that we payed a hefty 850 euros/night for half-board).

Overall it was very nice, but there is also room for improvement.
The hotel is spectacularly located on one of the southern tips of the island and offers breathtaking views onto the ocean and many neighboring islands. It also seemed that the property is rather well protected from the wind, which can be quite intense otherwise in some parts of the islands.
We stayed in the Garden Ocean Suite, the most expansive room among the 9 offered (except for the family one), and it was the right decision. The room was not pure luxury, but beautiful and charmingly furnished with alot of attention to details, a bit resembling an african lodge. It had two terraces, one on each side of the bed room facing opposite bays. Great to have breakfast delivered there! Since it was our honeymoon, the staff also decorated the room nicely with flowers and an offered bottle of wine. The room was further away and on the second floor which made it among the most private in the resort. Other rooms in the resort seemed less private and smaller.
A great and original amenity of the hotel is the hilltop jacuzzi which is located on the highest point and provides 270 degrees of uninterrupted views on the ocean and neighboring islands.
Since there are only 9 rooms, so ~20 guests, the resort also feels very private and pool/jacuzzi/tanning chairs are mostly available.
A big plus of the hotel is the trip that they offer on the weekends for all the hotel guests to a private deserted island close-by. Beautiful island, barbecue on the beach and the best snorkeling ever for us (turtle, shark and loads of fishes) made it a full success. So make sure your stay includes a weekend.

During our honeymoon, we checked out other resorts such as Four Seasons and Banyan Tree on Mahe and Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie on la Digue. While in a similar price class, CDF brings in more of a personal charming touch, but it is also less luscious.
The pool area, for example, is rather disappointing. With views like these, an infinity pool is almost a must-have. Instead, it is a standard pool deck with no lighting at night. The lower-situated sun deck seems a bit lost and lacks a plunge pool. Great potential for improvement!

We chose half-board, i.e. dinner included, drinks excluded, which costs ~100 euros plus another 50 if you want a bottle of wine and some water. So 150 euros per dinner.
Dinner is a set menu, 3-4 courses and served, which is nice, but the food could be better and more exciting. It's either white fish or some curry stew, ok, but a bit boring. For theses prices, we had excellent dinners in other restaurants on the island which one should easily be able to access with the hotel's complimentary car service (we didn't make use of it). In all fairness, we are not the biggest fans of half-board in general and we think that this half-board is probably among the better ones. Still, room for improvement, it is a relais&chateaux afterall.
Finally, it was sometimes difficult to communicate with the staff, being either a bit unfriendly (for seychelles standards) or trying to make awkwardly conversation.

In summary, we really enjoyed our stay here. One can tell that a lot of efforts were made to make this place a special, original and fantastic place to relax and enjoy. With success! Some things could be done better.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    19
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
213
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Chateau de Feuilles in May as part of our honeymoon. This hotel was not in our original itinerary but after checking into a less than satisfactory hotel my husband booked us 3 nights here and off we went… it was the best part of our honeymoon and I am so glad we had the pleasure of staying here.

For me the best thing about Chateau de Feuille was the quiet and tranquil (yet stylish and up market) setting. The pictures of the views on the website do not do this place justify – you have to go and see it for yourself.

The service is excellent - it felt as if there were more members of staff than guests which meant very attentive service where nothing was too much hassle – the staff are there in the background when you need them but I always felt like we had our privacy and could relax.
The food was superb and the restaurant in the evening is a relaxed yet elegant setting, breakfast is of the same standard and can be eaten on your terrace should you choose.

I had a massage in the treatment room which was excellent and once the masseuse had finished I sat out on the veranda – again more fantastic views in a very peaceful setting – amazing.

I was very sad to leave Chateau on the fourth day but with hindsight it was probably just the right amount of time to spend there, the Seychelles is a fantastic place with so much to see – we went onto the Banyan Tree on Mahe after this and it’s a very different island and hotel but I enjoyed the variety.

