We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Hanmer Springs

Save Saved
You added Heritage Hanmer Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 20 hotels in Hanmer Springs
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

In central Hamner. We stayed in a deluxe room. Room was fine but not very modern and I wouldn't call it deluxe. The heater worked well. Restaurant food was very average and not very interesting and I wouldn't eat there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    87
    51
    31
    7
See reviews for
28
127
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We (3 ladies) had a 3 bedroom Villa for 4 nights which overlooked the (manmade) lake. When we arrived the heating had been on and the villa was lovely and warm. As well as the heat pump we had a wood burner fire which we lit every night. Each morning the housekeeping staff filled the wood basket for us. The villa was equipped with everything we could need. On our first night, we ordered room service which was brought across to us and it was beyond delicious! After that we cooked for ourselves in a lovely kitchen with dishwasher. My car was grateful for the garage and not left out in the cold! The afternoon sun streamed into the lounge and the outlook of the setting sun on the water and the ducks was just lovely. We had such a lovely lazy time; during the day we pottered around the shops, went to the hot pools or went for a drive. I accidentally left a couple of possessions in the room when we departed and so I phoned the hotel to see if they had been handed in by the housekeeping staff. For the first time ever when I have done this (not frequently though - LOL) my possessions were there and the hotel posted them to me. Thank you Heritage Hanmer Springs

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Well the snow didn't let us down there was plenty,The unite was a little in need of a revamp,but it was clean warm handy from the shops etc, we had good meals the staff were great.I would stay again.The little sample bottles of shampoo,condtioner and body lotions were lovely,not the usual rubbish that you get.Made the shower a little special .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our second stay at heritage hotel was not so pleasant. we stayed in the Hotel itself, mid winter and snow on the ground, but sunny, clear skies. the room was well presented etc, however there were no electric blankets, the room had a wall mounted heater, set on Max, but when we went to bed we were extremly cold. we requested another blanket, which helped a little. Cold air was blowing the curtains into the room, yet no windows or doors were open. the next night they did provide additional blankets which meant a good sleep. our account was incorrect, and tried to charge us for some one elses meal and drinks. after we settled what we thought was about right, and left, they rang us to tell us that they found our chit and owed us $30.00.

Room Tip: If staying in winter, request an electric blanket, additional blankets or additional heater, the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is the third time we've stayed at the Heritage, always in a garden villa, always enjoying ourselves. True, the rooms and interior are not perhaps of a 5* standard but do have a lovely old warm charm. We stayed mid week and the hotel was not busy, the staff at reception were very polite and efficient, the staff in the dining room/bar area were simply superb!! A special mention must be made of Maria who was there every single time we popped by, and went above and beyond the call of duty. Loved sitting by the fire, ably stoked by Kurt, enjoying happy hour drinks, I mean half price chardonnay of the quality we enjoyed, wonderful! We enjoyed the a la carte breakfast breakfast menu and after some "research" in town came to realise this is easily the best value for money in the village, taking into account the quality of ingredients and the portion size. It was for that reason we chose to have dinner there too, and we were not disappointed! Everything one would expect from a fine dining restaurant, but with a nice relaxed touch making us feel right at home. The coffees were also of a high standard whenever we ordered them. All in all, we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Repeat customers are a bonus for us as it reflects well on the work we are doing.
Stay in touch and let us know when you are returning. This time we should celebrate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Sent our parents for a well deserved weekend break away to Hanmer, bought a gift voucher for the Heritage Hotel. First problem was when we booked it we said they were elderly and needed a walk in shower, when they got there and were given their room it had a shower over the bath. My parents asked to be moved to a room they could use the shower and was told that's all we have or you'll have to leave. Second problem, the room wasn't made up during their stay, just bed cover pulled up and towels hung up, nothing fresh!!! They complained on leaving and was told very sorry but receptionist didn't give a damn...have phoned manager and left message over 2 weeks ago, and no-one has replied so I warning other travellers don't waste your money staying here as it costs a fortune for a weekend with no service and Hanmer is a beautiful place and a lot of other nicer places to stay!!!

Room Tip: Don't bother staying here. If you have a problem, they are not interested in helping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Alastair
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry your parents did not receive a room with a walk in shower as requested when the booking was made.
Like most hotels we have signage in our rooms advising our customers that if their towels are placed on the towel rack, they will not be replaced. This is common practice in hotels around the world.
I have not received any message asking me to contact you. Please do feel free to ring me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our room cost just shy of £100 for the night we stayed there in February 2013. The room was lovely: really big, comfortable and well appointed. We'd had a 5.5hr drive from Franz Josef via Hokitika, Greymouth and Reefton and booked this room on the road using Expedia. We'd hoped to find something a touch nearer Franz, but Greymouth was very uninspiring and we didn't see much of anywhere to stay all along route 7, so just pushed on to Hanmer, rolling in at about 9pm. It was wonderful to be able to slump on a sofa and watch TV for a hour, and we had a picnic dinner. The bed was firm and the room dark. The décor was a little dated but I actually really liked the room. It was one of the biggest we stayed in and both quiet and comfortable, and very clean. I'm glad we pushed on to Hanmer Springs. As we arrived late, we didn't eat there and didn't try the pool, but it was a nice-looking hotel, and literally just up the road from the spa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
you certainly had a long drive from Franz Josef. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to wash away your city concerns and soak-up the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. But refreshment need not stop at your dip in the hot springs - a stay at the Heritage Hanmer Springs will refresh you every which way. The Heritage Hanmer Springs' historic Hanmer Lodge building has been lovingly restored to its former glory, and is surrounded by immaculately landscaped gardens. The hotel is located in the centre of town, just a stone's throw (well, a short drive) to all of the region's natural wonders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Hanmer Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.