We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a quick stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marble Point Winery

Marble Point Winery
2254 Mouse Point Road | State Highway 7, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
+64 3-315 7579
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Marble Point Winery is situated just 13km south from the small alpine village of Hanmer Springs heading towards Christchurch. We are the only vineyard in this area; at 297m above sea level, we are among New Zealand's highest altitude vineyards. Our situation on the banks of the Waiau River and the micro climate it creates allows us to grows grapes where many people thought we would fail. Varieties grown are Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Riesling and Pinot Noir. We are open for tastings 10am to 5pm Daily.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good for a quick stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stopped at the Marble Point Winery for a quick wine tasting session and were very pleased. 5 wines were on offer, 4 whites and a pinot noir. If you purchase a bottle, the tasting is for free.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food (and wine!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We decided to stop in here for a relaxed lunch on our holiday while staying in Hanmer. Turned out to be a great decision. The menu wasn't huge, but the food delivered. I had the lamb rack and it was simply outstanding. The wine was good too (Classic Riesling). The owners were friendly and down to earth. We had a really good time here. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely spot, personal service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in at marble point after enjoying a bottle of their sav blanc in a hanmer springs restaurant.

The owner was working behind the bar and we enjoyed chatting away to him about their journey so far.

We enjoyed the Pinot noir and a nice cheese platter.

Great to support the smaller wineries, we would love to try for lunch!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stopped here on the way back to CHCH from the West Coast for lunch with a friend from Hanmer. Nice food (including childrens menu) & great wine in a lovely setting. Would recommend to all!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best meal of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stopped off at Marble Point Winery on the way home from an extended long weekend away. What a beautiful spot, perfectly appointed, lovely big tables with a view and very friendly, knowledgeable staff.
I had the most amazing lamb salad (best lamb salad I've ever had) and hubby had the ribeye steak. After eating out every meal for the previous four days this was by far the best meal we had had - well worth stopping for!
The classic reisling was fantastic (so good we brought a bottle to take home!)
We will definitely be stopping here again (we can't wait!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marble Point Winery also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Marble Point Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marble Point Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.