We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for Everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center to your Saves list
Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2177 Clute Road, Virgil, NY 13045   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virgil
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun for Everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We visited Greek Peak and the Hope Lake Lodge as it was half way between NYC and Toronto which allowed us to meet our friends. We didn't know what to expect but can honestly say it was excellent. The staff was very accomodating and pleasant, and the facilities at the hotel and waterpark were exceptional. In addition I was very impressed with the junior ski school. It was the first time our 3 year old and 5 year old had been and they both enjoyed the program.

Just a tip for folks who plan on going....bring groceries. The kitchen in our room was completely stocked with everything you'll need to cook dinner, lunch and breakfast. We didn't bring groceries and found the drive to Courtland is a bit of a pain.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaink24, VP of Sales and Marketing at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
We are pleased that you had an excellent stay and thank you for your review. We will pass on your positive comments to the staff and department leaders. Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    149
    54
    16
    12
See reviews for
354
23
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

I found the staff really helpful. The waterpark was a amazing. The quality of food at the restaurant was very good but service was extremely slow at times. The kids ski program as Greek Peak was really excellent.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaink24, VP of Sales and Marketing at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thanks for your feedback. We are working with a new Front of House F&B Manager to help improve small issues such as service times. We will pass on your comments to the staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Kevin Morrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We had our daughter's 7th birthday party at Hope Lake Lodge and could not be more pleased with the experience. We spent the night before the party in a nice suite and made her birthday cupcakes in the kitchen in our room. When we realized we had forgotten our sugar, the kitchen brought us sugar from the restaurant. The next day our guests arrived. Each child was given a bracelet for the waterpark and we spent the afternoon playing in the waterpark and the arcade. The kids ate lunch in the waterpark and enjoyed the cupcakes. My daughter had so much fun - and I did not have to plan any games or events - it was all there. For a party favor we gave each kid tokens for the arcade. They had a great time winning tickets and picking a prize with their winnings. When they left, I got a massage in the Waterfalls Spa - a perfect ending for mom. My daughter says it was the best birthday party ever.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaink24, VP of Sales and Marketing at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thanks so much for your recent stay and more importantly your review. It is great to know that you had a wonderful Birthday experience at our resort. I will follow up with the Resturant and thank them for getting you sugar. We hope to see you again soon.

Kevin Morrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Everything was excellent, We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed skiing and indoor waterpark. The staff was helpful in every way. Will go there again next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaink24, VP of Sales and Marketing at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thanks for your recent stay and Tripadvisor review. We hope to see you again soon as well as during next New Years festivities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

What a wonderful water park, The water was warm, The outdoor pool made the place. I would recommend this hotel, My 7 year old and 5 year old had a ball. Very clean, very friendly staff. I had to change my reservation due to a snow storm at home and Mike was great with changing it. The snow tubing across the street was a lot of fun too. Even the restaurant food was good.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaink24, Director of Sales at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Thank you very much for spending part of your holiday season with us. We appreceiate your honest and flattering input regarding all aspects of our resort. We will most certainly pass on your comments regarding Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayre, PA
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

This was a great place for the whole family! Younger ones loved the indoor waterpark while the older ones enjoyed skiing. Tubing center wasn't all that appealing after several runs just down a hill especially for $22 each for an hour or 2 we stayed there. But our 10-person suite was really nice and the staff went out of their way to accomodate- very friendly! Quite pricey over a holiday and especially when you have to buy extra waterpark passes. If you are paying for a 10-person accomodation, then 10 passes should be included! But the whole family had a great time!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaink24, Director of Sales at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 1, 2011
Thanks for choosing to spend the Holiday with us this year. We are glad that your whole family had fun. The tubing ticket is a 5 hour ticket so we apologize if you thought it was for a shorter amount of time. We will certainly share your comments about the friendliness of our staff. Look forward to seeing you any your family again soon.

