We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Husbands Birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2177 Clute Road, Virgil, NY 13045   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Virgil
GreenLeadersGold level
Binghamton, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Husbands Birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have seven grandchildren between 4 months and 7 yearold.
Living in Upstate NY and wanting to do something special for my husband that included everyone.
We booked Cedar River Suite. Tickets to the water park, ect...
Arrived Friday afternoon greeted by Cory in valet parking, our trips started with a wonderful positive attitude. He loaded all our luggage then, carried our cooler all the way to the room.
Having small children in a large room can still be tight, so we enjoyed the activities at the Bear Foot Den. Mike is awesome with small children and made everyone feel very welcome and creative.
Water park is massive with lots of stations for chilren of all ages and size. Even when the adults want to be a child again, they have huge squirt guns for every boys 'man" battle.
I prepared a family dinner on our last night at the resort. The table elongated to hold us all. I'm am blessed have had the opportunity to share such a wonderful weekend at Hope Lake Lodge.
I would recommend this resort for families of all ages. I look forward to returning for another weekend of memories.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle K, Owner at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hello:
Thank you for choosing Hope Lake Lodge for your celebration weekend! Mike and Cory were very happy to have been mentioned in a review on Trip Advisor. We are glad that your getaway was a success and thank you for writing such a nice review. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    122
    39
    14
    10
See reviews for
292
19
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The lodge itself and the rooms are very nice. We had the Northwoods lodge and it is the smallest but it was still very nice. Full kitchen, fireplace, sofa and table and chairs. Very nice flooring/bedding. The remainder of the lodge is also very nicely appointed. Check in was easy and the room key is a bracelet you can wear in the waterpark so it’s a very handy idea. You don’t have to wear it but it was very convenient for me as I seem to forget the room key a lot. We had tickets to the adventure center as well as the waterpark included in our package. Unfortunately the waterslides were closed at the waterpark and the zip lines at the adventure center were closed. We ended up spending 30 minutes in the hot tub at the water park and maybe 30 minutes at the adventure center. The lodge itself is so nice that we are thinking about going back in the summer so we can enjoy the full adventure center and waterpark. It was very empty though as we only saw maybe 5 or 6 other families/couples the entire time we were there. The resteraunt was nice with good service and the food was good too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ski mountain as the backside of the resort doesnt have a view of anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle K, Owner at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hello:
Thank you for spending your getaway time at Hope Lake Lodge and we are glad to see that you are planning a return trip! Tip: when you make your reservation ask for the hours of operation for the waterpark and Adventure Center. You must make a reservation for the Zip Line tour you can call the Adventure Center or book online on the AC website. The Adventure Center is typically closed on Monday and Wednesday but open everyday during holiday weeks. When you come back this summer you can take a wine tour or hike the gorges of Ithaca which is a lot of fun. Check the home page of the lodge website and click on weekly events to see what is happening the while you are here. Thank you for staying with us and for taking your time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford Springs, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Our family stayed in one the Loon Suite's at it was perfect. Everything was clean, comfortable, and just what we needed for our mini vacation. The water one morning wouldn't run warm, but they came right up and fixed it. This resort is perfect for skiing, tubing, indoor waterpark, and the adventure center right across the street. They even have a shuttle so you don't have to drive. The staff was extremely helpful and nice.

Room Tip: We had a Loon Room One Bedroom Suite, which I recommend with small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle K, Owner at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hello:
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The staff will be happy to hear that they met your expectations. The resort is a big place with a lot to attend to and we are happy to have your positive comments. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will remember us when making plans for your next getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with friends in a split rock suite as part of a weekend ski getaway. The service was great - the porter was friendly, the staff was prompt and efficient with delivering all the little items we asked for (we cooked a couple of meals). The lodge also offered frequent shuttle buses to the adventure center and the ski area. The only downside was the restaurant. We ate lunch and breakfast there. While service was great, and the price was reasonable, the food was underwhelming. To be fair, we were given complimentary cheesecake for the burnt burgers we had for lunch, and the cheesecake was good. I will most likely not be returning to the restaurant. but would definitely return to the lodge or try out one of the townhouses which looked great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle K, Owner at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello:
Thanks for writing a review that’s just what we like to hear about our customer service. We’ll pass your remarks along to the food service manager about your experience and we are sorry to disappoint you . We appreciate the time you took to let us know. We are glad that you plan to return and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our family of 5 (3 kids, all 10 and under) have had two great stays at the Hope Lake Lodge. The rooms were clean, as was the water park, which the kids loved. We already booked for next year. The room(s) we had consisted of a bedroom with two queen beds and full bath, attached to a separate living room (with pull-out coach) with kitchen area and full bath, and attached to another bedroom with a queen bed and pull-out coach and a full bath. The water park and arcade were just down the hall (several water slides, a wave pool, another pool with basketball nets, an indoor/outdoor hot tub, an outdoor pool, and two younger kids areas with various slides and water games). Housekeeping could have done a better job during the stay, but the rooms were clean. The ski mountain and snow tubing area is just across the street accessible by shuttle that runs continuously. We like the skiing there, which is bascially typical East coast skiing, but perfect for a family. Most notable are the very friendly and helpful people at the Lodge and the ski area, from the guys working the doors and helping with bags and cars, to the life guards at the waterpark, to the waiters/waitresses at Acorn Grill, to the ski school instructors, and everyone else at the mountain, everyone is great (front desk and housekeeping though were mediocre).

