We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insecure Lockers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa

Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa
Amuri Avenue, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
64 3 315 7511
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$222*
and up
Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools and Jet Boat Day...
Type: Hot Springs/ Geysers, Wellness & Spas
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Insecure Lockers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Weather Rubbish but the Pools were HOT!
Thunder and Lightening made the Pools Fun.

ALL VISITORS BEWARE.

The lockers allow you a time for your money and then give 1/2 hour grace and then open wide so not secure. Honesty of the next renter is relied on!

Basically not enough lockers, paid or open at Hanmer Springs Pools. We won't be going again until they get more lockers or change their security policy.

Action required Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa please.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    295
    88
    32
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
picton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What can we say”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This place is amazing and sooooo relaxing. The grounds and pools are immaculate. Also great coffee at the cafe next door.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A nice way to relax”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

OK, it is quite busy but you have to expect this in Hanmer. Most people visit the pools at some point. It was a bit mucky in places but it didn't ruin my experience. The water was hot, the scenery beautiful and there was water on tap. The photos are quite expensive - $30 for one and then $20 for any others. The only hot pools I've tried otherwise are wild ones, so this was easy!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Do not waste your money. This place is not clean!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

There are WAY nicer thermal springs in NZ (particularly Maruia Springs). They shuffle people into this place like cattle. The changing rooms and toilets were absolutely filthy and the fact that it was school holidays is not an excuse. There was also debris in all of the pools. This place did not feel clean. I cannot begin to explain how disgusting the changing room was: clogged toilets, dirt and wet toilet paper, little everywhere, etc. The town of Hanmer Springs is quite lovely, but please don't waste your time at this place. Opt for something nicer, such as Glacier Hot Pools in Franz Josef or the springs in Lake Tekapo.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanmerPlus, Manager at Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit. Naturally we are disappointed to see that your time with us was less than ideal. We work hard at all times to keep our complex clean and well presented, and it is of great concern to us that your experience of our changing rooms was poor. We appreciate your comments and can assure you and our other visitors that our team work hard to keep these areas clean. Clearly in this case we have not done well.

The matter of our Thermal Pools having debris at the time of your visit is one that is easier for us to answer. During the time of your visit we were experiencing very high Nor'West winds bringing with them a deal of dust and forrest matter. Each morning the Thermal Pools are cleaned fully, however during the day with high winds a certain amount of debris is collected by the pools. This is a rare event that does happen in spring.

Scott Callaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great value for money at only $18 per Adult and you can stay for however long you want. It's a great facility, we really enjoyed it and we were able to enjoy all of the pools fully as we arrived at 5pm and it wasn't too busy. I can imagine that the ambience and experience would be very different on a busy day - I would not go there during a peak period. The private pools - avaliable for $10 per person extra - are a bit of a non-event so I wouldn't waste your money on these.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.