Kevin Morrin
VP of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

I took my two kids (7 & 9) to Greek Peak for a 2 night stay (sun - tues). We stayed in the A type room with loft which was the perfect size. I had the master bedroom upstairs with a ful bath to myself. My kids slept downstairs on the pull-out sofa bed and murphy bed (no fighting when each sleeps alone!). There was a full bath downstairs for them, adjacent tot he kitchenette. With the murphy bed down, there was not enough room for the table and chairs to be use, but that was no problem for us. The kitchenette has a full stove top and oven, refrigerator, dishwasher, toaster and coffeepot, with a full supplies of dishes, silverware, and dishtowels.

We arrived late Sunday afternoon and the ambiance was impressive from the start. The woodsy, log cabin look was complete with the fireplace and friendly service. The free valet service unloaded our bags and stored our skis for use. We each received a wristband that would allow access to the waterpark, room, and change machine - pretty cool not to worry about the kids losing the key/card. After the bellhop showed us the amenities of our room and offered future assistance, we immediately changed into our swimsuits and headed to the water park.

My kids were thrilled with the whole place. You use your wristband for admittance and as you enter there is a little food counter that serves burgers, icees, and margaritas! There is a wave pool, 4 wild slides, an inside/outside pool, an inside/outside hot tub, and a little kids play area. I felt quite safe with letting my kids have freedom as there were plenty of lifeguards around. They played for a couple of hours and were ready for bed when the park closed that night.

The next day we headed to the ski mountain. There is a shuttle from the lodge to the mountain. It was before break and so the trails were fairly empty. I took advantage of this and had a private lesson with the three of us. Some of the trails were closed but my kids were plenty happy on the long, meandering trails that the mountain offered. I didn't have a chance to see the black diamonds, but it was well worth being with my two kids!

The next day I indulged in an hour long facial at the spa and it was divine!! Treat yourself!

The service of the Lodge was great. Our meals were order from the Acorn Grill and they were brought to our rooms within 20 minutes! Everyone was pleasant, happy, and more than happy to assist us in any way.

Living only an hour away makes this place a treasure for us. While it was a big treat for us, it was worth it. My children loved every aspect of it and I hope to make it a yearly tradition!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaink24, Manager at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
Thank you for your recent stay with us and more importantly your honest feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed all aspects of our resort and truly believe that we do have something for every one. We hope that you will make us an annual tradition. Looking forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

Regards,
Kevin Morrin
Vice President of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center

Address: 2177 Clute Road, Virgil, NY 13045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Virgil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virgil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi access at this Award Winning Hope Lake Lodge achieved the prestegious LEED Certification in August of 2013. The hotel is also Audubon International Platinum rated (one of 5 in the USA) and was TripAdvisors Family Choice Award winner for 2012 (#3 in the USA and #4 in the world). The hotel is located at Greek Peak Mountain Resort and offers 106 condo hotel units providing unit owners and resort guests with luxurious accommodations in a family friendly, "green" Northwoods style lodge. Guests and owners have access to purchase day passes to the 41,000 square foot Cascades Indoor Waterpark, with over 500 feet of slides, including a three-story tube slide, a 500 gallon deluge bucket, a wave pool, activity tower, and hot tubs. The new Adventure Center includes 4 tandem zip lines, mountain coaster ride and ten lanes for snow tubing. The zip lines and coaster are open year round. The Tubing center is open during the winter. Call ahead for hours open during the different seasons. Also on site is Hope Lake Beach during the summer and Greek Peak Mountain Resort for skiing and boarding during the winter. The 2013 - 5 million dollar expansion to the ski center was completed including new quad chairlift, new Trax Restaurant, new ski and board equipment, New PB 600 Groomer with Zaag attachment. The resort is building the only double black diamond glades run in Central NY "Labyrinth" which is located between Hercules and Trojan. Hope Lake Lodge and the Acropolis Conference Center can accommodate groups with up to 1000 attendees. The onsite activities as well as the proximity to the Fingerlakes Region give everyone in the group many activities to choose from. For those who just want to relax the units all have full kitchens and a fireplace. Waterfalls Spa & salon has three private balneo tubs, vichey shower treatment room, private in room showers in all the treatment rooms and is the perfect place to "Nourish your skin and soothe your soul... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Lake Hotel Cortland
Hope Lake Lodge And Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.