We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clear Ridge Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clear Ridge Apartments to your Saves list
Clear Ridge Apartments
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Corner Jacks Pass Road & Chisholm Crescent, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Bonn, Germany
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Luxurious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Our family recently stayed at Clear Ridge and we were very impressed and wished we had booked for longer. The room was stylishly appointed with everything we needed. It had a lovely warm, inviting feel to the room and was in a quiet location. Waking up on a chilly morning, warm and cosy in the fantastically comfortable bed, opening the curtains and gazing out at the great view was bliss. Steve was extremely helpful and provides top service. The apartments are a short walk from the thermal pools and main street cafes and restaurants. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    21
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
37
52
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We decided to have a romantic weekend away in Hanmer Springs, and we were certainly not disappointed. We google searched and came across The Clear Ridge Apartments, and decided that they could offer what we wanted, We were not disappointed.
We booked a unit, and the units are all the same, excellent decor, pretty of room, and fully self catering. We decided to order breakfast delivered to our room. It was one of the best breakfasts we have had in a hotel situation. the breakfasts were big in size that suited my husband who enjoyed his and half of mine.
This complex is well worth the money. rooms are very spaceous, with great views, quiet at night, and very comfortable.
Also the management were very helpful - nothing was a problem.
Definitely will go back

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

My wife & I booked a break away at Clear Ridge Apartments for Easter 2012.
It was perfect! The apartment had EVERYTHING. It was spotlessly clean. The location is perfect. It's a 5 minute stroll to the main Street & restaurants but just far enough away from the tourist attractions to be lovely and quiet. The views over to the mountains are beautiful.
The amenities are 1st class. There's a gym, a pool, FREE high speed internet in the speparate office area in our apartment. The lounge had the biggest TV I'd ever seen and each of the 2 bedrooms also had nice big wall mounted TV's. Someone with some flair has designed the interiors. We've stayed in hotels/motels in numerous countries and this is as good as the best of them. Please don't change a thing. Steve & Tony were very friendly and very helpful. 5 STARS easily!!

Room Tip: Our appartment was on the top floor of 3. I don't see why it would matter which room you get bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I found Clear Ridge to be the place to stay in Hanmer, our family had a wonderful time. They take wonderful care of their beautifully appointed rooms. I found it to be the little detail and the care in up-keep of this property, that makes it great. The washers and dryers were very handy with many wet clothes from the pools. Steve is a welcoming, genuine host. Thank you for the wonderful stay. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night and we very pleased with the apartment which was a 2 bedroom one on the 1st floor with a balcony and lovely views. The apartment is very well appointed and has plenty of room. The kitchen had everything required for a longer stay and there is also a washing machine and dryer tucked away in a cupboard. The king sized bed was extremely comfortable and we had a good nights sleep.
The bathroom had a double spa bath with a shower over which I can see may be attractive in the colder weather but I prefer a walk in shower.
I was surprised that no green tea was provided for guests as this is standard most places I have stayed in over the past few years. Although free internet access is provided, like another reviewer we wanted wifi.
I found the manager rather rude when we first arrived - no welcome just a form slapped down to sign and it gave me a very bad first impression. He did seem a bit stressed but this is no excuse, particularly at a 5 star establishment
The location of the apartments is very handy to both the shops and pool complex.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Great accommodation in very good location...Very handy to town. Great bath. Were happy with room...great view but very disappointed with the standard of servicing given they advertise it as a 5 star apartment.. Found dental floss on lounge floor when we checked in. Gave option of reusing towels or leaving them on floor to be replaced. When we came back room had been serviced but towel was still on floor. Toilet hadnt been cleaned, bench hadnt been made. Bed made very roughly. Although we enjoyed our stay, felt the servicing really let the place down.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Queensland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Fantastically positioned and appointed apartments. Right in the centre of the Alpine Alps of Hanmer Springs. Everything on the one level with a set of lifts to accommodate the elderly if necessary.

Very nice facilities, everything you could possibly need to look after yourself for a short stay.

Peter S Brisbane Qld

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clear Ridge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clear Ridge Apartments

Address: Corner Jacks Pass Road & Chisholm Crescent, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Clear Ridge Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLEAR RIDGE | Hanmer Springs offers luxury, indulgence and exemplary hospitality to match. The hotel is located on Jacks Pass Road and within a 2 minute short walk to the thermal pools and the village centre. The five star qualmark boutique hotel is designed to cater to both leisure and business travellers, be it for families, couples or an independent traveller. Clear Ridge offers self-contained deluxe suites in the form of one or two bedroom luxury apartments. The Hotel boasts of some of the best views in Hanmer Springs. Clear Ridge by Mandaara Hotels, Resorts and Hideouts - A style to Remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clear Ridge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clear Ridge Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.