We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms - just don't eat in the restaurant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center to your Saves list
Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2177 Clute Road, Virgil, NY 13045   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virgil
GreenLeadersGold level
Hingham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms - just don't eat in the restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at Hope Lake Lodge for 2 nights in February break in a Roaring Brook Suite with 2 adults and 3 kids (11,10,7). The room was great - very new with pull down murphy double bed, double bed settee and an upstairs loft with queen bed and ensuite shower room. There was also a bathroom with bath/shower downstairs. Fantastic kitchen with good size fridge & small freezer, oven and hob, microwave, dishwasher, toaster, coffee maker and plenty of pans, plates etc. It also had a balcony with chairs overlooking the outdoor pool and hills. There were lots of nice touches such as coffee, plenty of toiletries and even dishwasher tablets!

The restaurant was poor - we ate there both nights and for the first day's breakfast as there is no other choice onsite, except for self catering. The breakfast was not great - the eggs were like rubber and the sausages looked like the cheapest you could buy. The first night was average (we had burgers) but the second night we opted for pork and lasagne. All of which was practically inedible. The pork was so overcooked it was like leather and the lasagne (special of the day) looked and tasted like a frozen ready meal. The dinner prices are definitely overpriced for the quality and the expertise of the chefs - though when we complained they did give us a hefty discount.

We stayed on a groupon deal for 2 nights that included 1 days water park entrance and 1 day ski life passes for all. The skiing was very good and there was a nice choice of family runs. The kids loved the water park, though it was small and very crowded, and there was a nice outdoor hot tub and pool, which was fun in the snow! There was a cafe and bar (you could take your drinks to the side of the pool as they were in plastic containers) but by the time we had got there (3pm) the lockers had sold out - which was no use to us as our room wasn't ready yet and so we had nowhere to keep our valuable. Hence we couldn't all go into the pool together as an adult had to wait (there were no tables free) with our stuff. Had we not had the groupon, the water park would not have been good value for money ($35 per ticket!). It was disappointing that there was nothing else to do in the hotel except the water park, arcade or skiing (all expensive additional extras) so on the last day we left early.
Overall - I would say the rooms are great and it's a fantastic location for skiing - but don't count on things to do in the hotel that don't cost money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle K, Owner at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Hello:
We are sorry for to hear of your experience in the restaurant, I’m thankful that the staff responded with a healthy discount for you. We wish your stay had been all you expected, our goal is to provide everyone with an enjoyable, safe stay in a healthy environment. We hope that you give us another chance and that your stay will meet your expectations. We are constantly in training and striving to satisfy each and every customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    138
    46
    15
    11
See reviews for
318
22
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and 5 year old stayed for 2 nights. We all had a great time. We visited in November 2012. My husband and I loved the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool. We just came back from Great Wolf in Niagara Falls and we enjoyed this park more as the temp was much warmer. Everyone very nice. Our room was very nice and comfortable. We are looking forward to going back soon!

Room Tip: We can't comment on the spa as we did not use. Rooms were very large and comfortable. We look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle K, Owner at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We are happy that you are a frequent customer and we will be coming out with a loyalty program very soon. When we opened the waterpark we went with the industry standard and realized quickly that people like it warmer so we are glad you noticed! We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Couldn't resist the Groupon offer for this resort. The price for a 2 night stay with ski lift passes & entrance to the waterpark made it worth the cost. I checked it out online & it looked amazing & it surely was! The hotel is only a few years young so it's still sparkly. From the minute we pulled up we were greeted by the nicest valet & bell boys! They were super helpful in getting all our gear out of the car.
Check in went smooth, nothing too over the top friendly but nice.
Our room was amazing! We upgraded to a suite since we had 4 - 15 year old boys with us! We had room to sleep 8 in 3 different sleeping areas, a full kitchen, a fireplace, 3 bathrooms & a balcony with a view of the mountain! It was rustic in decor yet new & clean. The boys went to the waterpark. They were feeling a little too old for it but had fun iin the outdoor heated pool & large waterslide.
We enjoyed grown up time in the lobby bar, sat by the fireplace on nice large chairs, enjoyed live music & relaxed. Dinner was good, nothing to rave about. The bartender, Nikki, was just the nicest girl!! Very informative about the area.
The boys got a nice early jump at Greek Peak Mountain which is literally a stones-throw from the hotel. A shuttle runs all day long so you don't need to move the car. The mountain isn't very large but has a lot of trails & the boys enjoyed it.
The only downside was our room (506 A&B), was directly next to the elevator. It was SOOOOOOOOOO loud with people coming & going, loud kids running up & down the halls, parents yelling at their kids to be quiet only made the noise louder! So beware of the room location!
All in all, the kids rated this an A for Awesome, my husband & I really enjoyed ourselves & if the Groupon is offered again, we will absolutely go back for another weekend stay!

