We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Settlers Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Settlers Motel to your Saves list
Settlers Motel
5.0 of 5 Motel   |   6 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Toronto
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
“Great place, great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Very high standard of accommodation, spotlessly clean with everything you might need included. Reception and service were friendly and helpful, giving good advice about walks that can be taken directly from the motel entrance. You can walk from here through a beautiful forest walk right up to Conical Hill....about a 90 minute tramp but worth every second for the beautiful views from the top.

Really can't praise these people enough for their efforts. Example....someone noticed that we were using every electrical socket for IPads, phones, CPAP machines etc......and a power bar was conveniently left for us that day without our even asking. Small things, but so indicative of their thoughtfulness.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor and we are glad you enjoyed the Settlers experience and your time in our lovely village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    40
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
182
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

What an excellent retreat this is. We have stayed in Hamner a few times and all places have been really satistfactory but the Settlers Chalet if you are wanting a bit of peace and tranquility can't be beaten. The outlook from the deck is bush and mountains with an outside bath to have a hot soak.. lovely! A track down the side of the property takes you onto the main walking tracks. Everything you could possibly need is supplied in the kitchen if you are wanting to cook your own meals. The only suggestion I could make to make this THE perfect place to stay would be a spa on the deck (or even just a spa bath) .. I have recommended the Settlers Chalet to everyone I have talked to about the trip.. Great work to the team at Settlers

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your great review on our couple's retreat chalet.
We are glad you enjoyed the experience and the peace and tranquility of the retreat, being on the outskirts of the village.

We chose to put a standard bath on the decking to be able to enjoy the stillness of the night and luxuriate in the quietness.

We look forward to welcoming you back some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed 2 nights last week and found the Management here really know what customer service is all about. Staff speak to you if they see you which is a rare thing. They were so friendly, rooms perfectly clean, you can walk everywhere from this location. We stayed in 6 motels in NZ and this was by far the best. It feels like they actually want you there & care that you have a great time. Well done!

Room Tip: Upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our motel on TripAdvisor.
We really appreciate it and yes we certainly do want our guests to enjoy their stay at Settlers.
We work hard to ensure our guests are comfortable and happy while they are here and your review lets us know we are on the right track! Many thanks once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My partner surprized me with a romantic getaway with a package deal of the hot springs and accommodation at settlers. I was really impressed with our room and the little touches that they had like the choclates on the bed. The place was clean and tidy with surpub service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor and we are glad you enjoyed your time at Settlers. We hope you can return to our beautiful village some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We hadn't been to Hanmer Springs before and was interested in a package that the local Hot Springs offered. I booked a package, and the accommodation was at the Settlers Motel.
It was superb!! It was clean and welcoming and the staff were very kind and thoughtful to their visitors. They always were happy to answer our questions and were available when ever we required them.
Certinaly a place I'll be going back to!!


Sarah, Melbourne; Australia

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our motel and we are so glad you enjoyed the Settlers Experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Absolutely loved our stay. Really pleased with the quality and standard of our room and facilities. Nice touches with the bathrobes and bedlinen quality - hotel standard! We will definitely be back and have already recommended you to our family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay at our boutique motel and we are always striving to ensure Settlers is as great as it can be! We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for your lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My partner and I visited Hanmer between Christmas and New Year’s Eve, we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the motel, we were greeted warmly (as if we were being welcomed into someone's home) and the room was gorgeous! We were so impressed with the complimentary DVD collection and towels for the hot springs. The studio unit was perfect for the two of us; we wished we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be recommending to friends and hopefully we can come back one day and enjoy this hidden treasure again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We are so pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our motel, we strive to ensure our guests have everything they need! thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Address: 6 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Settlers Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SETTLERS MOTEL is a luxury motel carefully designed for your comfort and privacy. With relaxing decor and quality fittings you can be assured of a totally rejuvenating holiday, short break or romantic weekend away in superb accommodation which has that special touch. We are situated just 60 metres from Amuri Avenue in lovely tranquil surroundings with no street or traffic noise. We are the only Qualmark 5 Star motel in Hanmer Springs - Self Contained and Serviced - "Exceptional, among the best available in New Zealand." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Hotel Hanmer Springs
Settlers Motel Hanmer Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Settlers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.