We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Clean, Friendly and Fun Place to Stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center to your Saves list
Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2177 Clute Road, Virgil, NY 13045   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virgil
GreenLeadersGold level
NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Clean, Friendly and Fun Place to Stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Very beautiful facility with friendly staff, clean and quiet rooms that are absolutely gorgeous! The Waterpark was clean and alot of fun and the Lifeguards were friendly and helpful. We had a great trip and would highly recommend this facility to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinMorrin, Manager at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Thanks for your recent stay and more importantly your response. We are delighted you had a great time and enjoyed the waterpark and other facilities. We hope to see you soon, especially during the winter as we will have the downhill and nordic ski facilities open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    138
    46
    15
    11
See reviews for
318
22
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010 via mobile

What an awesome place for us to spend our daughter's birthday! Wonderful facility. The rooms are spacious and beautifully done. Loved that our bracelets did everything from gaining entry to our room, to accessing the waterpark, to using them at the vending machines. Although the waterpark is small, it definately met our needs and we were comfortable letting our kids enjoy themselves without hvibg to be on top of them.

It was a long drive for us coming from NYC but would recommend it if you are in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaink24, Manager at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2010
We wanted to thank you for your recent visit as well as your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the rooms and loved the convenience of the RFID bracelets. Hopefully we will see you again this winter as we will have more activities (Tubing, Skiing/Snowboarding & X/C Skiing) for your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

My grandson wanted to visit me in CNY for his 10th birthday. I made reservations at the Lodge primarily so he could enjoy the indoor water slides. The Lodge itself is gorgeous! My grandson lives in Raleigh, NC and thought his visit to Hope Lake Lodge was awesome. He had a great time on the water slides, playing in the activity room and the game arcade. Our bed, our bedding, and pillows were excellent. The entire Lodge is just beautiful and the food in the restaurant was very good. He had the time of his life at the lodge and would love to return again and again. I can't say enough wonderful things about this facitlity!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaink24, Manager at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2010
Thank you for your recent visit and your wonderful comments. We are delighted that your grandson had a great time at our facility and that you enjoyed all the aspects of our beautiful Lodge. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Hope Lake Lodge is situated in an idyllic setting at the base of Greek Peak Ski Resort, which would definitely be a plus had we gone during snow season, but in the fall we felt there really wasn't enogh to do to keep the kids entertained for a whole weekend. Given that it is a new property, I was pleased with what was there, but they will definitely need to add more attractions if they are to compete with Great Wolf Lodge. The room was adequate for a family of four with all the expected amenities, but the furnishings seemed a bit chintzy given the price of the room.

The waterpark is great for younger kids, but with only 2 large slides, older kids might become bored quickly. The best part was not having to wait in line for the slides...the kids slept hard at night from running up the stairs so many times! The food at the restaurant was mediocre, but we had a full kitchen and were able to eat in-our room for most meals which was nice.

Overall, we had a good time and the kids really enjoyed themselves, which is the main point. If you live in the area and want a waterpark getaway w/o the crowds or cost of GWL, give Hope Lake Lodge a try. They seemed very willing to accomodate and have plans for expansion if things go well. We're happy to give them our getaway dollars if it will help them continue to improve. Even Wisconsin Dells started small, right?

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinMorrin, Manager at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Thanks for your visit and your review. Each season brings something unique to our guests and we make our best effort to ensure a wide variety of activities for families. In the Spring, Summer and early Fall we operate a Park/Lake facility with swimming, fishing, hiking, volleyball, boating, volleyball and more. We also have a frisbee golf course on site as well as mountain bike rentals. We hope to see you this winter and you can utilize the ski area, tubing facility and cross-country ski center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, new jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

I traveled with my husband and 2 young children (ages 5 and 3)- we had a great time. We stayed for 1 night, but used the waterpark on the day we arrived as well as on the day we left at no additional cost. It was relaxing and the views were great. The staff was phenomenal from the moment we pulled up in front of the resort. My kids loved the heated outdoor pool and water slides. The wave pool was also a hit. The water park is not that big, but was perfect for the age of my children. The lifeguards were also very friendly and attentive.
Everything was very clean- I always saw someone on staff cleaning something at all times. I would love to come back for ski season and when the additional expansion elements are completed (zip line, alpine coaster, etc).
You have the option of bringing in your own food since the rooms have a kitchen (including a full size stove) which was great. I do wish there were more dining options available, but hopefully that may come with their expansion plans. All in all it was a great get away with the kids!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinMorrin, Manager at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to post a review. It is great to know that our guests notice our efforts in making our resort as family friendly and clean as possible. Make sure you make it back this winter as the waterpark, ski area, tubing center and cross country ski center combo makes it the perfect winter vacation. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

The Hotel pulled a classic bait and switch. I went to their website to book a room for October 22, 2010 to October 24, 2010. The website showed there were various suites available. I completed the reservation form for the Hope Lake Lodge E Suite which was shown as available for a total price for the two days of $676.87. When I clicked the send button, a message came up saying that I had to try again, or call for help. I tired the internet a few more times and then called. I was told by their reservations folks that they would not honor the internet rate, but would be happy to reserve the same room at roughly $400.00 more.

