We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average..bit of a let down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Hanmer Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Hanmer Springs to your Saves list
Heritage Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“average..bit of a let down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

I expected more from this hotel for the price. The biggest let down was the buffet breakfast, it was overpriced and lacking, I have had far better experiences in hotels that are cheaper and have a lower star rating. the Room was nice, however furnishing was a little run down....to be honest probably would not stay here again...as there was nothing special about it. One positive is the building, it is a beautiful old building, however has more potential that Heritage has offered it....Also well heated, as it was freezing in Hanmer and the hotel was nice and warm.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHotelsNZ, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
Dear Jocy_Grocy

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and I’m sorry to hear that your stay didn’t meet expectations. We're currently working through an extensive refurbishment program of the hotel rooms and aiming to complete all rooms by September. We will then be working on a new reception area to be completed by summer. I am also sorry to hear your feedback on our buffet breakfast which is certainly not the standard we strive to achieve.
Thanks again for your comments.

Kind Regards,
Tony Howlett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    100
    59
    34
    10
See reviews for
33
155
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Only stayed here for one night for a conference, it was a really nice and quiet... great place to stay would defintely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 2 under 5's. The staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. Idyllic location for a relaxing weekend getaway. Gorgeous grounds for the kids to run around, Delicious buffet breakfast to start the day. The room was a little small for all of us - we would have been better off in one of the 3 bedroom apartments which i had a look at, they were fabulous but a little out of our price range. Perfect for couples, cheaper for us to rent a house in Hanmer than stay in their apartments but huge bonus to have the room cleaned everyday with lovely toiletries and no mess to worry about when we leave. We had a wonderful time there x

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We were initially hesitant about booking this hotel for our honeymoon, especially after reading an earlier comment on the service. But we proceeded anyway, as we were intrigued by the picturesque grounds & appearance of this historical building which was formerly Hanmer Lodge.
We were pleasantly surprised & hugely impressed when one of the front desk staff went out of his way to help haul our suitcases & wedding presents up the stairs to our room. We met several other front desk staff & other hotel staff, all who are very friendly & pleasant, competent & helpful. Room service food was great!
The hotel is situated pretty much in the middle of the village centre - very handy to all shops, eateries, Conical Hill walkways & the thermal springs. Our hotel room (Standard) is clean albeit modest, but we did get what we booked anyway & were satisfied. There are grander options available from this hotel including Garden Rooms & Family Villas.
As mentioned earlier, it is a beautiful building with beautiful grounds & we enjoyed just mooching around the gardens during the quieter hours of dawn & dusk. The hotel is peaceful & quiet although just to note that we did visit Hanmer during its off peak season.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

the cottage was very nice from the outside and very TIRED on the inside, horrible kitchen facilities, but very nice layout and good fireplace ready with wood etc
good size deck and dining table
toilets are old and dirty
beds are tired feeling
the kitchen - my god, dirty glasses, plates, the water jug is black on the inside, the kitchen is BROWN (original colour is white, use your imagination here)
staff are unhelpful and make you feel like you are bothering them each time you ask something
overall it was ok, but for the above

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHotelsNZ, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
Dear Smellyfish,
I appreciate you taking the time to post feedback regarding your stay with us at Hanmer Springs, I would like to sincerely apologise for the standard of cleanliness you experienced, this is not our usual level of service and has been brought to the attention of my Housekeeper. I also note that you felt the Villa was tired and I am happy to report that we are currently working through a refurbishment program of our Villa's which we are aiming to complete by November.
I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future,

Kind regards,
Tony Howlett
General Manager, Heritage Hanmer Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We (2 adults/2 children) stayed in a Garden Room which has one queen size bed and a pull-out sofa, no cooking facilities, did have tea/coffee making facilities, and a bathroom. The room was very small. Despite the fact there were four people booked for the room, only 2 mugs, 2 glasses, 1 teacup, 1 saucer and 2 teaspoons were available.

The next day we expected our room to be serviced, but at 5pm had to ring and ask them to service the room. A man arrived with some towels, and that was all he did. We had dirty dishes and no way of cleaning them, and no clean dishes were given to us. When we asked for more dishes, he said he didn't have any.

We weren't told at the time of booking that a wedding was taking place on the saturday afternoon, at which time the tennis court and pool were closed to all guests. It was a sweltering hot day and we desperately wanted to use the pool and felt it was unfair that as paying guests we weren't allowed to use the facilities.

We were respectfully quiet during the wedding ceremony, and then in the evening the wedding guests partied extremely loudly - the party was still going strongly at 2am with lots of yelling, screaming and loud music - not exactly a good nights sleep for us and all the other guests at the complex who were not involved in the wedding.

We also found that the garden room we stayed in had a little outdoor area, but absolutely no shelter from the sun - we struggled to find a sheltered spot anywhere near our room and it was extremely hot.

The only good thing about our stay at the Heritage Hotel is that the hotel is situated within walking distance of the shops and the hot pools.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHotelsNZ, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
Dear Charmayne,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your stay with us in Hanmer Springs. I am sincerely sorry that your stay was unsatisfactory and housekeeping standard below our usual level, I will follow up with the relevant team members to prevent any recurrences. I am also sorry to hear that the Wedding celebration which took place during your stay caused you disturbance, we do try to minimise any disruption caused to other guests and also advise them at the time of booking but have obviously failed to do so on this occasion.
I note your feedback regarding lack of shade around the garden rooms and I will review any suitable opportunities of providing some during the refurbishment program we are currently working through. We do have varying room types within the complex including 3-bedroom self contained Villa's which have full kitchen facilities and I believe would have suited your requirements more satisfactorily.
I do hope we have to opportunity to welcome back to enjoy our usual high standard.

Kind regards,
Tony Howlett
General Manager, Heritage Hanmer Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

Had been informed when booking that the hotel was full and choice of rooms limited found the hotel almost deserted on arrival.
Decor tired and needs renovating.
Room inadequately cleaned during our stay - dirty glasses left untouched and towels not changed. Stewed coffee at breakfast and told we would have to pay extra for fresh coffee.
We were the only diners in the restaurant although the meal was adequate.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHotelsNZ, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
Dear Riannehornung,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on Trip Adviser regarding your stay with us at the Heritage in Hanmer Springs. I would like to sincerely apologise for the standard of housekeeping you experienced and I have shared your comments with my Housekeeper in order to ascertain how and why we failed to maintain our usual standard. I also note that you felt that our rooms were in need refurbishment and I am happy to report that we have been working through a large refurbishment program including new lighting, curtains, repainting, LCD TV's and iPod docks and are intending to have all rooms fully completed by September.
I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to experience our refreshed product and usual high standard of service.

Kind regards,
Tony Howlett
General Manager, Heritage Hanmer Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to wash away your city concerns and soak-up the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. But refreshment need not stop at your dip in the hot springs - a stay at the Heritage Hanmer Springs will refresh you every which way. The Heritage Hanmer Springs' historic Hanmer Lodge building has been lovingly restored to its former glory, and is surrounded by immaculately landscaped gardens. The hotel is located in the centre of town, just a stone's throw (well, a short drive) to all of the region's natural wonders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Hanmer Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.