We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty amazing, Ranveli.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ranveli Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ranveli Village to your Saves list
Ranveli Village
3.5 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Villingilivaru Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Moscow, Russia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pretty amazing, Ranveli.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I would not describe this hotel, as you can read it anywhere else, but I will agree with those, which tell Ranveli is good. It really is. What emphasizes this hotel from other hotels (even with 5 stars) are house reef (it is really beautiful, long and interesting to swim and watch) and friendly personal (especially Affaf Appu and diveinstructor Aitor). Me and my family really enjoyed our rest there, what i wish to all of you who's going to visit Maldives, and especially who chose Ranveli. It is very good.

Room Tip: Choose room from 46-54, its really close to beach and to island's center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    148
    39
    17
    15
See reviews for
64
232
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We spent 9 great days at Ranveli Village.
The hotel arranged the transportation from the airport by seaplane. We waited 1h30 minutes on arrival from Europe and it took then another hour to get eventually to the village.
The whole structure seemed a bit old and needs some refurbishment; the room and bed was really large and good with airco and minibar as amenities.
The menu was ok, with a good choice. The beach and the sea were great. Also the sunset bar is very good although closed most of the days.
The village organizes several excursions; we took a whole day snorkeling trip which was a bit of a disappointment; we spent 6 of the 7.5 hours on the boat looking for a whale shark (nowhere to be seen) and manta rays which flew away as soon as we jumped into the water; there was a good snorkeling stopover which saved the excursion; it seems that the village organizes also half-day snorkeling trip although they are not advertised: you have to ask.
Care for customer is the weak point of the village, if you drink a bottle of wine the waiter is kind and takes care of you otherwise you are almost ignored. In the main bar they advertise a 10% discount happy hour which they do not apply.
The same goes for the management which I would define absent.
The only good impressions I had from the chef, the room guy and the cashier.
I must heavily complain about the organization of the trip back by sea plane; we just arrived at the airport in time for boarding, we could have seriously missed the plane. Actually one needs a scheduled seaplane departure of 4 hours before the flight; it takes 2 hours between the scheduled departure and the moment you arrive at the airport; in our case, we were left with 1h10 minutes to go through 2 security checks and passport control; and that was just enough (no time for souvenirs shopping or anything, we only could buy some water).
The village is on a small island with a good, although damaged by imprudent snorkelers, house reef. The customers are, in decreasing order of importance, Russians, Italians, French, Brits, Germans.
We could admire the built-in stupidity of many snorkelers in several occasions:
on the first day a Brit was standing on the reef and when warned he said simply "Yes, I know". Other people (French, Italians) were happily standing on the reef with their flippers without even thinking about the damage they were creating. A moron from Veneto region (Italy) was snorkeling wearing a glove so that he could anchor himself to the coral and stay deep in the water; the same happened with a French guy. Another, possibly Russian, idiot (I could not call it otherwise), bothered a "stone fish" with a camera using it like a sort of harpoon. In addition, I overheard a conversation between Italians about how to effectively hide between the shells they had picked up in neoprene and how to bribe the security checks at the airport. I could continue with such examples.
I could conclude that the stupidity has no borders, although the Italians seemed to prevail in this ranking (sadly I am Italian myself). The village threatens a 1000 USD fine for violators but does nothing (and wants to do nothing against paying customers) to protect its resources; direct access to the reef is meant to kill the reef; they should instead have a system like a jetty where the snorkelers directly access the deep water; not to mention that they should foresee personnel to monitor the snorkelers behavior. They are definitely overstaffed and there are people just hanging around with really nothing to do.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, rooms 1-28 have more privacy in the northern part of the island. Rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Travel time - March 2013. Spent 7 splendid days.
After arrival to Male airport we came directly to MAT aerotaxi desk. Everthing was perfectly arranged by hotel and after half an hour we were in seaplane airport. 25 minutes flight and 15 minutes by boat - and we are on our island.
Rooms are clean, cleaned twice a day. Various food, unfortunately not many fruits. All drinks are chargeble, except breakfast.
Nice beach and great reef just couple of minutes from the room.
Personel is very friendly, ready to help.
Hotel offers fishing, diving, snorkeling. But in our case full day snorkeling to see whale shark and devilfishes was posponed many times and finaly we could not to participate....

So, this place is great value for such money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Gr8 place we had a very relaxing holiday.
Make sure you scuba dive & explore th reef around the island. Dive centre guys are very helpful. Snorkeling was good too. Enjoyed the night dive too.
Food was alright the. we saw some stunning sunsets on the sandbar near the beach.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing. We preferred the top rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel location was beautiful and there was plenty of swimming/snorting right around the island that the hotel is on.

We arrived at the hotel from a sea plane - need to arrive by 4pm in Male otherwise you have to wait for the next day. After landing, we were starved a drink and lunch while we filled in our forms then started our vacation. The island was beautiful. Lots of fish and coral. The white sandy beaches were amazing.

The meal plan was "full board" which means basically buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food was not bad - not 5 stars but good enough for a vacation.

Plus and minus at the same time is the lack of a tv in the rooms and no wireless in the rooms either.

The negatives were that the hotel was cheap inside - a little old but clean. The owners seem to be cheap. You have to buy all drinks (yes including water for 3.80) after breakfast. Have to request hair driers, kettles, etc.. As none in your room. No tv in the room ether. The gym costs 5$ per use as has terrible opening times- but the amount of equipment make it almost useless anyway. Internet access was pretty terrible. Staff mostly understands English but not well. Most of the time they forgot what we had asked for.

Anyway, I would go back still - even though the plane ride was choppy.

Room Tip: All rooms have a views of the beach but lower numbers are close to the hotel and higher numbers are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Third time in South Ari Atoll and decided to stay for 5 nights after spending a week on a liveaboard, diving.
Resort is small & very quiet, ideal for chilling out, but is looking tired and dated as is over 20 years old.
Rooms are basic but kept spotless by the housekeeping staff.
As other reviewers have mentioned, the food is very poor. I appreciate that majority of food is imported, very few fresh ingredients used and what fresh fish there was, was always overcooked to the point of being inedible. A real shame !!!
Service within the restaurant was poor !! Some time spent training the staff to smile and look after the guests would be worth while, hotel management please take note !!
The house reef is quite pretty, spent a good few hours free diving and taking photos along the house reef.
The cost of the diving as in most of the resorts in the Maldives is very expensive $70 per dive by the time you've included the various surcharges and GST.
I chose not to do any diving with Ari Divers as the sites they were visiting I had dived before.

In summary, a small quiet, basic resort and as the saying goes "You get what you pay for" and for $2000 (total cost of 5 night stay inc all bills & seaplane transfers) there are far better places to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

A full value for money package. Excellent service by housekeeping staff and the reception. A very comfortable stay with neat and clean rooms although a little maintenance is required. The food wasn't very great but workable. Overall a good package and worth the money. The New Year eve party was good as well.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ranveli Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranveli Village

Address: Villingilivaru Island
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Villingilivaru Island
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Villingilivaru Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ranveli Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the clear azure skies and beneath the indigo hued ocean RANVELI/Maldives is a haven to rejuvenate your spirit – a safe harbor where dreams become real and romance is reborn. A place where unique moments of pure pleasure can be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ranveli Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranveli Village Hotel South Ari Atoll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranveli Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.