So the poor customer service stems from our leaving 2 pairs of pants in the room when we checked out. We realized it a week later and called the Lodge, and left a message with housekeeping. No return call. We tried again and no return call. We then spoke with someone at the front desk who said they would look into it and call back, but never did. Two weeks after we left, we happened to be in the area again so we stopped by to ask about the pants. The person at the front desk said that housekeeping was very busy, but reluctanly he asked to see if they found anything. He said they did not. I protested a bit and he said I could go up to housekeeping to ask them. I went up there and the head of housekeeping was just sitting in his office casually chatting with someone else (really busy?). I explained the situation and he said nothing was found. So as I am leaving I pass by Asst Mgr Bonnie and explain my frustration and what has happened. She was the only one to do anything, and was apologetic about no one helping us. She checked lost and found, and apparently called the head of housekeeping to help her, as I saw him walk by. They did not find the pants. But Bonnie said the head of housekeeping was going to look in his office again. A few minutes later the head of housekeeping appears with the pants. Take whatever you want from this story, and it was only two pairs of pants at issue, but the "customer service" we experienced was horrible.

Room Tip: We like staying on the second floor of the Lodge as that is the floor that goes into the waterpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle K, Owner at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hello
Please let me say that we are happy that you had a great stay and until the issue of the lost items occurred and I’m thankful that you did receive good service from everyone else at the resort. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We assure you that this matter will be addressed with our staff. The importance of a high level customer service at Hope Lake Lodge is critical and we do expect our staff to give the highest level of customer service to every guest. I hope that you will return and I’m happy that Bonnie was able to provide a successful outcome in the end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainside, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have family gatherings here in Thanksgiving 2012. Found very good reviews and decided to try with high expectations. With Groupon special, it is a good value. Waterpark is small as compare with the other waterparks we had tried, and surprisingly they charge hotel guests for using it. Other than that, everything else has been wonderful, especially the well equipped kitchen.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle K, Owner at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hello
Thank you for spending your Thanksgiving Holiday at Hope Lake Lodge. Just this past year we changed our policy and now all the guests have free access to the year round outdoor pool and the indoor-outdoor hotubs. The Cascades Indoor Waterpark although attached to the hotel is a separate attraction and that is why a fee is charged. We used to include the waterpark in the price of the stay but so many guests wanted the flexibility of paying for the waterpark only when they were going to use it. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armonk, ny
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at the Hope Lake Lodge on a Groupon - even so, it was not cheap! But the room was fabulous, everything was new and a lovely southwest design (lots of rustic log wooden furniture and wilderness prints). the best part was the waterpark in the hotel, which both my children, boys 12 and 14, enjoyed immensely (although the hot tub area was overrun with college kids in the evening). Greek Peak is right across the street, and although we didn't ski, we went to their Outdoor Adventure Center, where they have a mountain coaster - highly recommend! The staff at this resort were very friendly and one member even pulled by husband's car out of a snowbank when he went off the road - talk about customer service!

Room Tip: we had a room close to the arcade/waterpark, which was convenient but noisy. I'm sure you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle K, Owner at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hello:
Thank you for spending your MLK break with us at Hope Lake Lodge! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was helpful and friendly. Please remember us when booking another getaway, there is so much to see and do in the Fingerlakes Region every season of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center

Address: 2177 Clute Road, Virgil, NY 13045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Virgil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Virgil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi access at this Award Winning Hope Lake Lodge achieved the prestegious LEED Certification in August of 2013. The hotel is also Audubon International Platinum rated (one of 5 in the USA) and was TripAdvisors Family Choice Award winner for 2012 (#3 in the USA and #4 in the world). The hotel is located at Greek Peak Mountain Resort and offers 106 condo hotel units providing unit owners and resort guests with luxurious accommodations in a family friendly, "green" Northwoods style lodge. Guests and owners have access to purchase day passes to the 41,000 square foot Cascades Indoor Waterpark, with over 500 feet of slides, including a three-story tube slide, a 500 gallon deluge bucket, a wave pool, activity tower, and hot tubs. The new Adventure Center includes 4 tandem zip lines, mountain coaster ride and ten lanes for snow tubing. The zip lines and coaster are open year round. The Tubing center is open during the winter. Call ahead for hours open during the different seasons. Also on site is Hope Lake Beach during the summer and Greek Peak Mountain Resort for skiing and boarding during the winter. The 2013 - 5 million dollar expansion to the ski center was completed including new quad chairlift, new Trax Restaurant, new ski and board equipment, New PB 600 Groomer with Zaag attachment. The resort is building the only double black diamond glades run in Central NY "Labyrinth" which is located between Hercules and Trojan. Hope Lake Lodge and the Acropolis Conference Center can accommodate groups with up to 1000 attendees. The onsite activities as well as the proximity to the Fingerlakes Region give everyone in the group many activities to choose from. For those who just want to relax the units all have full kitchens and a fireplace. Waterfalls Spa & salon has three private balneo tubs, vichey shower treatment room, private in room showers in all the treatment rooms and is the perfect place to "Nourish your skin and soothe your soul... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Lake Lodge And Conference Center
Hope Lake Hotel Cortland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.