We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic lunch and wine with an amazing host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Taste of Italy

A Taste of Italy
Amuri Estate Olive Grove | 128 Medway Road, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
+64 03 315 5059
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: When in Hanmer Springs do something special and experience ‘A Taste of Italy’ in the middle of traditional sheep and cattle high-country. Top quality extra virgin olive oil is grown & produced from 1300 olive trees on land that was once only used for grazing. 26 acres of high country pasture has been transformed by the Prestons into a landscape rivaling that found in Tuscany. Taste delicious freshly pressed olive oils from around New Zealand, and learn about the different ways you can use this healthy New Zealand-made product. Go for a guided tour around the grove followed with a comparative oil tasting and short description of New Zealand extra virgin olive oils, and then be seated to a generous sized luncheon of antipasto platters served with local wine. Book ‘A Taste of Italy’ in Hanmer Springs and transport yourself.Advance booking required.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Fantastic lunch and wine with an amazing host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Amuri Olives was a highlight of our girls weekend away. I found the olive grove tour very interesting and informative. We had a beautiful lunch platter with great wine overlooking some of New Zealand's spectacular scenery. We enjoyed Lisa's company throughout the afternoon. Lisa was a great host who went out of her way to book an evening meal for us that night. We will definitely put Amuri Estate on our itinerary next time we're in Hanmer Springs.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing setting, delicious food and interesting insight into olive growing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

This place is poised overlooking one of the most amazing views you could ever imagine for a house. The tour of the olive grove was interesting as was the olive oil tasting. Some nice pointers on the different types of oil. To top it off was the most delicious antipasti this side of the equator. Very interesting and friendly hostess. Well worth $45.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A marvellous afternoon!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We spent a long weekend in Hanmer Springs having been there on our honeymoon 17 years before and vowing to return. We were delighted to have found Lisa & Chris at the Amuri Olive Grove and were lucky enough to spend the entire afternoon with these beautiful people (and their adorable animals) who opened up their home to us, showing us around and treating us to lunch. We had much to talk about, and it felt like we were visiting old friends. We know where we are going to stay next time we visit! Thanks Lisa and Chris, you are both one in a million!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Like visiting old friends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Amuri Olives is an absolute MUST when in Hanmer! My friend and I spent a few wonderful hours with Lisa and Chris, outstanding views, the most delicious olive oil, fantastic food, a glass of wine and clever comfortable conversation! Our beautiful hosts (both 2 and 4 legged) really did make us feel like we were old friends, thanks guys!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greymouth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Radcliffe's Social Club Event - GREAT!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were spending the weekend in Hanmer as a Social Club event and decided from various brochers that the Oil Grove tour might be something different to try. It was all of that and so much more. You are treated to some of the best scenic views ever, the grounds and oil grove are very relaxing to spend time in and wander round. Our hosts Chris and Lisa, with special mention of the two special four legged hosts, made us feel very welcome and the whole time were very laid back. The outside dinning area is fantastic along with the food and wine. There own brew of olive oil is a must to get on your way out as well

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Taste of Italy also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to A Taste of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Taste of Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.