We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanmer Inn Motel

Save Saved
You added Hanmer Inn Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanmer Inn Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   16 Jacks Pass Rd | Hanmer Springs, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 hotels in Hanmer Springs
Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were upgraded to a one bedroom unit rather than the studio we had booked. This was great. Warm and clean with a well equipped kitchen including nice coffee. Great views from the lounge. Early morning we had a beautiful view over the mount and hills which led to the sunny pouring in. Very close to all dinning establishments and nightlife. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Owner at Hanmer Inn Motel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    25
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
33
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Arrived on a Friday night and the service was really friendly and we requested a good price and they were more than happy to help. I asked about a paper in the morning but was told that I should had requested the night before so the lady said that she would go and get me one which I said don't worry about but was pleased that she was going to do so. This Motel is so close to the pools that we could run back at night time just wrapped in a towel. Great location, clean Motel & friendly service.

Room Tip: In the disable unit it was very hard to keep bathroom dry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Owner at Hanmer Inn Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, and being so understanding regarding the newspaper. We are always happy to give our guests a complimentary newspaper and it was just unfortunate that on that particular morning we did not have a spare one to give you. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great place to stay, warm and cosy with everything we could need provided. Very clean. Great location, within walking distance of the pools and the venue of the wedding we attended. Will definitely stay there again next time we come to Hanmer. Very reasonably priced too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Owner at Hanmer Inn Motel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and that you had a great time in Hanmer Springs. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Lovely motel, staff were friendly, very close to the shops and to the hot pools, we had an inter joining room with my parents, it was fantastic for my two boys (10yrs and 5yrs) to be able to cruise easily between our unit and my parents unit without having to go outside or cross a carpark. The motel was lovely and clean and the spa bath was wonderful. Will definitely recommend to everyone, we have a wonderful time.

Room Tip: this motel has units upstairs, so may pay to ask for a ground floor unit if mobility is impaired in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Owner at Hanmer Inn Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted you had a lovely time. Thanks again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

A lovely place to stay. Highly recommend staying there. Price was good , facilities very clean tidy and modern after our stay in Christchurch where accommodation was AWFUL we were delighted when we arrived at Hanmer Inn. We will definitely go back there.
very close to the pools, café, shops, golf course. Hanmer is a lovely place to holiday

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Owner at Hanmer Inn Motel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We got in late, was shown to our room, shot out to Hamner Springs for a delicious swim, then went back to sleep. No problems. Nice room, nice bed, nice bathroom, good heating. Would recommend to anyone. Nice and close to the Springs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Owner at Hanmer Inn Motel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you very much. Hope you can come to Hanmer Springs for longer the next time. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Hanmer Inn has very friendly staff and is very clean and quiet. The motel is in a great location, next to the best cafe in town and a 1 min walk to the hot pools. We travel around NZ with the kids and have stayed in a lot of motels. This has been one of the nicest motels we have stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Owner at Hanmer Inn Motel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to put on your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hanmer Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanmer Inn Motel

Address: 16 Jacks Pass Rd | Hanmer Springs, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanmer Inn Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanmer Inn Motel sits right in the centre of the village. The Thermal Pools are 2 minutes walk away and is close to the shops and many restaurants. The comfortable units, ranging from studios to 2 Bedroom Family Units have plenty of heating and also ALL have kitchens - hotplates (some units have a full cooker but please specifically request), microwave, full fridge, electric frypan etc. Milk is offered to each guest on arrival, and there are a range of beverages available in the room - selection of Teas, Coffee and Hot Chocolate, complimentary newspaper ON REQUEST. The Hanmer Inn Motel also offer FREE WIFI (conditions apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hanmer Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanmer Hotel Hanmer Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanmer Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.