We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away, part of a pamper package! MMMMM :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Settlers Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Settlers Motel to your Saves list
Settlers Motel
5.0 of 5 Motel   |   6 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Weekend away, part of a pamper package! MMMMM :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Wonderful warm room, and set out nicely and very clean. We had a chocolate on our bed every day. Loved the shower very powerful, very quiet area to stay and in great walking distances to pools and Restaurants. Fantastic idea of providing extra towels for guests to go to the pools. We will be back. We were warmly welcomed and we stayed in a studio unit. Thank you very much :)

Room Tip: So warm, and very quiet complex :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Manager at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and we are glad your enjoyed your stay at Settlers, as part of your Pamper Package. We are glad you found our standard studio unit clean, comfortable and warm to complement your treatments. We hope you felt restored after your stay in our lovely Village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    40
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
182
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We spent 3 nights here while touring around South Island it is in a great spot to use springs(they will lend you a towel)restaurants shops all within easy walking distance and the Motel is spotlessly clean. Free washing m/c and powder(the only one in 8 we visited)these guys think of everything from free DVD library to sticking plasters in your toilet cabinet. Real good example of Kiwi hospitality could not fault it and would not hesitate to recommend it to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Leave the car and walk there are plenty of sights to see the only other tip if you are travelling wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your feedback.
Our Settlers Team certainly work hard to ensure our guests are happy and their needs are catered for. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the Settlers Kiwi hospitality and it is indeed a great location to leave the car and walk to the pools, village, shops and restaurants which are all nearby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This motel presents very nicely both inside and out. The office managers, who are currently relieving for the owners, did a wonderful job at meet and greet and providing us with a personalized tour of the premises and travel advice on Hanmer Springs. The studio unit is well laid out with good space, a compact but comprehensive kitchenette, comfortable lounge and importantly a comfortable bed. A portable power board is provided to deal with the problem in many accommodations of insufficient accessible power points to help manage all the energy needs of personal electrical devices we take with us on our travels. The location is quiet and within easy walking distance of the thermal pools , restaurants and the main shopping strip where there is a supermarket. Parking is safe and easy on premises and the ground floor unit provided easy access for our increasingly heavier luggage. Upstairs units may well provide an over-rooftop view of the local area. Our non-peak season time of visit was an ideal time to see this delightful village of Hanmer Springs and the glorious countryside which surrounds it. We would highly recommend the Settlers inn as your accommodation venue.

Room Tip: The one bedroom spa units are very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review on our Motel and we are so pleased you felt at home at Settlers.
We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and that you were well looked after by our lovely Managers in our absence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

My daughter, elderly mother and I stayed last weekend and were impressed with everything about this first class motel. We were warmly welcomed, everything you could think of was supplied and we enjoyed the DVDs from the extensive selection in the evening. We will definitely stay again. We had a 2bedroom unit with a lovely private outdoor area.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your positive review of our motel and we are pleased to hear you found our unit well appointed and comfortable. We trust you will return one day to Settlers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed in Settler motel for 1 night as part of the Hanmer Spring Pamper package. Motel is just 600m away from the thermal pool, you will walk through a beautiful park to get the pool. Located in a very quiet road, stay away from any noise on the road.

Staff is very welcome and friendly. You can borrow DVD from their library and watching at night.

Room is clean, modern, nice and warn during autumn. You can find everything you need in the room from tivi, DVD player, power extension cord, cooking ware, heat pump etc. Motel provides free laundry and dryer, also you can use their towels for hot pool (if you don't have one)

Bed is very comfortable and good size with electric blanket under duvet so you will be warm during winter :)

Strongly recommenced this motel. We will stay again in next visit

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on our Motel and we are glad you found our Motel to your satisfaction and our staff helpful and friendly. We are indeed handy to the village and thermal pools but in a quiet street. we look forward to welcoming you back some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We recently spent one night at the Settlers and were very impressed. Nothing was left to chance and everything about the stay was first class. The welcome was warm, the beds were the most comfortable of our trip, locked storage area for bikes, 300+ DVDs available for use, free wifi and on it went. Highly recommend the Settlers Motel and we will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We really appreciate the positive review on our Motel and we are pleased you enjoyed your
Settlers experience! We try to ensure that all our guests are looked after and our Team works hard to ensure our rooms are clean and welcoming!
We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future when you venture South again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Highly recommended +++

We bought a deal online which include accommodation, spa, massage, and thermal pools. We booked a room at Settlers Motel and we were so surprise.
It was really cold in Hanmer Spring and Settlers Motel has whatever it needs to warm you up. You are able to choose between Ordinary milk and Trim milk for your coffee, they have many DVDs that you can borrow and watch in your room, they lend you towels so that you can go to the spa without spending extra money to hire one. The room was amazing with thick blanket, electronic blanket, heat conditioners, and strong heater in the bathroom so it wouldn't be an issue if you wanna take shower.
Plus, the quality of shampoo and shower gel was really good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review on your stay at Settlers Motel, Hanmer Springs. We are pleased you found your room and all our services to your satisfaction and that you had a memorable stay in our village. We hope you return one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Address: 6 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Settlers Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SETTLERS MOTEL is a luxury motel carefully designed for your comfort and privacy. With relaxing decor and quality fittings you can be assured of a totally rejuvenating holiday, short break or romantic weekend away in superb accommodation which has that special touch. We are situated just 60 metres from Amuri Avenue in lovely tranquil surroundings with no street or traffic noise. We are the only Qualmark 5 Star motel in Hanmer Springs - Self Contained and Serviced - "Exceptional, among the best available in New Zealand." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Hotel Hanmer Springs
Settlers Motel Hanmer Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Settlers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.