I asked to speak to a manager, and a smooth talking chap named Mike advised that he would not honor the internet rate, but he would take %15 off off the new rate. I told him he should honor the rate that the internet had, but he refused. I left a message for the general manager, Jeremy Wenke, but he was too busy. So my suggestion with these dishonorable people who engage in such sharp practices is to be wary of this classic bait and switch routine.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaink24, Director of Sales at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
We do not participate in "Bait and Switch" tactics at all. All of our rates are subject to change and based on availability. The closer to the date you are looking to arrive you make a reservation, or the fuller the hotel gets, our rates increase accordingly. Also the rates increase by suite type/number of people the room sleeps

And when looking at the online booking engine, did you select the Fall 2010 rate special? We have our standard rate as the default, and you must select special rates and offers from the drop down at the top of the page.

When you called you would have been quoted the best available rate in our computer system for the dates you were looking to arrive. See above for why there would be discrepancies.

I apologize for the difficulties you had in confirming a rate for your reservation, we are in the process of updating a lot of our rates for the winter and updating our online booking engine accordingly, and you may have caught an error. But as I said before, when you called you would have been quoted the best available rate based on when you were looking to come, room type, and our occupancy levels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

What a great experience at this resort! We spent the weekend with our friends and could not have asked for a better time! This resort has an indoor waterpark that includes an outdoor heated pool and hot tub. Surrounded by mountains that were in peak fall colors it was absolutely gorgeous. Hiking, fishing, boating and lots of great fall activities. The kids loved the waterpark, and it was not overly crowded so it was easy to keep an eye on them. There is a cafe inside the water park so you can order food or bring in your own. The room we stayed in had a loft, living room, dining room and full kitchen, as well as two full bathrooms. Very clean! The place is new, I think less than one year old. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. We can't wait to go back in the winter for skiing at Greek Peak, which is right across the street!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaink24, Director of Sales at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. As you stated, it is our first autumn season being open, but Mother Nature has not disappointed with the foliage and weather. Glad you and your family were able to enjoy the Resort, and especially happy to hear you will be back this winter! Should you have any other specific comments or any questions, I may be contacted directly. jkryger@greekpeakmtnresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center

Address: 2177 Clute Road, Virgil, NY 13045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Virgil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virgil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi access at this Award Winning Hope Lake Lodge achieved the prestegious LEED Certification in August of 2013. The hotel is also Audubon International Platinum rated (one of 5 in the USA) and was TripAdvisors Family Choice Award winner for 2012 (#3 in the USA and #4 in the world). The hotel is located at Greek Peak Mountain Resort and offers 106 condo hotel units providing unit owners and resort guests with luxurious accommodations in a family friendly, "green" Northwoods style lodge. Guests and owners have access to purchase day passes to the 41,000 square foot Cascades Indoor Waterpark, with over 500 feet of slides, including a three-story tube slide, a 500 gallon deluge bucket, a wave pool, activity tower, and hot tubs. The new Adventure Center includes 4 tandem zip lines, mountain coaster ride and ten lanes for snow tubing. The zip lines and coaster are open year round. The Tubing center is open during the winter. Call ahead for hours open during the different seasons. Also on site is Hope Lake Beach during the summer and Greek Peak Mountain Resort for skiing and boarding during the winter. The 2013 - 5 million dollar expansion to the ski center was completed including new quad chairlift, new Trax Restaurant, new ski and board equipment, New PB 600 Groomer with Zaag attachment. The resort is building the only double black diamond glades run in Central NY "Labyrinth" which is located between Hercules and Trojan. Hope Lake Lodge and the Acropolis Conference Center can accommodate groups with up to 1000 attendees. The onsite activities as well as the proximity to the Fingerlakes Region give everyone in the group many activities to choose from. For those who just want to relax the units all have full kitchens and a fireplace. Waterfalls Spa & salon has three private balneo tubs, vichey shower treatment room, private in room showers in all the treatment rooms and is the perfect place to "Nourish your skin and soothe your soul... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Lake Hotel Cortland
Hope Lake Lodge And Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.