Room Tip: Don't get a room next to the elevator!!!!!!!! Way too noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle K, Owner at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello:
Thank you for enjoying your winter getaway with us! Now that you found us we look forward to your next visit. Every season brings different activities for your boys to enjoy; hiking the three major gorges of Ithaca can be a great experience for the whole family. We have mountain bikes for the boys to rent and the NY State land adjacent to the hotel has trails to ride. During the summer they can fish and swim in the lake. You didn’t mention visiting the adventure center so maybe the boys can make plans to ride the zip lines and mountain coaster. As you visit more often you can venture out into the Fingerlakes there is so much to explore and do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a great room with a great view, but we stayed there mid August and everything was closed. The water park is very small and rinky dink and it closes at 7:00 pm. There were a lot of listed activities for outdoors, but we arrived at 3:00 pm and left at 11:00 am and there was not a single activity while we were there. There was a great little train ride but it didn't open until noon. I figure that most people that are staying at Hope Lake are traveling with young children. Well, we were up at 6:00 am with nothing to do!!! The room was fabulous, but the amenities left much to be desired, especially for paying $339.00 for one night. In addition, the food selection at the hotel was mediocre.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle K, Owner at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hello
Thank you for staying with us. We have a two night minimum for reservations and charge extra for one night since the units all have kitchens and the clean up is much more involved than a typical hotel room. It is really very hard to appreciate the hotel amenities by checking in at 6PM and then checking out the next morning by 10AM. If you stay during the week things close earlier than Friday and Saturday when they are open until 10PM. We will ask the reservation staff to inform the guests who want to book a one night stay during the week that the hours of operation are more limited during mid week time periods and in order to enjoy the amenities a two day stay is recommended. For a one night stay; dinner, spa treatment, and breakfast is what you can expect to participate in. You said that you stayed in August so a moonlight walk around the lake or a relaxing moment on the deck might also be nice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have seven grandchildren between 4 months and 7 yearold.
Living in Upstate NY and wanting to do something special for my husband that included everyone.
We booked Cedar River Suite. Tickets to the water park, ect...
Arrived Friday afternoon greeted by Cory in valet parking, our trips started with a wonderful positive attitude. He loaded all our luggage then, carried our cooler all the way to the room.
Having small children in a large room can still be tight, so we enjoyed the activities at the Bear Foot Den. Mike is awesome with small children and made everyone feel very welcome and creative.
Water park is massive with lots of stations for chilren of all ages and size. Even when the adults want to be a child again, they have huge squirt guns for every boys 'man" battle.
I prepared a family dinner on our last night at the resort. The table elongated to hold us all. I'm am blessed have had the opportunity to share such a wonderful weekend at Hope Lake Lodge.
I would recommend this resort for families of all ages. I look forward to returning for another weekend of memories.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle K, Owner at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hello:
Thank you for choosing Hope Lake Lodge for your celebration weekend! Mike and Cory were very happy to have been mentioned in a review on Trip Advisor. We are glad that your getaway was a success and thank you for writing such a nice review. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The lodge itself and the rooms are very nice. We had the Northwoods lodge and it is the smallest but it was still very nice. Full kitchen, fireplace, sofa and table and chairs. Very nice flooring/bedding. The remainder of the lodge is also very nicely appointed. Check in was easy and the room key is a bracelet you can wear in the waterpark so it’s a very handy idea. You don’t have to wear it but it was very convenient for me as I seem to forget the room key a lot. We had tickets to the adventure center as well as the waterpark included in our package. Unfortunately the waterslides were closed at the waterpark and the zip lines at the adventure center were closed. We ended up spending 30 minutes in the hot tub at the water park and maybe 30 minutes at the adventure center. The lodge itself is so nice that we are thinking about going back in the summer so we can enjoy the full adventure center and waterpark. It was very empty though as we only saw maybe 5 or 6 other families/couples the entire time we were there. The resteraunt was nice with good service and the food was good too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ski mountain as the backside of the resort doesnt have a view of anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle K, Owner at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hello:
Thank you for spending your getaway time at Hope Lake Lodge and we are glad to see that you are planning a return trip! Tip: when you make your reservation ask for the hours of operation for the waterpark and Adventure Center. You must make a reservation for the Zip Line tour you can call the Adventure Center or book online on the AC website. The Adventure Center is typically closed on Monday and Wednesday but open everyday during holiday weeks. When you come back this summer you can take a wine tour or hike the gorges of Ithaca which is a lot of fun. Check the home page of the lodge website and click on weekly events to see what is happening the while you are here. Thank you for staying with us and for taking your time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford Springs, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Our family stayed in one the Loon Suite's at it was perfect. Everything was clean, comfortable, and just what we needed for our mini vacation. The water one morning wouldn't run warm, but they came right up and fixed it. This resort is perfect for skiing, tubing, indoor waterpark, and the adventure center right across the street. They even have a shuttle so you don't have to drive. The staff was extremely helpful and nice.

