We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lack of value” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Hanmer Springs

Save Saved
You added Heritage Hanmer Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 20 hotels in Hanmer Springs
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“lack of value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

we stayed here as booked by Flight centre. the room was very dated. the staff seem to do enough to do their jobs but nothing more. the mini bar drinks were frozen and obviously not checked prior to letting the room. the bathroom was poorly designed with the toilet being too close to the heated towel rail. one could not sit properly on the toilet without being in contact with the rail. we did not bother with the restaurant do to the prices. would not return

Room Tip: on the ground floor -- no lift or assistance to move luggage to the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Housekeeping have been asked to check the settings on the fridge.
We are also currently compiling a new menu which will incorporate a wider range of dishes and associated prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    87
    51
    31
    7
See reviews for
28
127
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Granted, the place has some charm. But the rooms are tiny and they were chincy in "extra fees". Cost to make a local phone call? Come on---who does that now? Free internet translates to 200 MB or something ridiculous like that--can't even power up your computer without using that. Any budget motel would have been a better choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
I am sorry you were disappointed with our Wifi offerings. We do have 1 hour free available in the lobby. Our pricing guidelines are in line with our Company policy and most hotel chains in New Zealand.
Thank you for your feedback though and we do hope you enjoyed your stay overall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Got a deal off Wotif. Stayed 2 nights while in Hanmer for a mates 50th Party. Just the wife and I this time. Room was great. Bathroom was great. Breakfast was fine. Service - desk staff were very pleasant and obliging. Lovely grounds and swimming pool. Perfect location in the township! Was a happy stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback and for making the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed there one night in January. Nice old hotel but it comes with problems. Mainly the doors! When you are in bed, you feel like you are in the hallway, you can hear everything like if people outside were actually in your room. Other than that, decoration was nice. Wifi was tricky to operate. And I couldn't use my canadian visa cards (even though I had used them an hour before arriving and also again in town an hour later). It was fine for one night but it wouldn't be my first choice if I went to Hanmer again.

Room Tip: make sure you have ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologise that everything did not go as smoothly as we would have liked.
The Wifi had just been installed across the whole property prior to Christmas and there were a couple of teething problems that have since been resolved.
We do accept international credit cards although they are processed manually.
I hope you enjoyed your time in Hanmer overall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

very nice stay in deluxe garden room. could of had a wee biscuit to eat with our complimentary coffee. bathroom ok but think bath should be ditched for a wet shower room instead. bedvery comfortable. quiet room. small patio area outside room to sit and relax. breakfast so so in very large dining room. welcoming staff on arrival. very annoying that bar was closed at 9pm in peak season. grounds very pleasant and well maintained.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Lynnelivesey,

Thank you for your kind review and for choosing Heritage Hanmer Springs as your accommodation provider. We look forward to hosting your again in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Latu
T.H.E Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is an older style hotel that has been sympathetically renovated. The rooms are smallish but our bathroom was generously sized with a full bath and plenty of space. In the room there is a lack of bag space and benches to put things on but the bed was very comfortable and good TV positioning for viewing. The hotel is well located in the middle of Hanmer Springs with an easy walk to shops and the hot springs. Our breakfast was included and was buffet style with a good choice in an interesting historic dining room. Staff were efficient without being anything special. We ate dinner at a local pub which we would recommend, as the hotel dining prices were too high for us. The Heritage is a good choice for hotel accommodation in Hanmer Springs and on our experience, you are unlikely to be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room in the main section of the hotel had a pleasant view and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
I would like to advise our Chef is currently reviewing the menus to ensure we have a range of food option and prices that appeal across the board.
Have a great 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

An excellent meal marred by poor service.
Lost booking, requested table not available, poor knowledge of the local wines on offer and every effort to close the restaurant while still dining in' spite of "dining till late" being advertised. It was 10pm on New Years Eve!. Then staff attempted to charge extra for using a credit eard.
The only bright spot was the manager saw sense and waived the "company policy" charge on the credit card.
This is not the standard expected of an international hotel in' a tourist centre. It is time to take a good hard look at the service you provide if you want to be recognised as a top class hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and the kind words about some of the team.
I am sorry you found your restaurant experience to be disappointing and although we do have staff with English as a second language, they are encouraged to seek assistance if the communications do not flow smoothly. I am disappointed this was not the case for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to wash away your city concerns and soak-up the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. But refreshment need not stop at your dip in the hot springs - a stay at the Heritage Hanmer Springs will refresh you every which way. The Heritage Hanmer Springs' historic Hanmer Lodge building has been lovingly restored to its former glory, and is surrounded by immaculately landscaped gardens. The hotel is located in the centre of town, just a stone's throw (well, a short drive) to all of the region's natural wonders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Hanmer Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.