We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect wedding due to such amazing staff, outstanding food and an unbelieveable location!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hockley Valley Resort

Save Saved
You added Hockley Valley Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hockley Valley Resort
RR#1, Mono, Ontario L9W 2Y8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mono
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
“The perfect wedding due to such amazing staff, outstanding food and an unbelieveable location!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hockley Valley Resort made our wedding day so amazing. We are so glad we picked Hockley, everything was perfect, the venue looked fantastic, the food was outstanding (our guests are still raving about it!) and the staff were amazing. From the maintenance guys who greeted us in the elevators, asking how we were enjoying our stay, the serving staff who on the morning of, opened up the ballroom to have AB&C and moved all the tables and chairs back, all the way to the bar tender of our wedding who at last call gave one of our groomsmen a drink for my now husband and I (she even remembered what we were drinking!!)
These are the thing that made our experience and our guests experience over the top!!

The service, food, drinks, & atmosphere was amazing, perfect, beautiful; and absolutely excellent! We truly appreciate all the hard work from all staff that put so much effort in making our wedding day a memorable celebration for us and our guests!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVR_President, Owner at Hockley Valley Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your response.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your wedding here at the Resort. We will be sure to pass on your remarks to our team.

Our team works tirelessly to make our guest's stays an enjoyable one, and it would appear that they did just that with you and your wedding guests.

Again, thank you for choosing Hockley Valley Resort. Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    61
    42
    30
    23
See reviews for
59
113
8
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We took our Mother to the spa for her 90th birthday. The experience was exceptional from start to finish. We have never had a spa experience where all the staff without question were so attentive, the treatments were equally of a professional quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVR_President, Owner at Hockley Valley Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your response.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your spa experience. What a wonderful treat for your Mom's milestone birthday!

Best wishes and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

It is really hard to write a review for this place as I feel one would have two completely different experiences depending what part of the resort you were staying in. We stayed at Hockley for 3 nights as part of a wedding. We were told we got a discount rate because of this. However, it is not a discount, it's just a crappy room that you are paying more than enough for. I wish we had known this, as we would have splurged and got a nice room but on arrival it was too late since the resort was fully booked. We also overheard many other guests complaining about this too. They need to be honest outright that the "discounted" rooms are incrediably basic and intended only for drunkenly returning to your room to pass out. We did have friends staying in the upgraded rooms and it is a world of a difference. We were expecting to have a nice romantic getaway as we very rarely get time to ourselves and it was anything but. The bed skirt had noticeable dirt all over it, as if the last guests trekked through the mud than rubbed their feet along the bottom (not easily missed). Kind of hard to sleep (or not sleep ;) when you can hear every moan coming from the rooms beside you. It wasn't fair to us or them that the walls were that thin. Overall cleanliness was very poor in the rooms and indoor pool area, however, the lobby and restaurants were very well kept and beautiful.

The food at Babbo is tasteless. They have so much garlic growing out front in the garden, yet forgot to add it to the caeser salad. I couldn't even finish it as it tasted like soggy lettuce, we paid then went offsite to eat at Mono Cliff Inn (which was spectacular!). The server at Babbo was very pleasant and did a phenomenal job.

On the plus side, the wedding we attended was phenomenal. The food was amazing (much better than Babbo's caeser and potato leek soup). The service was good and the venue was perfect. Couldn't have asked for much more.

The downside to having so many weddings going on is that you cannot really enjoy the outdoor pool area. The wedding tent is right beside the pool and it feels like you are intruding on someones wedding as all the guests hang out around the pool area.

One of the worst things about this hotel is the Breakfast. You have a choice of muffin/ croissant or $30 buffet.So for anyone just wanting some fresh fruit, you have to pay $30 for it. Beware that the gratuities for the buffet are already included on top of the $30 on your bill ( they don't tell you so you tip twice...it's a nice little thing they have going on there). The buffet was not very good as the pastries are stale and food sitting out too long.

Overall, I don't think I would return for a romantic getaway here. They do put on a good wedding and I think that is what they specialize in. I would return for a wedding here, but would stay overnight/ eat somewhere else.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a renovated room or at least one of the rooms with the canopy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVR_President, Owner at Hockley Valley Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

We have a wide variety of rooms, from basic resort rooms to bi-level suites. Guests will find that all of our rooms have now been renovated.