Room Tip: We had a Loon Room One Bedroom Suite, which I recommend with small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle K, Owner at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hello:
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The staff will be happy to hear that they met your expectations. The resort is a big place with a lot to attend to and we are happy to have your positive comments. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will remember us when making plans for your next getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center

Address: 2177 Clute Road, Virgil, NY 13045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Virgil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virgil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi access at this Award Winning Hope Lake Lodge achieved the prestegious LEED Certification in August of 2013. The hotel is also Audubon International Platinum rated (one of 5 in the USA) and was TripAdvisors Family Choice Award winner for 2012 (#3 in the USA and #4 in the world). The hotel is located at Greek Peak Mountain Resort and offers 106 condo hotel units providing unit owners and resort guests with luxurious accommodations in a family friendly, "green" Northwoods style lodge. Guests and owners have access to purchase day passes to the 41,000 square foot Cascades Indoor Waterpark, with over 500 feet of slides, including a three-story tube slide, a 500 gallon deluge bucket, a wave pool, activity tower, and hot tubs. The new Adventure Center includes 4 tandem zip lines, mountain coaster ride and ten lanes for snow tubing. The zip lines and coaster are open year round. The Tubing center is open during the winter. Call ahead for hours open during the different seasons. Also on site is Hope Lake Beach during the summer and Greek Peak Mountain Resort for skiing and boarding during the winter. The 2013 - 5 million dollar expansion to the ski center was completed including new quad chairlift, new Trax Restaurant, new ski and board equipment, New PB 600 Groomer with Zaag attachment. The resort is building the only double black diamond glades run in Central NY "Labyrinth" which is located between Hercules and Trojan. Hope Lake Lodge and the Acropolis Conference Center can accommodate groups with up to 1000 attendees. The onsite activities as well as the proximity to the Fingerlakes Region give everyone in the group many activities to choose from. For those who just want to relax the units all have full kitchens and a fireplace. Waterfalls Spa & salon has three private balneo tubs, vichey shower treatment room, private in room showers in all the treatment rooms and is the perfect place to "Nourish your skin and soothe your soul... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Lake Hotel Cortland
Hope Lake Lodge And Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.