We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center to your Saves list
Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2177 Clute Road, Virgil, NY 13045   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virgil
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Groton, New York, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Husband and I stayed the weekend of Jan 11-13. From the time we checked in the entire place was fabulous. Quick check in with smiling faces, beautiful room with a fantastic view. We ate all our meals at the Acorn grill. Our waitress (Alysia) for almost every single meal was the best. She was definitely one of a kind. Very friendly and attentive. Laura booked us our room and we could not have asked for anyone better. She even called to make sure everything was to our liking. Hunter in dining was also one of a kind, very attentive too. I plan to go again for a longer stay and I have been telling my family members and friends they all need to experience Hope Lake Lodge. 5 stars in my book. Thank you for letting us experience such a wonderful weekend. Every single person we came in contact with was very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and the view was fabulous. Overlooking the pools and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle K, Owner at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hello:
Thank you for taking your time to write such a wonderful review of Hope Lake Lodge. It was very nice of you to mention the staff members by name, they appreciate it very much. Our goal is to provide an enjoyable stay for every guest and we are happy that your expectations were met. We look forward to your next visit. If you would like any ideas for things to do in the area please give me a call. During the summer there are wine tours by boat, sailing on Seneca Lake and many other attractions in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    149
    54
    16
    12
See reviews for
354
23
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

great weekend at Greek Peak. The snowtubing was amazing - the perfect snow adventure for the people in your party who don't ski. Get there early in the morning and you will have no lines. The Mountain Coaster was a big hit as well. We had guest out to enjoy the waterpark and they loved it.

The restaurant has changed its menu and found a new chef so we were pleased with the food. When we stayed before this was not our favorite part.

Overall, a beautiful facility and a great place to stay with kids

Room Tip: all the rooms are quiet and very clean. Choose one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle K, Owner at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hello:

Thanks for staying with us!. Anthony our new chef was glad to get his first mention in a review on TripAdvisor and the staff and I are happy that you took the time to write a review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife, teenage daughter and I spent three nights at Hope Lake Lodge right after New Year's. The drive from New York City, via Binghamton, took about 4 1/2 hours. The place seemed like Winter Wonderland -- there was more than a foot of snow on the ground, and it snowed almost continuously while we were there. Our top-floor two-level room with loft area (and separate bathrooms and TVs) was more than adequate for the three of us, and was furnished with a full kitchen and gas fireplace.
Although designed primarily with children in mind, the indoor/outdoor water park was quite impressive, featuring a wave pool and a variety of slides. A high point of the experience was sitting comfortably in the outdoor part of the hot tub while snow fell on our heads.
The resort also features a full-service upscale spa and a fairly well-furnished fitness center.
The only notable inconvenience was that, although the food is good, the resort's restaurant is the only dining facility within several miles. (The alternatives in Cortland include a decent Mexican restaurant, and there are more possibilities in Ithaca, some 20 miles away.)
All in all, a restful getaway vacation and positive experience. Would definitely consider going back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle K, Owner at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello:
Thank you for your recent visit to Hope Lake Lodge. It sounds like you all had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. We hope that you will think of us for future getaways. If you do travel here on Thursday, Friday or Saturday the Gatherings is a great restaurant about 1.5 miles away. During the winter we have a restaurant in the base of the ski area called Orion’s and at the Adventure Center there is the Creekside Inn. If you would like to call me prior to your next visit I would be happy to recommend some places to eat and we could talk about other activities that you might like to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Нью-Йорк, Нью-Йорк
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We booked a family suite and a winter ski camp (5 days skiing for kids) for 2012 Christmas vacation. My two kids with my husband spent all 5 days skiing and snowboarding. It is super well organized ski camp with great instructors both for kids and adults and very friendly personnel. I had to stay in a hotel with my youngest daughter. The hotel is very comfortable, not too crowded as Wolf Lodge and there is enough services on the site - friendly and affordable babysitting, indoor water park, lovely spa. For dinners we stayed one night in the hotel restaurant, which was fine and then every night we went to Cortland for different dining experience. The best was Hairy Tony pub on the Main st. - highly recommended for any taste and age, as everything was cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle K, Owner at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hello:
Thank you for spending your Christmas Holiday at Greek Peak! The Greek Peak Ski Club has been doing camps for decades and I’m glad that you found us! We hope that you return next Christmas. The Jr Ski and Ride School is doing their winter camp Presidents week Feb 18-22, 2013 three or five consecutive days. If you visit the Greek Peak website you can look under lessons and find the camp details. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Purchased a nice deal for this place that included water park passes for one day and skiing or adventure center passes for one day. Before I booked this, I made it a point to call and confirm that if we chose not to do skiing and did adventure center passes instead that it would include snow tubing. I was told YES, NO PROBLEM. When I checked in I also confirmed this point and was told yes, snow tubing would be included in the adventure center pass. Well, I took my 3yr old on the shuttle and to the adventure center to snow tube. He was sooooooo excited!! We primarly booked this for the snow tubing. When we arrived we were denied and told that snow tubing was NOT included. Total disappointment and my 3yr old cried for about 20min. I took him on the mountain coaster instead and he did like that alot so it was fun but lasted about 5minutes instead of a day of fun in the snow. I then checked with the front desk again at that lodge and this time was told no, sorry. I just feel mislead and it kinda left a bad taste in my mouth. We had fun at the water park the next day and then went home. I would have gone again if they didn't misrepresent them selves. Maybe it's just a lack of communication between Greek Peak and Hope Lake Lodge...i'm not sure. Either way, we had a good time but probably won't go back. I just don't understand why you can ski but can't snow tube...odd.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle K, Owner at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hello
I’m very glad that you came to vacation at our resort. We are sorry that your child was disappointed the day you went to the Adventure Center. A couple things to keep in mind if you decide to return, and we hope that you will, is that the sno-tubing ticket is for five hours and the tubing runs are only open on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Also, there are height requirements children must be 42” tall to sno-tube. This is for their safety the tubing runs are quite long and participants get moving very fast. The Adventure Pass lasts all day so there is time for multiple rides on the mountain coaster. The coaster is an exciting fun adventure for both of you and much safer as you are together in the same coaster with your child moving as quickly as 28 miles an hour down the mountain. All the centers have different days and hours of operation. You can check days and times on the home page of the hotel website by clicking on the weekly events then checking the Adventure Center & Activities held at the Hotel. We will continue to work on our staff communications and information. Thank you for your comments I have made some changesd on the hotel website today that may help and we do hope that you will return with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Pros:
-Had a nice water park for kids
-Close to Greek Peak (but not close enough to walk, unfortunately)
-Very friendly and helpful staff
-Nice room with 2 full bathrooms and slept 6 adults