I would not hesitate to return to this hotel, the price tag is expensive but so worth it especially for a honeymoon if you want a romantic and relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here for our honeymoon in May 2012. The hotel is sublimely situated, and the rooms are beautifully appointed. The food was amazing; the staff were most helpful and kind, particulary Harry and Veronica, and took great care to cater for my coeliac diet. We have so many memories which we will always cherish: gazing at the stars of the southern skies from the hilltop jacuzzi late at night; the day-trip to the astoundingly beautiful private island; the sunsets from the terrace. Truly, a once-in-a-lifetime experience, which whilst undoubtedly pricey, was worth the investment. It is the opposite of mass tourism or the formulaic hotel-chain model, so if that is what you are looking for, just take the plunge and go, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had the most fabulous honeymoon at this hotel! They upgraded our reservation to the most wonderful room with breathtaking views on either side of the point. The food was excellent and the staff was incredibly nice and accommodating. There was a small hot/cold tub above the room on a ridge with an amazing 360* view! Cant say enough....

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

If you are looking for a classic, stylish, superb hotel, this is the one! We stayed only too few nights and will definitely go back! The service was outstanding, the views stunning and the food the best the Seychelles had to offer!!! Although not really walking distance from the beach, a rented car is included, so there is no problem in exploring the island! They had an option of a day out and we took it! A trip to Cousin island where we had a delightful guide showing us all the wonders of this nature reserve and then a fish barbecue on another island and then wonderful snorkeling!
The friendly and helpful service from Veronica must be mentioned, she is delightful!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

My wife and I have just returned home, having tremendously enjoyed our stay at the Château de Feuilles. From the moment we arrived, we found ourselves enchanted with the beautiful buildings and grounds, our lovely room with its awesome vista that even the Château's stunning photographs cannot do justice, and, of course, the most hospitable staff. We knew at once that we had found the perfect place to honeymoon. We were no less elated when the time came to experience the sublime cuisine in the restaurant, which I can attest we were loth to leave behind. Everything was so fresh and full of flavor, combined with just the right touch of rusticity, as to leave one utterly contented and perfectly at home.

Our stay coincided with the Southeast monsoon (the dry season), and the Château benefits from its location on the hill of Pointe Cabris at the southeast of Praslin, as the breeze from the shore is just enough to cool the open air dining room and the main building where the Reception is located, so that one can sit without sweating in either long trousers or shorts. Those who have stayed in other resorts in the Seychelles (where the public areas are not generally air conditioned) will find this a welcome change indeed! The guestrooms themselves, of course, are fully air conditioned.

While the room prices include a rental car for guests, we do not drive, and were pleased that we were instead offered €30 worth of taxi rides per day around the island. This proved to be ideal, as our taxi driver (who we used throughout our stay) was talkative and friendly, and very knowledgeable about Praslin. Serving as our de facto guide, we were able to learn a great deal about Praslin and the Seychelles, from local botany, to folklore, history, politics, and daily life on the island.

The staff and owner of the Château conform to a style of service borne of the French mould but colored by the tropical environs. Needless to say, it is therefore of the highest quality but with a reduced degree of formality that befits the location. In particular, Harry and Veronica are very friendly and readily offer suggestions of activities or the easiest way to do things on Praslin or nearby islands. Alexandra, the Manager, is available throughout the day, and most helpful. Together with the Owner, Cédric, they respond quickly and thoroughly to any potentially adverse situation that might present itself to the guests, placing the utmost value on the well-being of the clientele, which is the mark of truly outstanding service. We thank you all for helping to make our Honeymoon unforgettable!

Christopher and Milica

Room Tip: We stayed in the junior suite (room # 10), which was brightly lit (especially by daylight) and with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

OK, lets start with the conclusion, for those who do not want to read the whole review: Fantastic Hotel, one of the best I have ever stayed…simple as that! When we arrived at 8:00 am, Cedric (the owner) was there and he greeted us along with the rest for the staff. A really nice and personal touch.