Our breakfast buffet has an extensive selection. Fruits, pastries made on site every morning, eggs, organic bacon, smoked salmon, local preserves and organic honey, yoghurts and housemade granola. It's a premium buffet that we get many compliments on.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Hockley in preparation for our son's wedding. We were lucky and had a Travelzoo voucher which made it very affordable. Our room was spacious with a balcony overlooking the gardens. All of the employees we encountered were most friendly and helpful.
We found the food very good. We had the wedding outside in the garden area. The backdrop for pictures was beautiful. The reception was on the outdoor deck and it also was perfect. The food was served in a timely manner.
I would say if you had to pay for breakfast, it was a little pricey but Orangeville is very close and there are a lot of restaurants there.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVR_President, Owner at Hockley Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us for your son's wedding.

Guest service is at the heart of what we do here at the Resort, so we're happy to hear that you experienced that from our Team.

The organic garden certainly is a lovely location for a wedding and photos.

Thank you again for choosing Hockley Valley Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the Hockley Resort on June 21, 2013 for a wedding at a nearby venue. The rooms are very expensive ($300), small (no room for a bedside table, hard to get around the furniture), and dated and worn (small bed sagging in the middle). We had drinks at the pool side bar that were very expensive and not very good. We were really underwhelmed by the hotel. Other guests at the wedding were staying at the Best Western in Orangeville and they were commenting how surprisingly nice it was with large, updated rooms. I would avoid Hockley Valley and try the Best Western if you can get in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVR_President, Owner at Hockley Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. It's unfortunate that we are hearing of this after the fact .
We could have attended to your concerns should you have brought them to our attention while you were here.

We are pleased to say that all of our guest rooms have now been fully renovated, should you wish to stay with us again.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We made a one-night weekend trip to this resort and it’s been a very good experience (having great weather also helped).
We had a Travelzoo voucher (that could be used for weekends too!) so overall I think it was worth the money; regular prices, especially in high-season weekends, are higher than what we’d be willing to spend on weekend trips. The cocktail ticket must be used for the drink of the day, not a menu selection.
The (premier?) room was quite large but mostly long – viewing the TV from the sofa is challenging (also because of keeping the TV in an armoire-like piece of furniture). Everything clean and working well (the window air conditioner a little noisy but this is rather the rule).
The Babbo bar/restaurant is very good; I’d recommend (if travelling on a weekend in summer) planning to experience the Pizza in the Garden – outdoors, surrounded by a real garden (starting at 11:30 if I’m not mistaken).
The resort seems to do a brisk business with weddings and business meetings; this could add some extra free entertainment but also additional noise and more crowded areas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVR_President, Owner at Hockley Valley Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your Travelzoo offer here at the Resort.

The weather has certainly turned a corner and we're all enjoying fabulous warm sunny days on the patio and the golf course.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed Pizza in the Garden. Our wood-fired pizza oven is serving up delicious pizzas in a Tuscany setting - Saturdays and Sundays (and Holiday Monday's) from 11:30 am.

We do hope that you will visit with us again. Enjoy your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had our daughters 25th Wedding Anniversary Party last weekend at HVR and it was awesome. We decided on the BBQ and everyone commented on how delicious it was. The food was fantastic KUDOS to the chef. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. A shout-out to Christine Lawson for a job well done. also a huge thank you to Pamela and Tony for superb service,and Candy from reception who was very pleasant everytime we dealt with her. The location was perfect. We would definitely use this venue again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVR_President, Owner at Hockley Valley Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We're so pleased to hear that your Wedding Anniversary Party was everything you expected. Thank you for your great comments on the food portion of your event, our Team works hard to ensure that our guests have a wonderful culinary experience.

We will pass along your message to our Team and we look forward to having you here again at the Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hockley Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hockley Valley Resort

Address: RR#1, Mono, Ontario L9W 2Y8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Mono
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hockley Valley Resort is a year-round resort located in the heart of some of Ontario’s most picturesquecountryside, one hour from downtown Toronto. Since opening its doors in 1985, Hockley Valley Resort has become a leading culinary tourism, leisure, corporate meeting and wedding destination. The 300-acre boutique property features 104 luxury rooms and suites, 14 meeting rooms, an 8,000 square foot full-service spa, a championship 18-hole golf course designed by renowned Canadian golf course architect Thomas McBroom, and 15 scenic ski and snowboard runs for all levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hockley Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hockley Valley Hotel Orangeville
Hockley Valley Orangeville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hockley Valley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.