We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of Hanmers History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B

Save Saved
You added Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B
29 Amuri Avenue | PO Box 29, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 hotels in Hanmer Springs
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A little bit of Hanmers History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Glenalvon was recommended to us by a Nelson Music store owner who we meet by chance a few days earlier. He was spot on with his description of this little piece of paradise. All most straight across from the springs, two minutes’ walk could not have been better.
The unit was spacious, clean and warm. Yes it didn’t have cooking facilities but for us, the tea and coffee making was all we needed. The hosts made us very welcome from the very start and could not have done enough for their guests, plenty of advice and recommendations.
The office and the owners accommodation are part of the fascinating history of Hanmer Springs being part of the servicemen’s hospital across the road along with the restaurant next door, which on the owners suggestion we had dinner. Great meal by a local chef.
A delightful place to come for a week, or two, we would love to come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sellach
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very good place to stay, plenty space in a great room. The Shower and toilet looks not the newest, the Water was less in the shower. We think the Bathroom looks so extreme different to the very good ambience from the Motel and the rooms.
No Kitchen, possible is only to made a Tee or Coffee. :-(
Very nice and friendly Manager. :-))

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Location is ideal being opposite the pools and walking distance to restaurants. Rooms are away from the road so are quiet. Staff very helpful. Rooms a little tired but excellent value for money.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

A lovely place to stay in Hanmer Springs, Opposite the Hotpools. Spacious, clean and warm friendly. Near to the shops and cafes. Enjoyed the sky movies channel some evenings.
Our dog enjoyed it in the dog unit, lovely verandah outside to chill out in the evenings.We have been before and will be back. Had a lovely break, thankyou soo much you guys!!
Cel and Dennis Keen and Storm.

Room Tip: All the rooms look good, check it out on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have been in New Zealand for almost 5 years, use motels a lot and this was right up there. It was quiet, super size for a family of four, spa bath and a great price. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We plan to go back and will stay here. Bed was on the firm side which we personally prefer. Great nights sleep, across the rooms from the pools. Super time - thank you Glenalvon

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

The owners were great. Great location. I thought the room was only ok. Spacious yes but not as clean as I expected after reading the reviews. We had a leaky window in the bathroom. Wifi was non existent in our room. Nice but not great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were impressed with this motel. The studio unit was spacious and clean. The staff were very friendly, lending us towels for the hot pools. The heated towel rail in the bathroom and the nice heater in the main room meant that we could dry our bathing suits in time for the next day's trip to the hot pools. The motel is in the perfect location, being opposite the pools.

If there was one thing to improve, it would be to get more Sky channels! Otherwise a wonderful stay - would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B

Address: 29 Amuri Avenue | PO Box 29, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenalvon Hotel Hanmer Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.