Cons:
-Pool/hot tub part of the water park
(closed at 7pm on weekdays and full of kids/no where to sit!!)
-Not close enough to walk to the ski hill

My family and I stayed here recently and really enjoyed it! The location is great (right next to Greek Peak for skiing) and the hotel had many great features such as an indoor water park and great rooms! We had 5 adults and 2 kids, so we got a room that had a second story loft. The room had two full bathrooms, a FULL kitchen that was stocked with dishes and pans, 2 TVs, a table, a balcony (unfortunately didn't overlook the ski hill) and slept 6 adults (a normal bed upstairs, a pullout couch bed, and a murphy bed). We loved the room but wished the lodge was located closer to the ski hill because we had to drive or take the shuttle every time we wanted to go. The staff were very nice, but didn't know information regarding the ski hill, although they were very helpful concerning the lodge. The biggest downside was that the pool and hot tub (which were half outside/half inside) closed at 7pm on the weekdays because they were part of the water park and closed with it. You could access the pool and hot tub for free as a guest but it was so crowded with children from the water park, that I wish there would have been a separate facility for guests or possibly adults only that was open much later. We would definitely stay here again though!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle K, Owner at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hello
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate your feedback. We have just recently included the pool and hot tub as part of the room reservation. Previously you had to purchase a waterpark pass to use the pool and hot tub. We will use your feedback to evaluate our procedures moving forward. Thanks and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I booked it for 2 nights for after Christmas family getaway. I did a lot of research on its facilities and also checked TripAdvisor. It was a winner of 2012 TripAdvisor Award.

A deal on TravelZoo made it sweeter (in fact one of the reservation agents told me about it).

It did not disappoint. We were impressed by the room (Eagle's Nest, Sleep 6 (Max 8) which is a 2-story unit, well equipped and well pointed. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast is ok.

The indoor water park is great for the winter time. The ski slope literally across the street (Greek's Peak) is great for the kids. We also visited the nearby city of Ithaca.

We probably will come back in the summer time - we have not explored the lake in its namesake yet. We will book the spa on arrival next time - did not occur to me it is in such high demand.

Room Tip: The Eagle's Nest units are on the 5th floor. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle K, Owner at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello:

We are all very happy that your Christmas family vacation met your expectations! Thank you for taking the time to let travelers know about your stay. We look forward to your return trip this summer. Hiking the gorges of Ithaca, Buttermilk Falls, Taughannock Falls, and Devils Falls in Robert H. Treman State Park is always fun. There are 1000’s of acres of NY State Land to hike behind the Hotel. Feel free to contact me before you come and I would be happy to send you a map of the area and some information on local museums and theater and of course shopping the Fingerlakes with the unique gift shops can be very interesting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center

Address: 2177 Clute Road, Virgil, NY 13045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Virgil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virgil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi access at this Award Winning Hope Lake Lodge achieved the prestegious LEED Certification in August of 2013. The hotel is also Audubon International Platinum rated (one of 5 in the USA) and was TripAdvisors Family Choice Award winner for 2012 (#3 in the USA and #4 in the world). The hotel is located at Greek Peak Mountain Resort and offers 106 condo hotel units providing unit owners and resort guests with luxurious accommodations in a family friendly, "green" Northwoods style lodge. Guests and owners have access to purchase day passes to the 41,000 square foot Cascades Indoor Waterpark, with over 500 feet of slides, including a three-story tube slide, a 500 gallon deluge bucket, a wave pool, activity tower, and hot tubs. The new Adventure Center includes 4 tandem zip lines, mountain coaster ride and ten lanes for snow tubing. The zip lines and coaster are open year round. The Tubing center is open during the winter. Call ahead for hours open during the different seasons. Also on site is Hope Lake Beach during the summer and Greek Peak Mountain Resort for skiing and boarding during the winter. The 2013 - 5 million dollar expansion to the ski center was completed including new quad chairlift, new Trax Restaurant, new ski and board equipment, New PB 600 Groomer with Zaag attachment. The resort is building the only double black diamond glades run in Central NY "Labyrinth" which is located between Hercules and Trojan. Hope Lake Lodge and the Acropolis Conference Center can accommodate groups with up to 1000 attendees. The onsite activities as well as the proximity to the Fingerlakes Region give everyone in the group many activities to choose from. For those who just want to relax the units all have full kitchens and a fireplace. Waterfalls Spa & salon has three private balneo tubs, vichey shower treatment room, private in room showers in all the treatment rooms and is the perfect place to "Nourish your skin and soothe your soul... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Lake Hotel Cortland
Hope Lake Lodge And Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.