We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best motel in Hanmer by far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Settlers Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Settlers Motel to your Saves list
Settlers Motel
5.0 of 5 Motel   |   6 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best motel in Hanmer by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Had a great stay at Settlers , this motel is perfect. The hosts are very proffessional and friendly. I would recommend to anyone, after 30 years of travelling around NZ for business and pleasure this accomodation rates in my top 5.
The location is perfect for walking to many resturants and bars.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Many thanks for your review of our Motel. It is much appreciated and we certainly try to ensure we are one of the best Motels (if not the best!) in the Village. We are glad you had a positive experience and we look forward to your return one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    40
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
181
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The site of the Motel was perfect, being on the edge of town and thus both close enough to walk to town but further enough to escape the noise. The room was of a high level of comfort, with plenty of space. The staff were very friendly and were very available to assist. Would definitely recommend the motel and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Back room has a nice outdoor area for breakfasts and lunches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your review regarding our motel and we are glad you and your family enjoyed the Settlers experience. Yes we do have a great location, just a short walk to restaurants and shops and of course the Thermal Pools. We look forward to welcoming you back some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

After a whirlwind few days bouncing around the greater area of the Canterbury Plains, our final two days were in Hanmer Springs. We stayed at the the Settlers, and it was lovely. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room layout and facilities fantastic, and it was a very short wander onto the main drag where the restaurants were and most importantly the hot springs.

I would go back there without hesitation

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are so glad you enjoyed spending such a special occasion at Settlers! We hope to welcome you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here for Valentines day and it was GREAT. Nice room decor. Close to all facilities. Very friendly staff. We've stayed in few places in Hanmer Springs but this one was definitely the best. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Many thanks for your review and for choosing Settlers to celebrate Valentine's Day!
We are pleased to hear you had a great time and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a great stay at the Settliers Motel in January. Really good welcome, with plenty of advice, guidance and genuine interest in our travels around New Zealand. The room was very clean and comfortable, up a flight of stairs which may be difficult with luggage for some. Parking right outside. Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write a review on Settlers and we are pleased to hear you had a great stay! We are most happy to carry bags up and down the stairs, if you require an upstairs room! We look forward to your return some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed a night in Hamner Springs at the Settler's - was one of the nicest stays we had on our trip around the South Island. Really lovely and friendly hosts who made sure we were happy and comfortable even though our stay was short. Everything included with the price - wifi, kitchen, laundry, towels to use at the spings, you name it. The rooms are nicely appointed and the furniture is beautiful hardwood - apparantley made by the original owner who was a carpenter. Very quiet and restful. Very close proximity to local food and of course the springs. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to ensure our guests are comfortable and relaxed and have a happy time at Settlers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have stayed at the Settlers Motel several times and have always found it first class. Excellent rooms, always very clean and good quality furnishings. Nice touches like wi-fi, toiletries, towels for the pools etc. Very courteous reception! I would recommend to anyone stopping over in Hanmer
Peter Wilby

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about Settlers. It is much appreciated and we are glad that we have become your favourite place to stop in Hanmer Springs. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Address: 6 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Settlers Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SETTLERS MOTEL is a luxury motel carefully designed for your comfort and privacy. With relaxing decor and quality fittings you can be assured of a totally rejuvenating holiday, short break or romantic weekend away in superb accommodation which has that special touch. We are situated just 60 metres from Amuri Avenue in lovely tranquil surroundings with no street or traffic noise. We are the only Qualmark 5 Star motel in Hanmer Springs - Self Contained and Serviced - "Exceptional, among the best available in New Zealand." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Hotel Hanmer Springs
Settlers Motel Hanmer Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Settlers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.