Location:
The location of the hotel is superb, on top of the hill. The view is excellent and breath-taking. Truly amazing, no matter where you are. The highlight is the Jacuzzi with the 360o view of the Ocean and the inland. It is a unique experience and you have to try it! The only drawback is that the hotel is not by the sea, so if you want to swim in the ocean you have to drive for 5 minutes to go to the nearby beach. However, it is not a big problem, since you have a complimentary car. Furthermore, the gardens are beautiful and maintained in perfect condition.

Accommodation:
We had booked a Junior Suite (the only available room at the time), which we found it excellent. The view is not as good as from the other rooms, but still it is great (you have Ocean view) and you have your own veranda if you would like to sit outside. Inside the room is quite spacious and well appointed. All of the villas are made with natural materials found in the island and they blend in with the environment. We did not find any drawbacks in the room. What is amazing, is how quite the whole resort is, truly a place to escape and relax.

Restaurant:
The hotel has one restaurant, exclusively serving its guests and it is not open for visitors, something which we think is great. Thus, it has just 9 tables plus an extra table for the owner to dine when he is there. The atmosphere of the restaurant is very relaxed but luxurious at the same time. What we liked a lot was the fact that both breakfast and dinner is served and not buffet style.

Breakfast is very good. They bring you a basket of pastries (croissant, bread, cakes, Danish), butter, honey and homemade jam. Coffee and tea are available in a large variety along with fruit juices. In addition you can order whatever you like in terms of cooked breakfast (different style of eggs, bacon, ham etc.), a platter of cheese and a fruit platter…all very tasty and well prepared.

Dinner is simply excellent. We stayed for 5 nights and every night was a nice surprise. 3 nights we had fish, 1 was traditional Creole food and the last one the menu had lobster. Dinner is comprised of 4 courses: starter, salad, main course and desert. All days the food was simply superb. We both like fish, so we had no problem eating it daily (especially since it was so well prepared). Highlight of the dinner was the desert with top one being the ‘’Glace Pralinoise’’ (Praline Ice Cream), which simply was the best Ice Cream we have ever tasted!

Finally, all the staff in the restaurant was very friendly, professional and trying to accommodate our needs. We had a small problem understanding the menu, as we do not speak French but Harry (and the rest of the staff) was more then willing to explain us everything in English.

The only thing we did not like and mark it as a minus in the whole experience was the fact that even water was charged. Of course we do not expect to have free drinks. However, it would be a nice touch (and maybe expected) to offer at least 1 bottle of water and 1 glass of wine or beer complimentary with the dinner. The cost is not that high and it enhances the dinning experience.

Concluding, we had an absolutely wonderful experience in staying the Chateau de Feuilles. Granted, there were 1-2 things that could be improved like: ceiling fans at the restaurant, complimentary water and one drink with dinner, but all in all, the hotel is excellent. It is expensive, but not for what it offers. A truly exclusive resort that makes you feel that way. All the staff is great (thank you Harry and Veronica!!) and try their best to please you. If we can, definitely we will stay there again. Thank you Cedric and continue with the same passion!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau de Feuilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Feuilles

Address: Pointe Cabris, Baie Ste Anne, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Baie Ste Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Baie Ste Anne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Feuilles 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Incomparable and of an oustanding beauty, Le Château de Feuilles Relais & Chateaux hotel & SPA in Praslin Seychelles invites you for a luxurious and unique stay where everything is designed to respect your privacy and your comfort.Luxurious, exclusive and considered as one of the most beautiful hotels of the Seychelles, Le Château de Feuilles is a member of the prestigious hotel chain Relais & Châteaux.The property, surounded majestically with the warm and turquoise waters of Seychelles, offers stunning and unrivalled 180° - 300° panoramas of exception to enjoy the dance of the waves and get carried away by the immensity of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Chateau de Feuilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Feuilles Hotel Praslin Island
Chateau De Feuilles Praslin Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Feuilles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.