We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hospitable hosts, super comfortable and very conveniant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheltenham House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cheltenham House to your Saves list
Cheltenham House
13 Cheltenham Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt, France
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“hospitable hosts, super comfortable and very conveniant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

We received a warm welcome from Len. We had the Morse room, spacious and well appointed with a useful private dining area where a hearty breakfast was served. Free Internet worked well. We enjoyed meeting other guests at ‘apperro’ time and then a game of Pool in the Oak panelled reception room once we returned from dinner. The Spa pools and restaurants are just minutes walk away, yet the house is very quiet. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Wonderful friendly service from hosts Maree and Len. We stayed in one of the garden cottages, which suited us perfectly. Meeting other guests each evening over glasses of free wine was very pleasant! The location right in the centre of Hanmer Springs couldn't be bettered.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

We stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon, and it was probably our favourite accommodation on our month-long trip. The owners (names escape me...) were lovely, and evening wines on their deck was a great way to end the day. And the billiards table was fantastic (my husband particularly loved it). And Jordy the dog (looking oh so cute and wanting to come inside) made the place feel like home. Cheltenham house is conveniently located to the 'main' street of Hanmer Springs, and it is a gorgeous place to visit, Summer or Winter.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

We stayed at Cheltenham house for 1 night for our 1st year wedding anniversary and it was first class. The B&B is walking distance from the hamner springs and restaurants and shops. They offer towels to take to the springs. Breakfast is served in your room which was great. The rooms were spotless and had everything we needed. Our evening started with a glass of wine in the billiard room with the owners fo the B&B. It was great to get this chance to speak to the owners and meet the other guests. The owners are the friendliest B&B owners I have met.

All in all a great place and will highly recommend to anyone visiting Hamner Sprints.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

This was our second stay at Cheltenham. This time we travelled with another couple. We occupied the two refurbished and delightfully comfortable adjoining garden cottages. It is peaceful, clean, convenient and friendly. Len's breakfasts have to be tried regardless of your diet! Len's and Maree's hosting of evening drinks in the snooker room by the open fire was dangerously enjoyable! If you miss your family pet whilst away from home then the family labrador will love you to bits. A really lovely place to base yourself in Hanmer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

My husband & I stayed here for two nights in a Queen bed garden studio/cottage. The guest house is situated on a quiet street, among beautifully manicured and private garden surrounds. The generously sized rooms are beautiful - immaculatey presented and tastefully decorated. Hosts Len & Maree are just great. They go to a great deal of trouble to ensure the comfort and enjoyment of guests. We particulalry enjoyed the evening glass of wine in the billiards room with Len & Maree and other guests - such a nice touch. You don't have to leave your room in the morning to savour a delicious breakfast - it is brought to your room ( I'd highly recommend Len's omlette by the way! ) This was a 10/10 for us - perfect! Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

The accommodations were great and the breakfast in your own room is an outstanding touch, plus being very delicious. The evening cocktails were like a night out and we were lucky enough to be there when Len and Maree's Aussie friends blew in just for drinks. What a fun time every evening. You will not be disappointed in the location, as you can walk to everything including the hot springs spa and a great Indian Restaurant. Len gives great advise on what to do.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheltenham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheltenham House

Address: 13 Cheltenham Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a thoughtful mix of comfort, traditional elegance and warm NZ hospitality in one of the private suites in our gracious B&B or self contained accommodation, in our NEW, 4 bedroom, 3 bathroom Villa, built & furnished to 5 star criteria. Both are within 300metres or the Thermal Pools, restaurants, shops & forest walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Cheltenham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheltenham House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.