We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Forge - voletsrouges, sleeps 4
La Forge - voletsrouges, sleeps 4
La Forge - voletsrouges, sleeps 4
Kitchen free wi fi
Dining area overlooks south facing terrace and enclosed garden
Salon with sat TV & WI FI
Downstairs looking towards garden french doors
Allonnes
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheilahay...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A TRULY WONDERFUL RELAXING WEEK WITH SUCH BEAUTY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

A very beautiful, clean and pleasing accommodation. Judy and Mark were on hand and made us most welcome with their friendly attitude. There was everything you wanted in the Jite to make for a relaxing easy week. There was plenty of room to sit and relax outside in the sun and what a magnificent swimming pool. The surrounding area gave way to some lovely walks and there was also a local Grape Vineyard to visit. The Supermarkets were within 5/10 minutes car ride and were full of something to offer everyone and very spacious, The roads and the local village and roundabouts were full of lovely flower displays. All in All and extremely relaxing stay, would certainly go back.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The accommodation in general and in its beautiful grounds.
Liked least: There was nothing to find fault with
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
TiggerCam...
Cambridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“An ideal base for exploring the Saumur area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We were impressed both by the first class accommodation at La Forge and by the warm welcome we received from Judy and Mark. We had a great time exploring the area and wish we could have stayed longer. If you are searching for a really comfortable place to stay in the area with a high standard of amenities you need look no further than La Forge.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The good quality and high standards throughout
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Eileen E
Howden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A wonderful relaxing holiday in fantastic accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

La forge was very clean, spacious and well equipped to meet the needs and expectations of our family. Judy, Mark and their family went out of their way to be welcoming and friendly and gave lots of good advice on what to see and do in the area. The swimming pool was especially welcome after a hot day sightseeing. We enjoyed the wine tasting that Mark kindly arranged and took us to and we also found the troglodite caves and chateaus very interesting. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday, with good accommodation in an area that offers plenty of things to entertain you then La Forge should tick all your boxes. We would recommend it to anyone. One word of warning the local bread shop sells absolutely fantastic cakes so if you are on a diet please avoid at all costs - we couldn't resist.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet plus the swimming pool
Liked least: Nothing it was all great
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Anne M
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful, relaxing and friendly retreat in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We had a two hour delay on our journey due to a RTA at Rouen and were hot, tired and hungry when we arrived; Judy and Mark were there to greet us with a lovely warm welcome and a (more importantly) a good bottle of red. Just what the doctor ordered! they had also introduced us to their local caterer, by e-mailing a menu, and the food was waiting when we arrived, absolutely delicious and very good value for money. Later in the week we met one of their friends, a local wine producer, Jerome; he was absolutely charming and his wine was good too. The week went too quickly, despite the poor weather. The zoo at Doue is not to be missed and suits all ages, we took our 12 year old and my 79yr old mother, and the day was enjoyed by all. Le Panorama cafe overlooking the Chateau at Saumur provides hearty snacks, good service and fabulous views of the Loire. There are so many stunning Chateau to visit we will need to go back to see them all; thats my excuse! The weekly market in Bourgeuil is worth a visit as is the Pizzeria/Creperie. The pool and games room were a bonus and much appreciated by our son Adam as was the companionship of the Porter family crew.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location, friendly hosts and cleanliness
Liked least: Could have done with a couple more easy chairs in the lounge for the wet evenings; as their were four of us.
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
FionaNMan...
Salford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great autumn break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

The location and standard of the accommodation was great. Judy and Mark are on site, and are great hosts.

There is so much to do around the property, with the forest within walking distance, and the Loire vineyards a short drive. I would not hesitate to return, either on our own, or taking the additional property with family.
The only downside was the local vet, who charged an extortionate price for the pet passport. But we know for next time!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location and safety for the dogs
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
frambles
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely relaxed place in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We had a great week here thanks to our friendly hosts Mark and Judy! The gite was very well designed and there is a lovely feeling of space, with the pool, games room, and two play areas for our daughter. With only one other gite, the pool was never full and was imaaculately clean, with nice comfy loungers. We cycled for bread every morning, as the village is quite close, and there is masses to do in the area within half an hour's drive. Perfect!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Environment
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Anthony_M...
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great Gite in the Loire Valley and one not to be missed....!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We traveled to Allonnes [just a few miles north of Saumur] on a Saturday in early July 2011 and arrived at probably the neatest and cleanest Gite we could have asked for - two bedrooms, a beautiful and large open-plan modern kitchen/diner, and living room, with everything we needed, - including cooker, microwave, coffee maker and kettle / toaster with enough crockery to feed at least eight people [all new and very good quality] - with flat screen Digital & Satellite TV [English Channels] and a DVD Player.

There was even a large heated swimming pool and games room just a few steps from our door.

The area is great, the people are so friendly, and it has more Chateau than you can shake a stick at - at least 50 within easy reach. The local town - within walking distance - has a bank with ATM's, Post Office, Petrol Station and small Supermarket plus the usual local small shops and bars.

I must also mention the owners - Mark & Judy - who were extremely helpful, friendly and even arranged a wine-tasting for us at a good local producer. Yes, you guessed, I brought loads of wines back.

Would we go again..?? Without hesitation - and we may just take some friends and rent the larger 3 bedroom Gite next door.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$39
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Judy P
Speaks English, French
Listed since : Mar 2010
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 24 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing